Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon EOS 1200D

Canon EOS 1200D review

By

Reviewed:

1 of 25

Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D
  • Canon EOS 1200D

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Pros

  • Competitive price
  • Excellent high ISO performance
  • Clever and useful EOS companion app
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Autofocus struggles in live view
  • Few AF points
  • Slow burst mode
  • Low resolution LCD

Best Deals for Canon EOS 1200D

  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

What is the Canon EOS 1200D?

While compact cameras continue to suffer in the wake of the ubiquitous smartphone, the DSLR market remains fairly strong. More and more novice photographers are flocking to DSLRs as a means of stepping up their game.

There’s long been a niche to exploit for a DSLR that’s got plenty of imaging power but is affordable and also easy for the inexperienced photographer to get to grips with. Others like Nikon and Pentax have recently taken cracks at it, with the D3300 and K-5 respectively, and now Canon has re-entered the arena with the EOS 1200D.

It’s great to see Canon making an effort to cater for new photographers, and the 1200D is an exceptional attempt for two principal reasons. The first is the price. £349 for a Canon DSLR? Yes please. The second is the concurrent launch of the EOS Companion app, designed specifically to be a learning aid for 1200D owners.

It may look an enticing prospect for beginners, but that all means nothing if the camera’s performance doesn’t stack up. Has Canon done enough?

ROUND-UP: Best DSLR Cameras

Canon EOS 1200D: Features

In relation to its predecessor, the Canon 1100D, the 1200D’s specification is all over the place, with some features undergoing huge improvements and others none at all. One of the main talking points of the camera is its 18MP sensor, offering a significant resolution jump from the 12.2MP of the 1100D.

Despite this higher resolution, the 1200D’s new sensor only represents a very small increase in dimensions from that of its predecessor, allowing Canon to keep the size of the camera to a minimum (it weighs in at a pokey 480g with battery and card included).

Buy Now: Canon EOS 1200D at Amazon.co.uk (£278) | Amazon.com ($399)

Video is also a major plus for the 1200D. It’s capable of shooting 30, 25 or 24fps footage at 1080p resolution and can produce video snapshots. Although the 1200D has no built-in Wi-fi, it’s fully compatible with Eye-fi memory cards, which allows it to wirelessly transfer files to mobile devices with ease.

READ MORE: Canon Camera Reviews

In some other areas, improvements are less spectacular. The Canon 1200D imports its Digic 4 image processor wholesale from the 1100D (which came out back in 2011). It’s capable of shooting at a rather middling 3fps in continuous mode, for a total of 69 Jpegs or six raw files at a time.

It’s also worth noting that the battery is actually rated a little lower than that of the 1100D. Canon reckons it’ll let you crank out approximately 500 shots at 23ºC, far fewer than the 700 or so that the 1100D could manage.

Canon’s Digital Photo Professional editing software is bundled with the 1200D – a nifty raw editor that allows for a wealth of adjustments. Also packaged along with the camera are Image Browser EX, Photo Stitch, EOS Utilities and Picture Style Editor.

There’s also a host of Instagram-style creative filters for users to play around with, as is more or less obligatory on new cameras these days. These can be applied post-capture in the playback menu and applied with varying intensity.

The 1200D is available as a kit with an 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS III (28.8-88mm in 35mm equivalent terms) lens. It features extensive image stabilisation, which Canon claims can provide images as effective as ones taken with four stops worth more light.

Best Deals for Canon EOS 1200D

  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

barney klingenberg

April 21, 2014, 11:01 pm

An 8 are you out of your minds for this?!
Just to name a few more cons.

Smallest viewfinder of all DSLRs.
Low dynamic range
Bad I so performance. Just check dxo the 5-6 year old digic 4 combined with this 5 year old sensor is simply outdated.
Bad noisy kit lens. They have an good stm kit lens which is not available with this.

That would make it an 5-6 out of 10 and an avoid if possible rating

DozensOfUs

March 9, 2015, 5:33 pm

I'm new to photography, and this is my first DSLR. None of those things you rattled off mean anything to me, I love the camera, and I'm excited to take pictures with it. You're simply expecting too much out of it, it's a beginners camera, and it suits me just fine.

barney klingenberg

March 13, 2015, 3:00 pm

I made this reply a year ago.
This camera was $500-600 and it performed worse then any Dslr on the market. And it still does.

You may be happy with it. But it's slower provides worse image quality and has nothing to make it stand out to any of it's peers.

You made a wrong buying decission and you like it well that's fine but does not make the product competitive

Chess Revolution

March 26, 2015, 6:32 am

Nikon ? Sony ? Pentax afficionado ?
Canon 1200D is one of the best camera in its class. Again, in its class ! Having practically a Canon 600D at this price is fantastic !
Very good sales all over the world ! Why ? Because is a bad camera ? Because the idiots are in love with it ?
Nope !
It's a superb entry class camera !

barney klingenberg

March 26, 2015, 6:40 am

Best in class?!
The pentax k500 same class has similar noise levels but more dynamic range
A 100% viewfinder
Twice the resolution rear lcd
Shoots 5 fps.

The d3300 has a sensor that is better then the one in the 7d mk2. Again with a better rear lcd and shoots 5 fps despite the 24mp.

The sony a58.
100% coverage and much larger viewfinder
6fps
Better sensor.
Better rear lcd.

Then it is NOT a 600d
It does not have the sensor cleaning
Nor the crisp lcd. It doesn't have a flip-out screen. Not to mention the 600d is pretty dated these days as well.

Now.why they sell it.
Brand recognition and marketing
You can find one on sale in the folders of electronics department stores across the whole planet. It's not a good camera and never will be.

Chess Revolution

March 26, 2015, 7:59 am

Pentax k500 has only a 16 megapixels sensors.
Nikon d3300 needs a live histogram and a higher-resolution feed. The movie mode would still benefit from a truly working full-time AF feature.
Sony SLT A58 is (a bit) in other class. Hasn't an optical wiewfinder but an electronic one. With some +, but also with some -.A hybrid between A37 & A57.
We need a lot of discussions. In fact everybody is free to have its own opinion. I like Canon 1200D !

barney klingenberg

March 26, 2015, 4:02 pm

Like 16mp and 18mp with a slightly smaller sensor would ever make a difference in terms of actual detail captured.

The 16mp sony has less noise in shadow area's and the files can be pushed.a.lot more 2-3stops at the lower iso's.

High resolution feed?!
No camera is quick enough to give us 24mp live feed in live view.

You can argue the whole day about evf vs ovf. But you can't argue with 3 vs 6 fps.

If you like the 1200d you must have pretty low standards. Canon basicly putted all their dusted dated crap into 1 piece of missery.

Tom P

March 30, 2015, 9:41 pm

haha Barney Klingenberg you are one sour and angry man who has too much time to put a lot of negativity into creating an argument for not buying something...which makes me think why on earth are you even looking at a page dedicated to the 1200D if you don't like it?! You either work for a competitor or have too much time on your hands ;)

Plus, despite what you say, even if there are 'better' cameras out there, just like the first 'Emmit' said, it suits their needs which is EXACTLY what marketing and product development is about. The business I own may not be perfect but it suits exactly what the customer needs and makes money because of it. Just look at Apple. Not the best phones but made the company the wealthiest company to EVER exist.

barney klingenberg

April 1, 2015, 2:44 pm

Because i want people to enjoy their photography with a p[roper camera that they can grow upon.

And the 1200d is so terrible that it doesn't suit anyone but the Canon board that get's rid of all their outdated scrap parts that were already at their last legs about 3 years ago.

lilly

April 6, 2015, 7:44 am

barney is just a nikon fanboy ;)

barney klingenberg

April 7, 2015, 2:11 pm

Makes sense since i mentioned a pentax and sony as well.
I don't even own a Nikon body at this point. But it's impossible to argue about the sensor performance.

Adena Noble

November 19, 2015, 4:37 am

Hi Guys, I am into photography from two years and therefore from the day one I wanted a camera that would help me in clicking quality pictures and fulfill all the requirements. This camera helps me in expanding my creativity by including some features like Fish-eye effect, Soft focus etc. It allow me to place the subject anywhere between the middle of the frame.

For more detail, just visit - http://amzn.to/1F1IhL0

Kevert

January 13, 2016, 3:34 pm

Had a great laugh. Yah it's 10 months ago, so Barney don't point out the bleeding obvious. A camera is a tool. I have 2 Nikon full frame cameras, an assortment of lenses and I also own this 1200D, cracking camera with the 10-18 uwa, nice and light for traveling..just saying..but I'm sure you'll have a retort for this too..GBS

Luke

June 22, 2016, 3:13 pm

Hi ... I bought this with two lenses that were thrown in with the deal - both Ultrimaxx 58mm 0.43x (wide angle) and 2.2x (telephoto) but the thread of the camera doesn't fit these lenses, what are you supposed to do? There was no step up adaptor ring included in the package deal that I got. Any advice?

comments powered by Disqus