Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV

Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV review

John Archer

By

Reviewed:

1 of 6

Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV
  • Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

6

Sometimes being an eternal optimist really sucks. For I unfailingly start off every week brimming with confidence that the seven days ahead will present me with a lovely collection of uncontroversial, easy-to-recommend TVs and projectors that will give everyone - TrustedReviews readers, manufacturers, me - plenty to smile about.

But then some weeks it only takes a couple of hours on a Monday morning for all my hopes to be painfully dashed without so much as a by-your-leave. And sadly today is one of those occasions. What's more, the pain is particularly acute because it's being caused by a TV from a brand as important and widely trusted as Sony.

Not that things start out badly. The 46in Sony KDL-46W4500 actually sets a great early tone by being quite a looker in its superbly sturdy gloss black body offset by an illuminated Sony logo and a distinctive transparent section running right through the bezel beneath the screen.

It's got some seriously pleasing connections to keep me keen too, including no less than four ‘multimedia' ports: a D-Sub PC input, a USB 2.0 jack, an Ethernet jack, and Digital Media Port.

Looking at the last three of these jacks in turn, the USB 2.0 can be used to play JPEG and MP3 files from connected USB devices, the Ethernet port (which is DLNA certified) can be used for accessing files stored on a PC, and finally the Digital Media Port can be used to get portable AV devices playing their files through and onto the TV via suitable (not included) adaptors.

It's not all awesome news when it comes to connections, as there are only three HDMIs when we might have hoped for four these days. But I guess most people will probably get more benefit from the multimedia jacks than they'll miss the fourth HDMI, if you see what I mean.

You certainly can't accuse the 46W4500 of lacking much in the feature department, though. For starters, its 46in screen employs a Full HD resolution, and delivers a high claimed contrast ratio of 50,000:1 courtesy of a dynamic contrast system.

Also present are plenty of goodies in the picture processing department, most notably Sony's Bravia Engine 2 system and MotionFlow 100Hz. The first of these tools works on a whole host of image elements - colour, black level, motion control, noise suppression and fine detail - to make pictures just generally better, while the MotionFlow system doubles the PAL refresh rate and interpolates new intermediate frames of image data to make motion look more fluid and clear.

There are also separate standard and MPEG noise reduction routines, game/text/film modes, and a wide colour setting if you have a source able to supply a suitable signal. I wouldn't recommend using the wide colour mode for normal viewing, though, as this can cause some rather strange colour tones.

ilovethemonkeyhead

October 28, 2008, 11:12 am

light might bleed seems to be a real problem with some of the w4500 series panels. however, i've seen the 40 inch version of the screen and i personally haven't seen any light bleed. do you think you could show a picture demonstrating how bad the bleed can get?

Eric67

October 28, 2008, 1:28 pm

Other professional reviewers such as what hifi and lesnumeriques consider this an excellent TV. Now who's right?


I think you had a faulty set, I cannot imagine this model is that bad.

Anders Åkesson

October 28, 2008, 1:29 pm

The problem you describe as picture-ruining light pooling problem what usually is referred to as clouding? And doesn't this phenomena go away after a couple of hundred hours of viewing?

basicasic

October 28, 2008, 4:03 pm

This is the sort of review I want to read. I'm hoping to buy a large screen TV soon and if its bad news I want to know about it. Too many review sites are scared witless to criticise an item they're testing for fear of upsetting manufacturers and getting crossed off the review sample list.





And even if it is a faulty set thats inexcusable too. If its a Sony supplied review sample then you would expect it to be one of the best samples they could find. If its randomly purchased for testing then their quality control is questionable. It could be any member of the public paying top money for a 'Sony' and getting poor quality for it.

darkcamel

October 28, 2008, 7:08 pm

Another Sony tv with apparent picture issues. Also that silver bit at the front is a design faux pas. They had the cloudy screen issue with the X2000. Personally I wouldnt touch a Sony with the QE2s barge pole, having seen Panasonic and Pioneer plasmas. Nice to see a balanced review rather than those magazine reviewers trying to keep their advertisers happy.

Luan Bach

October 29, 2008, 4:45 pm

People in other forums are reporting the same issue. I'm kind of glad I bought the W4000 now.

Lew

October 29, 2008, 6:47 pm

John,...HELLO, anyone looking to buy a sony tv would have noticed alot of confusing moves on sony's part regarding HDTVs in the 4 months, eg;





1. canellation of the 40x4500- with only the bra pro 2 as an anvantage over the z and w 4500.


2. which is the better pick x3500 or w4500 (40 inches)- sure the x3500 is better at sd, dvd, free view, screen uniformed, build, looks, softer hd image and at the most darkest of scences it's black is deeper or on par....but the w4500 is better at brightness, contrast, features, viewing angle (poor uniformed screen), sharper at HD (weak on sd/freeview), cheaper build, uptodate menu system.?????? which does one pick,???? hellthe cost the same now





3. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PRO ENGINE?...anyone. they seem not to care for it, they jumped to pro 2 and Bravia Engine 2, the z model should have got the pro engine so there would be reason enough to get it over the w4500. maybe it seem the usefulness of the pros is pointless when you consider free hd freeview?????????





4. the price of the 46x4500??? compared to the better, not as bright 50 pioneer 8 an 9th





...............well i have to say till two months ago i was set to buy a 40x3000, but now i am sooo so lost , i think will just buy a pioneer 50 and cover all the bases (future, value, image qaulity and build).





I would love to see you review the 40w4500, to round off everything, coz i respect your take and reviews?





kind regards,


Lewis

Lew

October 29, 2008, 6:59 pm

David ,...HELLO, anyone looking to buy a sony tv now, would have noticed alot of confusing moves on sony's part regarding HDTVs in the 4 months, eg;





1. canellation of the 40x4500- with only the bra pro 2 as an anvantage over the z and w 4500.





2. which is the better pick x3500 or w4500 (40 inches)- sure the x3500 is better at sd, dvd, free view, screen uniformed, build, looks, softer hd image and at the most darkest of pictures, it's black is deeper or on par....but the w4500 is better at brightness, contrast, features, viewing angle (poor uniformed screen), sharper at HD (weak on sd/freeview), cheaper build, uptodate menu system.?????? which does one pick,???? hellthe cost the same now





...REALLY HOW IMPORTANT IS THE BLACK OVER THE PRO ENGINE ?





3. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PRO ENGINE?...anyone?.... they seem not to care for it, COZ WELL they jumped to pro 2 and Bravia Engine 2, the z model should have got the pro engine so there would be reason enough to get it over the w4500. maybe it seem the usefulness of the pros is pointless when you consider free hd freeview????????? IF AND WHEN IT HAPPENS AND WORKS????





4. the price of the 46x4500??? compared to the better, not as bright 50 pioneer 8 an 9th





...............well i have to say till two months ago i was set to buy a 40x3000, but now i am sooo so lost , i think will just buy a pioneer 50 and cover all the bases (future, value, image qaulity and build).





I would love to see you review the 40w4500, to round off everything, coz i respect your take and reviews?





kind regards,


jack

jose 1

November 27, 2008, 6:31 am

See the pictures of the cloudind on my tv http://whathifi.com/forums/1/1...


is really very annoying....

adamuchan

December 16, 2008, 3:25 pm

This is a very interesting article indeed, our house was burgled 2 weeks ago, they stole our plasma from our room but left the Sony Bravia 46 in V series tv in the lounge. With my insurance claim I bought a 46 in W series with 100 hz motion flow today. I then replaced the sony in the lounge (Which is only 3 months old) with this new W series.... I thought that the w series had to have had a flaw with it!! I thought u have to be kidding, the V series (Cheaper version) runs rings around it in every respect, We have Sky HD and a sony PS3 runnning at 1080P. I am staggered at the lack of crispness of the picture compared to using the V series LCD in the same way. I may take this TV back, it is horribly disappointing. The cheaper V without fancy motion flow rains all over it for HD moving images, the 46 in W series makes HD look like a good SD with its blurry patches. What have you done sony???

comments powered by Disqus