Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Samsung i8910 HD / Samsung i8910HD

Samsung i8910 HD - Samsung i8910HD

By Sandra Vogel



Our Score:


User Score:

One area where that large screen excels is web browsing and another is text entry. You can enter URLs and other text using a QWERTY on-screen keyboard that sits very nicely indeed in landscape mode. It was comfortable to work two-thumbed. There is also a handwriting recognition system, though I found it unwieldy. And of course you can also use an alphanumeric tappable keypad if you prefer.

The accelerometer is great for switching between landscape and portrait web page views, while finger panning around pages is easy, aided by a nice zoom slider you can call up to get closer or further away from page content. A menu button brings up lots of options such as setting bookmarks, returning to your home page, keyword search within pages and even RSS subscription.

Music playback is another central feature of a modern multimedia handset. Here, there's a 3.5mm jack on the top edge of the casing so headphones won't snag at your pocket when they are in place, unlike those proprietary side-mounted connectors found on other handsets. It is a shame that Samsung's headset is one-piece, though, as I'd have liked the opportunity to use my own headphones past the microphone for better quality output when using hands-free. For those into their radio, the i8910 HD comes with an RDS-enabled FM one.

The phone just managed over 10 hours of music from a full battery charge. Samsung quotes 13.5 hours of talk and 600 hours on standby. Use the Wi-Fi and GPS sparingly and you may approach the two and a half days between charges that I got.

Sadly, there is no Google Maps to take advantage of the GPS, though you can add it easily. There is plenty of other additional software here including a digital compass, voice recorder, podcasts manager, the RealPlayer, mobile email, calculator, clock, unit converter, notes taker, calendar, an application called Smartreader for converting business cards to the contacts app via the camera, QuickOffice for working with Word, Excel and PowerPoint (reading not creating), and PDF reader.


There are some negative points with the i8910 HD such as the one-piece headset, no Google Maps, and slightly unwieldy size. But the good points far outweigh the bad, and if you are after a large-screened phone this could be a super choice.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


June 19, 2009, 7:22 am

Any comment about the quality of conversation sound? There were problems with it as i read some time ago.


June 19, 2009, 4:05 pm

Any recommendation for a sat nav app for this phone?

I use Sygic on the N95 but it probably isn't compatible with this resolution.


June 19, 2009, 5:14 pm

I'd imagine AmazeGPS would work - does on my LG Renoir - http://www.amazegps.com/welcom...


June 19, 2009, 7:02 pm

I got this phone fairly recently with Orange. Im very impressed with the video and quality of the screen. I took it to America with me and my videos of the Grand Canyon look amazing!

Videos ripped from YouTube look pretty good too.. getting them onto the phone could not be easier.. drag and drop from pc to Samsung PC studio software...it can read most formats out there.

I got google maps downloaded to it which works fine, it is quite amusing watching yourself move across the map when in a car although it would be better to have GPS software with full uk map installed and not have to connect to the internet to get the images.. on traditional sat nav systems in your car.

@ Bagpuss - cheers for the link, I'll check that out later :)


June 22, 2009, 3:12 pm

@stranded : call quality is perfectly fine - iv read reviews also where its mentioned that its as if you talking to someone in a tunnel, but that i dont think so at all.


June 23, 2009, 3:25 am

It's a very nice phone but it's absolutely huge. One for the ladies handbags methinks.

James McMorine

June 23, 2009, 7:46 pm

Will there be a video review of this coming soon? As you guys always do very good reviews and i would like to see the phone in action before i decide whether to to get this or the LG Viewty Smart.


June 23, 2009, 7:53 pm

@James - I'm unsure as to the video review timing but I've used both ant the i8910 is in a different league. It's flagship, the Viewty Smart is upper midrange at best and feels cheap.


June 25, 2009, 6:48 pm

What's that David? Couldn't agree more - it IS a belter.


July 4, 2009, 11:22 pm

Thanks for the review Sandra. One question though - is the OS any good? In your Nokia N97 review you say that Symbian is lagging well behind the competition, but don't comment on that here. I have no intention of getting an iPhone - locked down, poor camera, limited to an awful O2 contract - but have to admit it is actually nice to use. How does the i8910's OS compare in terms of speed and ease of use? Thanks.


July 9, 2009, 2:22 am

After switching from an N95 to an LG Renoir, I can honestly say that I miss the available applications for my phone of choice. Suddenly an iphone with all of its faults but thousands of applications available in one place seems really inviting.


August 26, 2009, 12:39 am

which phone would be better this one or samsung tocco ultra edition?


September 5, 2009, 7:25 pm

aaight.. well i dont know much, but in simple talk what is the best phone? .. just general multi media purposes etc ???

Dan Healy

October 13, 2009, 5:06 am

Hi. I'm looking at the Omnia HD vs the Omnia 2.

I can't really decide between the 2 and have no idea how one (HD) can be 16m colours and the other (Om2) 65k - that really does baffle me and makes me think it doesn't really matter, they are both AMOLED etc. Is the screen resolution (HD 640x320, Om2 800x480) an issue? You can zoom in/out on web pages etc anyway.

The colours spec astounds me, obv that ratio of 16m to 65k is not an actual ratio to performance!! Is the HD much better to watch videos? Sometimes technical specs are misleading.

As an avid txter. I'm worried about the lack of multi touch on the HD - can it be added somehow via firmware?


January 21, 2011, 9:09 pm

A year too late but here's my take on I8910 HD for any prospective buyer. The word is "Don't". You will be disappointed.

Got a brand new phone from ebay. After reading reviews in cnet, techradar and TR, I bought this phone assured it was the best camera phone. Not really!!!

Here's what I like.

1. Good Keyboard and very user friendly user-interface.

2. Nice display size.

3. Get Opera browser..Good internet browsing.

4. Fast and responsive screen. Typing is much better and accurate.


1. Camera results. Images are blurry and shaky. anti shake doesn't work well. When it does click right, it does a fine job. But not better than HTC HD2 (my colleague got one and we compared the results). I've tried different firmwares.....None stable...there's always some issue.

2. The screen icon interface is ugly. eeeeks. The icons are big and really horrible. Seems like it's designed for toddlers. Check out Iphone or any HTC phone and you'll know the difference. My nokia N95 has better screen layout on symbian. Rich and nice.

it's a pity I didn't come across a report written while searching for camera issues on google. (search yourself).


Not all is disappointing, however if you're an Android/Apple/LiMO user, don't expect much from this version of symbian or the so called i8910 H-ighly D-isappointing

comments powered by Disqus