Home / Computing / Peripheral / Western Digital My Book World Edition / Western Digital My Book World Edition

Western Digital My Book World Edition - Western Digital My Book World Edition

By Edward Chester



  • Recommended by TR
Western Digital My Book World Edition


Our Score:


User Score:

In terms of the basics, then, the My Book World Edition is pretty good. It looks nice, is easy to setup, and has all the basic functionality you'd hope for. However, what sets this apart from the rest of the NAS box fraternity is its extras. Included with each box is Western Digital's Anywhere Backup software, which has five licenses, and the box can be accessed via Mionet's remote access service.

Starting with the backup software, this is a constant-monitor backup service so once you've made your initial backup the software keeps an eye on all the files and folders and checks when you've made an update, deleted something or moved it. If you do change something, the software will then invisibly kick in and add an incremental update to the original backup. By default, three versions (the original and two updates) of a file will be kept before the original is replaced, and if you delete a file the two previous versions will still be available. It is incredibly easy to setup and although the initial backup takes sometime, subsequent backups impact little on everyday use.

As for the remote access service, well, you can ignore it if you know how to set up remote access manually on NAS appliances but for your average user it can all be a bit much. Mionet, then, is an online service that makes this process really easy. It's normally for use with your home PC and all you do is download and install a piece of software. So long as you then leave your PC on, you can access it remotely. With the My Book World Edition, Western Digital has embedded this installation into the NAS box itself. In other words, not only are all your files now accessible from any PC in your home, they're now accessible from anywhere round the world.

This, combined with the backup software and the 1TB version's competitive price, puts the My Book World Edition a cut above the rest of the NAS box masses, especially for the novice home user. If you're an advanced user you may want to opt for a different appliance which lets you install your own software (bittorrent client, anyone?). Also, if you're a business user we'd recommend stumping up the money and buying a proper RAID NAS box to ensure your data is safe.


Western Digital's My Book World Edition doesn't necessarily bring anything brand new to the NAS box market but for the novice user it's an ideal entry-level appliance. It's easy to set up, includes decent backup software and an easy to use remote access service, and the price is right too.


February 18, 2009, 7:35 pm

How does this compare to the Iomega Home Media Network Hard Drive that was released recently? Any chance of a group test of consumer level NAS boxes?

Steve 12

February 18, 2009, 8:07 pm

The 𧴩.56 price quoted is actually for the old 500GB model


February 18, 2009, 8:09 pm

Why is the price listed as '𧴩.56 (Inc VAT)' which for the 500GB, but you reviewed the 1GB?


February 18, 2009, 9:12 pm

Ah, crumbs. My eyes were deceiving me. Thought it was remarkably far below the MSRP. As mentioned in the review, this still represents outstanding value at the MSRP of 𧵠.99.


February 18, 2009, 10:24 pm

I still don't really get the idea. An old celeron-something PC is free from freesycle + 2 new 1tb drives = 2x㿨 = 𧴰. A little hungry on the energy side (depends) and a little more ugly and space consuming, but as for the abilities and flexibilities..! And, of course, price.

Andy Vandervell

February 18, 2009, 10:26 pm

I doubt somehow most user would want to go to such lengths. I know I wouldn't.


February 19, 2009, 12:23 am

Nice to see a gigabit interface on a cheaper NAS.

I really hope NAS enclosures become as cheap as USB enclosures as demand goes up. Does this unit have a wake-on-lan feature?


February 19, 2009, 4:15 am

Does it spin down the drive (apparently not all NAS's do) & what's the power draw like??

I've gone with Лис's idea - though it was an old pc from work with FreeNas put on it. The main drawback is it hasn't got SATA, so I'm currently stuck with an old 200gb IDE drive I had spare. It's the power it must suck up running 24/7 that I really don't like though. (planning to borrow a mates power meter at some point...)


February 19, 2009, 11:38 am

No word on the performance? the old WD World Edition had realy useless transferspeeds (7-10mb sec over gbitt), any improvement here?


February 19, 2009, 2:42 pm

I use a Mac as my main PC and a netbook running XP as travelling machine. I always have a problem with automated backups for the Mac (including Time Machine) in that backups of a Mac are not readable as files on an XP. Does anyone know if I used this WD would the back up files from my Mac be readable from a windows machine on the network or remotely?


February 19, 2009, 3:44 pm

Updated with read and write speeds as well as power figures.


February 19, 2009, 9:34 pm

@ Rob - That's because Windows and OS X use different file systems (OS X uses HFS+ and Windows uses NTFS). Windows doesn't natively recognise HFS+ formatted drives so you will need a program in order to access the data on them (I think MacDrive and TransMac do this). At least, this is my understanding of it as I have never used a Mac.


February 19, 2009, 10:23 pm

@ smc8788 - thanks for your input. I appreciate why I presently cannot read Mac backup files on a Windows system. That is why I am curious whether the WD provides me a solution, without resorting to third party apps (I tried and did not find them useful). The video about this drive on the WD website suggests that a mixed Mac PC network is fully functional. I am unable to locate a website in UK that sells this drive. The 'latest price' link on TR goes to 100 of wireless router products.


February 19, 2009, 11:05 pm

Rob, this will support a mixed mac and PC network - see the screenshots for what file systems is supports. I've not found anywhere that's selling these yet. I'll keep an eye out, though.


February 23, 2009, 4:38 am

The con with a lot of these storage solutions branded by Hard Drive mnaufactures is that they dazzle buyers with "features" while often hiding the fact that they have stuffed these products with turtle-slow 4200rpm drives. The slowest of the slow.

This review fails to address this question at all. Doesnt even raise it. I'd much rather read about hard issues like that, than run through "details" than can be found anywhere.

Thomas C

February 24, 2009, 2:36 am

Any luck with anyone selling these yet?


February 24, 2009, 4:20 am


1. So far as I'm aware the drive that's used in this is identical to WD's normal Green Power drives, which run at circa 7,200 rpm.

2. While there are speed differences between NAS devices you're still hugely limited by the network connection so it's all a bit moot.

3. How many situations is the NAS box speed of concern to your average home user, the likes of which this device are targeted at.


February 24, 2009, 8:40 pm

I have the original 500GB Mybook world at it was unable to share certain types of files is this still a case on the new version?

Also is the firmware available to download as the menus are much cleaner than on the original?


April 9, 2009, 2:01 pm

I bought this from IT247.com (𧴺 and free postage). So far I am happy with what it can do. It works plug and play out of the box for my Mac, with no software needed. I then loaded the backup app and registered free on line for the web based remote access. All of this worked flawlessly. My main machine, my iMac, now background backs up incrementally to the network drive. I can access all the files, with read and write permission, from any web browser remotely. The strength of this system is that it works with a Mac/PC mixed system. Which means I can access the backup of my Mac from a Vista or XP PC on the same network (meaning sharing a wi-fi connection on the same router). Most Mac back ups are not readable by a PC (e.g. Mac Time Machine backups cannot be read by a PC), so this is really good news for me. There is an application for Vista and XP to detect and manage the network drive. On my Vista machine this worked fine, but on both my XP laptops, I could not get the detection software to work at all (even trying the later version from the WD website). So for my XP machines I had to manually map the network drive - not difficult, but also not at all intuitive for most users. Anyway, apart from this problem, I now have the system I am looking for: Mac / PC; silent incremental back up of my Mac to a network drive, that can be accessed by a PC on the local network or via a web browser on the internet. It is what I was looking for and this provides the solution in a relatively inexpensive package.

comments powered by Disqus