Samsung Q210 12.1in Centrino 2 Notebook - Battery Performance

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Performance 9
  • Value 9
  • Features 8
  • Design 7

TL1210

August 1, 2008, 3:44 pm

I dont think ive seen a laptop with a touch of red before.. Im liking it, looks really smart.

Wackywavinginflateablearmflail

September 5, 2008, 2:08 am

I don't like it! The red, it looks like the laptop is bruised!

flashcorp

October 4, 2008, 12:10 pm

I can't wait for the price of this machine to drop, and yes the shiny red is cool but messy !

rav

December 1, 2008, 7:21 am

Trying to decide which one to get out of this and the Q310.

Sven Okonomi

December 28, 2008, 5:37 am

I can apreciate this notebook, just like I apreciate a classic car. ;) Its got a sweet deep red curvy look and a black bonnet all shined, just like a car. This puppy just needs alot of love to keep looking pristine. But if you do keep it clean youll have yourself one of the more elegant ultramobiles out there. I dont think samsung is aiming for the boring office crowd with this one, or it would have been black and featureless. Its appealing to gamers and geeks, a shiny hitech gadget to show off with. ;) One of these under your arm is a geek badge of honor.





Im quite shocked by the batterylife these overgrown netbooks can still grunt out with a nVidia chip thats constantly on duty. I origionally planned on getting an Asus 1000H, purely because of all of the more powerfull ultramobiles being so misserably impaired by the short lived or otherwise massive batteries, but this one shows me it can be different.





Im gearing towards buying this one right now, as this seems to be the ultimate portable gamestation for under that ugly 1000 euro marker. Its the only truely gamegeared portable I can find without going to the lumpy heavy 15" range.





One question though, is the recharger as magnificantly small as the netbooks that seem to use the same size batteries? Or is this one already sporting the usuall wired brick?

DavidW

January 26, 2009, 1:03 am

Less than 6 months down the line and it seems impossible to get this laptop with the spec reviewed! What's going on? Plenty of Q210s around, but all with a much inferior processor (T6400 which, incidentally, I can find absolutely NO reference to on Intel's web page). What's worse is that the inferior models are priced the same or even higher than this one. When I questioned one large online retailer about why the out-of-stock model with the 2.26ghz P8400 processor (as reviewed) was priced exactly the same as the inferior T6400 model on their website, the response was that pricing wasn’t really much to do with spec but more to do with what’s in stock and what the demand is like. Great.





Anyone know why this laptop seems to have disappeared so quickly?

Gary H

March 11, 2009, 12:56 pm

I bought a Q40 when they first came out and it has been fantastic so as I am now changing it I am definitely going for the Q210 in my opinion you have to go a long way to beat Samsung's lightweight notebooks and for the price.

Gary H

March 11, 2009, 5:24 pm

DavidW Amazon have the T6400

Alexa08

April 1, 2009, 8:17 pm

DavidW, I'm having the same problem! My guess is that Samsung have changed their mind and holding the P series processors over for their next Q model, whils putting them in their lower-specced-in-every-other-way P210 laptop, aimed at business.

comments powered by Disqus