Home / Computing / Peripheral / Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer / Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Laser Pointer

Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer - Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Laser Pointer

By Hugo Jobling



  • Recommended by TR
Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer


Our Score:


That 405nm wavelength is also particularly important in respect to the disc format it is used for. As many of you will doubtless be aware, data is stored on CDs, DVDs, HD DVDs and Blu-rays, in loose terms, as a series of ones and zeros printed onto the disc's surface as pits. Actually it is the transitions, or lack thereof, from a pit to a "land" (no pit) and vice versa that represents a 'bit' of data but that's not particularly important.

What is important is that the wavelength of light used dictates how small these individual bits of data can be, and what data density is possible on a disc. Thus a CD using a 780nm red laser can pack in 700MB, a DVD with a 650nm laser crams about 4.4GB on a single layer while both HD DVD and Blu-ray discs are read with 405nm lasers, offering about 15GB and 25GB per layer respectively. The difference in capacity between Blu-ray and HD DVD is related to the disc itself. In simple terms, HD DVD manufacture is based in that of DVD, so it wasn't possible to pack data as densely as Blu-ray, which used an entirely new manufacturing process and is thus arguably the more technologically advanced format. Seeing as the format war is fought and won by Blu-ray now, it's a bit of a moot argument anyway - what's important is that without the use of a 405nm blue laser, there would be no HD discs as we know them.

Interestingly, although Sony decided to dub its format Blu-ray, colour wise the diode actually produces a beam closer to the violet end of the electromagnetic spectrum. In fact, the Sonar II, and by association Blu-ray, laser beam is very close to being too short for the human eye to even see. Admittedly, when shone onto a white surface, the dot of the laser is blue, but on any other surface it is decidedly purple, as is the beam when visible in the air. I guess Violet-ray didn't have the ring to it that Sony was looking for.

To really get the best 'wow' factor out of the Sonar II you need to use it in a dark room, or at night. As luck would have it I was able to take the laser out into the countryside a fair distance from the nearest town, on a fairly humid night with some pretty low-laying cloud. The end result of this was a complete lack of ambient lighting and lots of moisture in the air, meaning that the laser's beam was clearly visible all the way to the cloud base, upon which a large purple circle was visible.

The only way I can describe the effect is "bloody fantastic" and it is to my great shame that my camera was unable to get any decent photographs. Frankly, it would almost be worth investing in an SLR and decent tripod just for taking photos of the Sonar II.

Yes, the Sonar II is ludicrously expensive, but it also has an undeniable air of coolness and exclusivity that you won't find anywhere else. What else can I say, it's a Blu-ray laser pointer for goodness sake!


Arguably useless, but undeniably awesome; if you can afford to spend £1,000 plus VAT, plus shipping from the US on a gadget that's bound to impress your mates, the Sonar II Blu-ray laser pointer is the one to get. (We can probably expect Roman Abramovich to be ordering one for each of the Chelsea squad then - ed.)

Overall Score



August 3, 2008, 4:06 am

ٟ,000 for a laser pointer? Is this a belated April fools joke?


August 3, 2008, 4:47 am

I still believe in freedom of choice but when that choice, however safe and sound with sane-minded adults, its a dangerous item for any shelf!!! There is only one thrill hetre when its switched on... to see some damage caused!!! No thrill of that nature can warrant its sane use nor legal approval unless we have legislators and criminal Chief Justices who themselves harbor such sucked agendas with excuses for whatever Constitution they suggest in upholding...


August 3, 2008, 6:34 am

Not a bit of it :)


August 3, 2008, 8:17 am

Pfft... HDDVD drives are going for 㿅 at game station. You could pull one of those apart and get the same laser for a LOT less. Then hook it together in a mag-light casing with some kind of electrical gubbins. MUCH cheaper.


August 3, 2008, 11:53 am

Sorry, I must have missed something. What. Is. This. For?

A laser pen is dirt cheap so it doesn't need to be FOR anything. This is a grand. Even the loaded will spend their cash on inconsequential toys that have an actual purpose - dressing up a chihuahua to make it presentable; gold teeth to redecorate your face, etc.

Either argue for its utility or revise its rating, because 9 out of 10 for a torch - is even way beyond AppleShaft territory.

(Oh wait, you think Sith's a film - sorry the jigsaw is complete.)


August 3, 2008, 12:21 pm

i'm on that website now :D


August 3, 2008, 3:02 pm

� for a laser pointer and a recommended award? How is a Class IIb anything but dangerous? You are insane my friend - I'm dialing 999 right now.


August 3, 2008, 3:12 pm

If it doesn't make light-sabre sounds as you move it around, I ain't interested...although it might have its advantages for company presentations I suppose, being 'blinded by science' could be a definite possibility ;o)


August 3, 2008, 3:23 pm

Unadulterated exploitation of your position as a technology journalist - I love it! (If I were in your position, I'm sure I'd do it a lot more often than you!)

All male office? No Sandra?


August 3, 2008, 3:44 pm

What on earth is going on at Trusted Reviews?! Two pages of absolute tosh. On top of that you even have the audacity to give it 6/10 for value. Unbelievable. I take it the editor is on holiday?! I expect to see reviews of Vertu's next.


August 3, 2008, 4:50 pm

And it's damaging to skin and even more so to eyes?

I'm sorry, ٟ,000? Yes, that's definitely a 6/10 for value! :S


August 3, 2008, 4:56 pm

now THATS the kind of review I like reading


August 3, 2008, 5:59 pm

Damn. I was hoping it was.


August 3, 2008, 6:06 pm

Shame you couldn't get some action photos. Nothing in the review really inspires me to consider spending money I don't have to get one.


August 3, 2008, 6:17 pm

Yes, you could make one yourself, but it wouldn't have the built quality:


Sadly no sabre sounds, but coupled with an app from the iPhone App Store that *does* make saber soudns as you wave it it the possibilities are endless!

It's an all male office - Sandra is a freelancer so she doesn't work from here.

It was our editor who requested we have the laser in for review. I don't see what your problem is in our reviewing something a bit more outlandish for once. If you actually saw, held and used the laser you'd realise why it's actually still fairly good value - it really feels like a grands worth of kit.

We're going to try and get some pictures of the beam in the dark, but we're all runnish night time photographers so the ones we took didn't come out very well :p

Andy Vandervell

August 3, 2008, 6:56 pm

It's just a bit fun really, guys. I wouldn't take the scores that seriously.

Lord Comben III

August 3, 2008, 7:51 pm

Certainly did look like fun you lucky scamps :)


August 3, 2008, 10:05 pm

"It's just a bit fun really, guys. I wouldn't take the scores that seriously." - No, I certainly wont be taking Trusted Reviews scores very seriously from now on!


August 3, 2008, 10:36 pm

funny, i had always thought lasers were for burning things, not give stuff skin cancer...

star wars lightsabre battles would be so much longer if that were the case, you'd wait for your opponent to die of cancer before continuing.


August 4, 2008, 1:05 am

Ben: When has anyone taken us seriously ;)

ilovethemonkeyhead: Lightsabers are not lasers, they're a contained beam of plasma. That's of course discounting the more important fact that they're not even real.

Realistically I imagine you'd be hard pushed to do any physical damage to your skin with this laser, by I definitely wouldn't want it pointing anywhere near my eyes!

Geoff Sowels

August 4, 2008, 5:05 am

If you want good pictures, I'll happily pop over and take a few of your mysteriously lit-up cloud ;) Or you could just send me the Sonar II and I'll obtain a few decent snaps, send it back, you can have some nice RAW format images to publish and print in large-format for your office wall? :)

Nice device. Shame 'bout the price tag. I'd rather spend � + VAT on some nice lenses.


August 4, 2008, 2:24 pm

As already mentioned, we fancied doing something that was just fun, and yes being an all male office probably does enhance the "lasers are cool" opinion :)

Seeing a blue laser being used for something other than just an optical disc player is refreshing to say the least. And playing with this thing at night, with little ambient light polution is nothing short of stunning.

Yes it's expensive, yes it's potentially pointless for the majority of people, but that doesn't stop it being the kind of thing that I dreamt about when I was a kid!

Ultimately, I have plans to launch a gadgets section on TR, where we can cover things that are particularly impressive implementations of technology, but don't really justify purchase, other than the "I want one" feeling.

Let's face it, Sony's AIBO did pretty much nothing, but it didn't stop people around the world fighting for the chance to spend thousands of pounds on one. I remember running the first UK review of AIBO when I was still editing PCW - the sales of that issue were massive and the feedback huge.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions of stuff that we could potentially get our paws on, that would make a cool gadget review, let us know.


August 4, 2008, 11:02 pm


A gadgets section would be awesome


November 11, 2008, 5:27 am

Here are some reviews :



December 3, 2008, 6:30 pm

"Even the loaded will spend their cash on inconsequential toys that have an actual purpose - dressing up a chihuahua to make it presentable; gold teeth to redecorate your face, etc."

I can personally vouch that the purpose of buying lasers like these is fun. Pure and simple. Shining them up in the sky. Picking out a tree from a mile. Lighting matches. Making gorgeous patterns with diffraction gratings. Making luminous toys glow like fire. And just owning something that is pure sci fi. Utility is not the point.

I would say though that the price quoted is very high, compared to similar lasers that can be bought from other suppliers / home workshops. As always, it pays to shop around!

Great review though. Good to see the site branching out beyond the obvious.

comments powered by Disqus