Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » Samsung Lucido S7220

Samsung Lucido S7220 review

By
Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung Lucido S7220

Summary

Our Score

9/10

Review Price free/subscription

Anybody remember Samsung's Ultra range of handsets? Gordon was getting excited about them as far back as February 2007. I've seen a fair few handsets in the range, but the Ultra branding has slipped from consciousness somewhat. It is back here, but in a sort of sideways way. This new Samsung mobile has its official numeric designation of S7220 and a snappy name, Lucido. Look on the box and you'll also see 'Ultrab'. OK, then, so this is an Ultra handset, but Samsung isn't shouting about that.

It does, actually, have the look and feel of a member of the Ultra range. The build is quite sleek, the handset is fairly tall and thin, and for a model that'll cost you less than £150 SIM-free, it does look something of a charmer. It is perhaps a bit on the rangy side at 114mm tall, 46.3mm wide and 11.8mm thick, but it is light at 88g.

The numberpad is very well made. The number keys are large, and raised towards their bottom edge, making it easy to find and hit them accurately at some speed. The navigation button isn't huge, but its raised surround again makes it comfortable to use. I do, though, have to whinge about the soft menu shortcut keys. These are inside the Call and End keys, butted right up onto the navigation button. I kept hitting Call or End by mistake when going for them. However, I guess over time you'd get used to the positioning.

The screen is not vast - we are talking candybar handset here, after all. At just 2.2in, it isn't ideal for data-rich activities. This is a shame, as the 320 x 240 pixel AMOLED screen really shines out at you, the automatic screen rotation worked well, and the HSDPA support to 7.2Mbps downloads means web pages loaded with a good turn of speed.

You won't want to spend too much time on complex Web sites, but when you do need to check the news, Facebook or whatever, you have the facilities to do so. Downloading Opera rather than trying to live with the provided browser will make things easier.

As a standard candybar handset, the Lucido isn't a touchscreen model, so you're back in fairly old-fashioned menu-driven land here. There's nothing particularly special about Samsung's user interface, though the theme system is quite extravagant. There are three main themes to choose from. Pick one and you can either use it as is or twiddle with it to the nth degree, changing the background, icons, fonts, colours and, well, pretty much everything.

Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

marcus de menezes

August 30, 2009, 4:34 pm

how can you even recommend a phone without wifi..

Mark Walton

August 30, 2009, 11:44 pm

How can you make such a silly comment about a phone that is £135 with a 5MP camera, GPS, etc. ? ? ? Some people are never satisfied.

marcus de menezes

August 31, 2009, 12:41 pm

wifi is a must to have function in phones today. 5mp camera and a ridicolous gps, no.

Geoff Richards

August 31, 2009, 1:30 pm

@Marcus - why do you say that?





Wifi in phones is useful if you're at home, using your phone like a mini-laptop and you want to save on your mobile data plan. The Lucido has a 320 x 240 pixel non-touchscreen, so I really can't see people using it casually of an evening to read the BBC News headlines very often. And if they do, there's 7.2Mbps HSDPA...





I agree with Mark Walton - I would far rather trade Wifi for the camera / GPS functions. For those who wouldn't, vote with your feet and buy a model that does have Wifi. Simples.

Craig Leggat

August 31, 2009, 5:04 pm

I love the look of this phone: very slim and sleek. Never owned a Samsung mobile though. I'm not too fussed about the wifi. I have an LG Renoir and only use the wifi outdoors, but rarely is it available free of charge. This isn't Tokyo :-)

Martin Daler

August 31, 2009, 6:23 pm

I guess the only thing I use WiFi for on a phone is VOIP at home. The notion of web browsing through a window smaller than a credit card seems a bit daft to me, I struggle of a large screen PDA.


On the GPS - can this phone run CoPilot? What OS is the phone running? That could be another use for wifi - downloading speed camera updates for CoPilot!

marcus de menezes

August 31, 2009, 7:00 pm

come on.. there are a lot of places in the world (where do you live??) where you can access wifi internet without paying an eye or even for free. You dont really need to go in japan for that. Most of the time I use my e71 (not such big display) to access internet with limited cost at home and no cost at a mediacafe in milano and office. To me wifi is a must for a mobile and should be supported from mobile producers to push wifi networks. How? do not buy mobiles w/o wifi..

Mark Walton

September 1, 2009, 12:49 am

I still don't see how WiFi is a must!?! Why would anyone prefer to use their mobile at home to browse the internet rather that use their PC/Netbook/Mac. Surely if you've got WiFi in the house then you must have a PC of some description?


The only place that WiFi is of use is in places like airports, assuming you can get it for free - which isn't always the case. (Was a pain in the a__e at Heathrow terminal 5)


I don't really care for it anyway when having a tariff with millions of minutes and texts and data that I will never use!! I'd rather just use my 3.5G connection, it's just as quick if not quicker to connect than when there is WiFi available. And if you are in a place where WiFi is present then 99% of the time there will be a 3/3.5G signal.

marcus de menezes

September 1, 2009, 4:08 pm

Mark, I see your point. Now try to enlarge your view. From a technical point of view (and this is what I'm looking for in TR site), wifi is a low cost solution to internet from whatever device. wifi is more and more available in europe, not only airports but whole towns, cafè, universities, public offices and even along seasides (in italy as far as I know) you can find it. Of course you can access internet using a costly tariff, but this is not the point. Internet must be available at 0 cost like radio station are. Do you pay for listening to a radio station?? I dont, and I do believe that this should be the same for internet regardless time an byte downloaded. Wifi is the only way and, again, today a mobile phone that is pretending to access internet must be ready for that.. Hope you can understand my point now.

Martin Daler

September 1, 2009, 8:01 pm

Marcus


I agree with you - the internet should be freely accessible to all. I like your radio station analogy. But why does it have to be freely accessible on this phone?

marcus de menezes

September 1, 2009, 9:06 pm

Hi Martin,


thank you for your replay. A phone should be able to access wifi internet. As simple as that. At home I have 5 pc's, you wont believe it but most of the time I use my phone to check emails, read news (ft, wsj, economist, corriere della sera,..all mobile friendly) banking, trading, facebook,... I've started even to listen to webradio..;) Mobile operators are very scared about wifi and they push producers to make phone without it. TR shouldn't support this (perhaps they are part of the game..;)))

ffrankmccaffery

September 1, 2009, 10:45 pm

marcus: have you ever looked at the battery bars on your phone as your using your using it to browse the web over wifi? most modern phones struggle to last a day on single charge with only voice calls having been made. 3G and GPRS are much less power intensive. Offering free wifi may have been a fad amongst cafes, bars and other public areas a few years back. However thats now changed as those very establishments have now realised that all it encourages is people to buy a single drink and stay for hours occupying a table that could be taken by a newer customer.


Above all what matters is that there is no other phone on the market that offers both GPS and a 5 megapixel camera for a 135 quid - two things that most buyers care for.

Zero

September 23, 2009, 1:06 am

I must stress since i have this phone my self the only 2 bad things about this phone are the key pad, When you want to answear a call, you sometime press the one next to it. Also the fact that there a Quality 5mp Auto focus camera with Crappy 320x240 15 FPS video. Could of had 30FPS Other wise this phone is theee Best !!!

Kyle Tait

October 15, 2009, 7:51 pm

Iam on a contract phone with a samsung lucido and I dropped it and my screen cracked now i cannot read anything but it stil works as i can answer fonecalls. What do I do?

Zero

November 4, 2009, 2:44 am

@ Kyle Tait-Get the phone fixed lol phone Samsung, or try going asking your Network operator. Don't go to a Market or a funny looking phone stall. Its a AMOLED Screen and i have seen crap work done on an LCD for a Sonyericsson.

comments powered by Disqus