Sony Bravia KDL-46X4500 46in LCD TV - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Sony Bravia KDL-46X4500 46in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Value 7
  • Image Quality 10
  • Sound Quality 7
  • Features 10
  • Design 9

Ohmz

April 7, 2009, 7:18 pm

So I guess this is the Kuro killer then?

Geoff Richards

April 7, 2009, 8:41 pm

Actually, that doesn't imply that the Kuro is still better. It merely means that they are comparable, which is a huge compliment to anything non-Kuro.

MS

April 7, 2009, 8:44 pm

re: So I guess this is the Kuro killer then?





I think you'll find Pioneer have all ready done that. They have/will stop manufacturing them very soon :-(

Ohmz

April 7, 2009, 9:02 pm

"Actually, that doesn't imply that the Kuro is still better. It merely means that they are comparable, which is a huge compliment to anything non-Kuro."





So in other words, it looks like the competition is set to exceed the bar Pioneer set so high. Cannot wait to see the new Panasonics this year!

DaGMan79

April 7, 2009, 11:37 pm

Does anyone know if any of these 'internet enabled' TV's support BBC iPlayer or will ever support it in the future. I'm assuming they will need some form of native support and will not simply work through the browser.





Also just a comment to the Trusted Reviews team, could you mention in your reviews what type of tuners the TVs have. We're not that far away from HDTV being available of terrestrial now and from what I've read elsewhere some TVs will support MPEG4 so I'm assuming will support Freeview HDTV when it is eventually launched.

Geoff Richards

April 8, 2009, 12:13 am

@DaGMan79 - unless anyone wants to provide evidence otherwise, no TV you will buy today features a tuner capable of the yet-to-be-released Freeview HD. Of course, all HDTVs will happily playback Freeview HD via a separate set-top box, but integrated tuners are a no-go I believe.





You also need to be aware that supporting MPEG4 playback isn't the same as being able to receive Freeview HD either. Some European countries use MPEG4 right now via regular DVB-T (digital terrestrial) rather than MPEG2 since the compression is better and thus it uses less bandwidth.





The key feature you must look for is "DVB-T2" - this is what Freeview HD will use, though the launch may not be until the end of 2009, and I read it will be "only" four channels. If you can't wait, and don't want to pay for Sky HD, your other choice is Freesat HD.





Hope that helps.

Max

April 9, 2009, 2:48 pm

@John Archer:





"Really, the only preset I particularly enjoyed using was the Cinema mode."





Sony Pictures pitched in for this mode. ;)





FreesatHD is a complete waste of time and money. DVB-T2 has finally made it through the standards body and will start to be integrated into European TVs sooner rather than later. Freeview HD will probably less comprehensive in its coverage, but it will be better. SkyHD will always be king though especially since VM are so sucky these days.

G 2

April 10, 2009, 9:33 pm

So how much better is this than say the Panasonic g10?

comments powered by Disqus