Home / Computing / Monitor / BenQ VW2420H

BenQ VW2420H review

Andy Vandervell

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 6

BenQ VW2420H front
  • BenQ VW2420H front
  • BenQ VW2420H side
  • BenQ VW2420H connections
  • BenQ VW2420H back
  • BenQ VW2420H bezel
  • BenQ VW2420H stand

Summary

Our Score:

8

Pros

  • Slim, stylish design
  • Light
  • Excellent viewing angles

Cons

  • External power adapter
  • Average motion performance

Key Features

  • 16:9 aspect display
  • 1,920 x 1,080 Full HD native resolution
  • HDMI, DVI and VGA connection
  • Manufacturer: BenQ
  • Review Price: free/subscription

One of the more confusing aspects of choosing a monitor is panel technology. There are basically three variants worth mentioning, in order of quality: TN, VA, and IPS. BenQ, and its panel supplier AU Optronics, are advocates of VA (Vertical Alignment), and the VW2420H is part of a new range of monitors using AUO's new A-MVA panels paired with LED backlighting. This, so asserts BenQ, makes them the first LED backlit VA monitors in the world. We can hear the corks popping as we type.

As the name suggests, the VW2420H is a 24-inch monitor. It’s a 16:9 aspect display, so has a 1,920 x 1,080 native resolution (or Full HD in plebeian terms), and features a trio of video connections: HDMI, DVI and VGA. There's also a headphone/audio out so you can output audio from the HDMI, though there are no inbuilt speakers - no great loss by our estimation.

In BenQ's range the VM2420H is the 'designer' model, which means it's lighter, slimmer, and generally shallower than other models. Such slimness does necessitate an external power adapter (albeit a small one), while also limiting adjustability to a small degree of tilt.

BenQ VW2420H side

A lack of adjustability is certainly a blow but, unlike smaller monitors, 24-inch models are typically large enough to not require much height adjustment. Moreover, though adjustment is limited, the connectivity isn't particularly restrictive and the price (just £175), makes such limitations easier to forgive.

As for the design itself, the monitor looks good without inspiring awe. It's clad, front and back, in glossy black plastic, which looks nice enough but is quickly fouled by fingerprints and dust. This is only interrupted by the BenQ logo and a gold ring that borders the base.

BenQ VW2420H connections

Speaking of the base, it isn't attached out of the box. It's a simple a click and screw job, however: click the stand into base, and then fasten with the attached screw at the bottom. No tools are required, and it can be performed by one person fairly easily - not least as the monitor only weighs 3.9kg.

Like most BenQ monitors of late, the OSD controls are housed on the under-edge, with labels on the front. Despite the buttons being hidden from view, large pimples on each one makes them easy to locate and operate. Options are quite comprehensive, comprising numerous picture modes (most best avoided, mind), Gamma control, brightness, contrast, colour temperatures, not to mention aspect controls should you need them. All are well presented, and the navigation can be picked up quickly.

Ahlan

October 7, 2010, 3:27 pm

I just order this LED monitor yesterday, i new this monitor has a great image quality :D

Jmac

October 7, 2010, 3:34 pm

How come TV manufacturers don't make a big deal of their panel technology? I wouldn't know whether an LCD TV was TN, VA or IPS - can anyone clarify?

GherkingTR

October 7, 2010, 5:03 pm

@John McLean





I've seen Panasonic put it on adverts for their more expensive models, but that's all.





The vast majority use TN, but even then, there are some amazing TN panels and some pants TN panels.

morsch

October 7, 2010, 5:25 pm

I'm very happy with my IPS display, but the sooner TN technology dies, the better. It's about time a reasonable alternative appeared on the budget sector. Less than 200 EUR for a decent 24in display is very fair, even if it's 16:9 and thus a tad smaller still. I guess affordable 27" 16:9 2560 x 1440 MVA displays are just around the corner.

burntoutmouse

October 7, 2010, 6:22 pm

Can't seem to find any information on the EW240, perhaps its as yet too new? What's the stand adjustability like on it?

Runadumb

October 7, 2010, 10:42 pm

At first read I thought I may buy this monitor but having thought about it a bit more I have decided against it. Will I ever replace my SyncMaster 206BW? I'm sure it's a piece of crap compared to this but a monitor should last you at good 5 years so I should be picky. Especially as I plan on buying 3 of the buggers when I settle on one. If only the Asus VG236H had an IPS panel *sigh*

TrustedPhrontis

October 7, 2010, 11:27 pm

These 1920 by 1080 monitors are fine for HD viewing, that is what they are for after all. They are almost useless as computer monitors, far to much vertical scrolling involved. The old 1600 by 1200 (4:3) in 21" were the best combination, I use an old Dell LCD and its brilliant with most work. I also use a 1920 by 1200 24" Dell as well, and I would rather it was 1920 by 1440 or (4:3) but I dont know if anyone makes one. I know I can rotate the screen but a 1200 by 1920 doesn't work very well either for some things so you are constantly rotating it, a real pain. Please bring back 4:3 in high resolutions 2560 by 1920 in 27" for instance.


Phrontis

Pbryanw

October 8, 2010, 2:24 am

@burntoutmouse - I think Andy meant the BenQ EW2420, which does exist, and is slightly cheaper then this model. I've just bought a Samsung TN based monitor for slightly more then this BenQ, so am slightly disappointed I didn't see this review before buying.

Chris

October 8, 2010, 3:52 am

@TrustedPhrontis: The normal human eye has a vision arc of at least roughly 120 degrees horizontally by 60 degrees vertically. As modern monitors get ever larger, it's inevitable that they should also get wider as they start to fill the peripheral vision, or else the user would be forced to move their head up and down to view the extremities of the display. That could be quite uncomfortable over an extended period of time.





My 24" 16:10 screen has 1200 vertical pixels, which is as many as my old 22" CRT used to display. I'd rather have the extra 60% of horizontal pixels than not, so I'll take the 24" thanks.





I agree that having more than 1080 vertical pixels would be preferable, but I'd hardly describe it as 'almost useless'. Netbook users seem to (mostly) get along with their paltry 600 pixels.





Besides, there are plenty of business applications for widescreen monitors - side by side windows or documents, spreadsheet viewing and various graphics applications spring to mind.

Martin Daler

October 8, 2010, 10:27 pm

@TrustedPhrontis. Couldn't agree more! I have never understood the trend for taking a format optimised to suit one pursuit (eb watching cinema) and applying it willy-nilly to another (like web browsing or wordprocessing). Suddenly evertyhing is being shoehorned into a widescreen world, with no regard for fitness for purpose. I take on trust Chris' knowledge of the human eye field of vision, but he makes the case for the prosecution - peripheral vision is a big factor in enjoying a cinematic experience, but I defy anybody to wordprocess or browse the web relying on peripheral vision - for me the action is all in the fovea centralis. Give me a screen I don't need to scroll.

Powerful

October 9, 2010, 8:08 am

Do PC users spend all their time watching films? For that application, I prefer to relax on the sofa with a G&T in front of a big-screen TV. I need a PC monitor for work and for editing/viewing photos. Wide-screen monitors are too wide for landscape pics and make portrait pics horribly small to work on or view. A slideshow containing a mix of landscape & portrait photos looks faintly ridiculous and is forcing me to take many more pics in landscape orientation although portrait would better suit the subject. This is particularly true of human subjects which, in most of my pics, are vertical subjects. I'm finding that people really don't like lying down on the wet pavement to have their photo taken just to suit my monitor's preference. Although I can live with 4:3 format, I really need a square monitor. Any chance a monitor manufacturer will see the opportunity?

Dave Deacon

October 20, 2010, 11:54 pm

Just bought a BenQ VM2420H and am not impressed. Running some monitor tests (eg checkmon, lagom) I can see a horrible on-off regular bleed of backlight all the way across the bottom of the panel. I can see this on other images too. Some images have acquired stepped gradients. Looking at bluray movies, eg Jeff Beck at Ronnie Scott's, movement is blurry (can't focus) until whoever it is stands relatively still. Viewing angles are poor. Moving either way changes colours. On plain colour screens, apart form the bleed pattern already mentioned, there are two wide dark vertical streaks. Using the Checkmon Colour Spectrum test I can see horizonatla dn vertical bands unevenly spread across the screen.





I don't think I am expecting too much from this relatively cheap monitor. I have an old Samsung 205BM (1680x1050) which in many ways seems better. Maybe I just got a duff VW2420H. I dont, however, fancy playing 'monitor tennis'. Pity as I was looking forward to this monitor.

Ahlan

October 21, 2010, 3:27 pm

OK. so after waiting a lot for this monitor to be available in stores where i live, FINALLY bought it. Turn it on the brightness was on 100%, i switched it to 50% it was better.





After some tweaking, I got the picture that suited my work.





So.....





Image quality is SUPERB, no backlight bleed, bright colours, sharp text very useful for people who like to read a lot on the internet, bluray movies where amazing compared to my old Benq, the blacks where very black.





after that i connected my PS3 to my VW2420H, went to the setting, turned on Full RGB (0-255) which this monitor supports and blacks where extremely black, vibrant colours, respones time was good, but not the best.





@ Mr Dave Deacon, i don't know what are bumbling about but the Viewing angles where very good better than any monitor with this price range, yea and a lot better then your Samsung 205BM. i think you got a duff VW2420H.





Anyways, I love it and think this monitor Benq VW2420H is the best monitor on the market right now, nothing can beat 8bit VA LED panel with this price.

Dave Deacon

October 21, 2010, 6:34 pm

@ahalan Me thinks you are the one bumbling away. What makes you think you know enough to make that statement? You don't know what the Samsung 205BW is... Hence empty words designed to bolster your choice of monitor.





FYI my Samsung 205BW is better than the VW2420H I tried on many of the Laghom tests and using Checkmon too. Why not try the tests yourself...? If your VW2420H performs anything like the one I got from Okobe.co.uk, you'll realise it is not what is claimed.





http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

Ahlan

October 21, 2010, 11:32 pm

@ Dave Deacon





I own an Eizo EV2411WH and bought the VW2420H as a second monitor





and i use Eizo MonitorTest for testing my monitors and the results were surprisingly good for the VW2420H





http://www.prad.de/en/monitore...








Samsung 205BW is an average monitor with a TN panel and terrible viewing angle, i know own one at my office, and i also owned a Samsung 226BW and they both are terrible(as image quality and especially reliability)





also this review agrees with me





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...








Like i said, i think you have a duff VW2420H, or you don't even own it, because VW2420H horizontal view angles are near to perfect and you said they are terrible.


i disagree with all you said and even this review also disagrees with you.





Lets not turn this conversation to arguments.





Have a nice day sir.

Dave Deacon

October 22, 2010, 1:49 am

@ahlan





I see you now call it a Samsung 205BW - you repeated my 205BM error intially. I think your making it up... Why would I do what you do and pretend onwership of things I don't have? They're not that expensive. I said, I might have a 'duff' one - you even use the word I used for it. Undoubtedly, a VW2420H as stated in the Review would be better than my ageing 205BW; but that is the issue: the one I have is not. Maybe it is you who does not have a VW2420H.





Tell you what, it comes in a thin brittle-type cardboard cyan and purple box with wording in English and French; the serial number etc are on the left side of the box and on the base of the monitor rather than the back. I don't think any reviews have shown these. Tell me what's on the back of the monitor when you take it out of the box...?





BTW easy way to not argue is to not to drop insults - as you keep doing.

canonyau

October 22, 2010, 1:23 pm

I just received this screen yesterday. For some reason, it didn't come with the plug component of the power supply, but fortunately I had a spare plug with a typical two pin connector. The screen is incredibly bright, I had to turn it down immediately to at least half brightness. Playing counterstrike, the lag is somewhat noticeable compared to my old Belinea TN screen. The colours are better and reading text is slightly better, but I have to say, the jump isn't amazing. There's still a bit of sparkle/ fuzz, when reading black text on a white background, which is probably to do with the matte surface. The horizontal viewing angles aren't great either, with colours and details fading significantly at 45 degrees. I think I will save up for an IPS screen next, as I do spend a lot of time looking at computer screens.

Dave Deacon

November 5, 2010, 2:16 pm

Okay sent back the Benq VW2420H and have now bought a Viewsonic VP2365wb which uses an IPS panel. Indeed, it is the same panel as used by Dell in the U2311h and NEC EA231WMi both of which retail for £270-320. This one I have retails for about £190 which is a teeny bit more than the Benq. However, the differences between it and the Benq are enormous. Viewing angles are excellent as is colour. No screen smear. No backlight bleed. Zero pixel issues - Viewsonic offers zero pixel warranty. Now you might see that this has 14ms response but infact it is quoted properly as 5ms gtg. Certainly it has less trailing edge than the Benq. It's fine for fast games - see reviews on YT. There's a full review over of TFTcentral. So, for anyone considering such a monitor at least check this Viewsonic VP2365wb out.

comments powered by Disqus