Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook - Acer Ferrari One

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

What's really interesting about this machine, though, is its hardware. Indeed, the whole Ferrari branding is something of a distraction really; if judged alone without the prestige of the badge the Ferrari One holds its own both in performance and value.

It starts, of course, with the processor. With two cores running at 1.2GHz and 1MB L2 Cache between them, the AMD Athlon X2 L310 is still no powerhouse, but it does just enough and the extra core ensures it's significantly snappier than Intel's Atom. It's a fact helped by the presence of Windows 7, whose performance on this still limited machine bodes well for other netbooks. This processor is supported by 2GB of RAM and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3200 integrated graphics, the latter of which is a decisive advantage over any Atom-based netbook.

We'll get into why shortly, but in addition to these core hardware features, you get a decent 250GB, 5,400rpm hard drive, Wireless-N Wi-Fi, Gigabit Ethernet and Bluetooth. Added to this is Dolby Home Theatre audio, which gives this machine an edge, especially when using headphones.

Most unusual, though, is support for ATI's XGP technology. XGP, for those who don't know or recall, was announced last year. On paper it's a very cool technology, enabling the use of external graphics solutions to be connected via the propriety port. Since it uses its own port, XGP isn't limited by the bandwidth of an ExpressCard slot like similar products.

Unfortunately, XGP has never really taken off and we can't see the Ferrari One sparking any revival. Innovative as the technology might be, it really needs to be applied to something with more all-round abilities than a netbook-cum-affordable ultra-portable. Moreover, its presence, we assume due to the size of the port, means there's no integrated HDMI port, which would prove more useful.

Particularly since the ATI integrated graphics is more than useless. Like the much hyped nVidia ION platform, it can decode 1080p video smoothly, with no dropped frames and minimal jitter. Depending on the source material it normally does this with around 50 to 60 per cent CPU utilisation, so it's a shame you can't stream audio and video to a TV or monitor through one cable, as an HDMI would allow.

This superior graphics capability extends to a modicum of gaming ability; in Track Mania Nations we managed a (just) playable 21.9fps at medium detail settings and a healthy 29.1fps at low. With enough tweaking you could even play the likes of Call of Duty 4 on this, so less graphically demanding titles (World of Warcraft, The Sims, Spore et al) should be playable. This is isn't a gaming machine by any stretch, but if you must, you can...just.

DrDark

October 2, 2009, 2:58 pm

Better than the Air then :P.


C'mon, someone was going to say it ;).

MrGodfrey

October 2, 2009, 8:14 pm

Looks great, I would definitely consider it except for one thing - no HDMI! I appreciate that you can still output video through VGA, but then I'd need to output audio separately too. The ability to decode 1080p video is nice, but to me fairly pointless without HDMI.

Andy0d2

October 3, 2009, 12:15 am

Can't buy that due to the ferrari logo on the back - like wearing a ferrari baseball cap.

ilovethemonkeyhead

October 3, 2009, 1:34 am

the fact it goes "vroooom!" on startup eliminates the HDMI negative in my books.

AlmostDone

October 4, 2009, 3:32 am

The noisy fans is very disappointing. I can live without HDMI but don't like noisy computers. This is my type of netbook/ultra portable, a dual core with dedicated graphics.





They should just make the lid silver. I remember an Acer Ferrari with a silver lid??

Nigel Craig

November 19, 2009, 11:42 pm

I must correct the video, it does not have a noisy fan. It is very quiet. Great little netbook. Had it one week so far and can't find any fault in any way.

ando321

December 14, 2009, 3:23 am

I bought one a couple of months ago - it was silent for 3 weeks then developed a noisy fan, something between a rattle and a buzz. This is very disappointing from an otherwise powerful and handy machine. Sadly speedfan and other monitors do not work on this model so I can't adjust the fan - it makes lots of fan noise at temperatures as low as 30 degrees C, temps that shouldn't need a fan to be on at all.

eezZzee

January 18, 2010, 10:30 am

Would be nice to see a performance review where it was pitted against the Acer Ferrari one netbook.


Acer ferrari one vs the Eee pc 1201n.. While looking for reviews of both these netbooks iv seen a few requests by budding netbook owners requesting the same thing.

eezZzee

January 18, 2010, 10:33 am

Would be nice to see a performance review where it was pitted against the Eee pc 1201n. netbook.


Acer ferrari one vs the Eee pc 1201n... best video performance, best gaming performance fastest cpu etc.

Celticman

January 23, 2010, 7:36 pm

I bought one of these laptps yesterday. I've used it a good few hours and so far I cannot say that it has loud fan noise at all and it does not generate large amounts of heat. It is at the most a quiet whirr. This smashing little machine packs some degree of gaming capability, effective video and HD playback and the very fast multasking of a much more expensive ultraportable for £400. Add to that the bonus of a rock solid build quality and great keyboard and crystal clear display on pictures & font. The battery life is just as good as most ultraportables and regular netbooks at 4-5 hours, just as good as my Samsung NC10 which has much lower powered hardware. It is wrong to compare the battery life with the Timeline series, it needs to be compared alongside other regular netbooks and ultraportables.





Yes, the design and colour scheme is like Marmite, you either love it or hate it but it is sure distinctive in a world of homogenous if sleek machines. I disagree having the Ferrari logo makes one appear a wannabee who can't afford the car. So what? One can admire Ferrari branding and perhaps even be a F1 fan. This lovely little cross somwehere between an ultraportable and premium netbook has the performance to go with the branding image. If you like he design but don't want to pay silly prices you cannot go wrong.





Apart from that, the review is very accurate and a pretty fair score, except I'd give it 9/10 at its pricing point.

Autobahn

January 24, 2010, 2:38 am

It seems the owners in this thread are split between noisy and quiet fans. I was in the quiet camp for the first 3 hours the computer was on. Then I heard a clunk like a Ferrari had been mis-shifted and started to make a metallic buzzing noise from the fan similar to how ando321 described it. This happened at idle. I have not heard the quiet (and pleasant) whirr I heard at first use in the week since. It makes the rattly buzzing noise when I boot it up... when it's cool... I'm afraid to take it to class for the noise it makes.





I also own a Lenovo S10, another "loud" netbook that runs hot but this is altogether different. I love everything about this little red beast except for the fan issue :(

grimwau

March 10, 2010, 5:33 pm

I don't have any real problems with this netbook other than the touchpad. I would like to adjust the sensitivity but there doesn't seem to be an option under touchpad properties so I will use my wireless nano mouse most of the time.





My main problem is not with the machine but with the online registration site. Each time I try to submit the Serial Number I get the message (in red) to "check serial number". I have triple checked that it is correct and that the sticker underneath the machine, the SN printed on the box, the one listed in the BIOS and the VCARD are all identical. I only use a 0 (zero) and not the letter O so I don't understand why it isn't recognised?





Another problem I encountered is that when I enter the SNID the online form only accepts 3 digits so it is not capable of taking the full number.





Has anyone else had any trouble registering their products?

pradeep amgain

November 26, 2013, 3:23 pm

my ferrari one heat up fast and shut down with in 20 min .wht is the solution of it?

comments powered by Disqus