Home / TVs & Audio / Surround Sound System / Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System

Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

The HT-C6200 is the latest in a long line of jaw-droppingly stylish, feature-packed all-in-one systems from Samsung, and TrustedReviews is lucky enough to get our hands on this one first. The system’s built-in Blu-ray player will no doubt appeal to people who want to watch hi-def movies without the head-scratching that comes with buying separates, and because it’s a 2.1-channel system it also keeps clutter to a minimum.

As with most Samsung systems, the HT-C6200’s talents aren’t limited to playing discs. It also comes with built-in Wi-Fi, providing access to a range of additional content through BD Live and Samsung’s Internet@TV portal. By plugging in a USB memory device you can play a wide range of digital media formats too, and its DLNA-powered All Share feature means you can even enjoy content stored on laptops and PCs around the home without a wire in sight. This, plus 1080p DVD upscaling and iPod support, makes the HT-C6200 a formidable entertainment centre in anyone’s book.

As well as the combined Blu-ray receiver unit, which offers a claimed 1000W of amplification, you get two front speakers and a subwoofer in the box. The front speakers are small enough to rest on the edges of your TV stand and boast a distinctive design. In a departure from Samsung’s usual curvy, elegant lines, the speakers are boxy in shape and stand on sturdy feet with a tapered stem. Gloss black is to Samsung what blue is to Everton, and once again it’s used to stunning effect – each speaker is coated in a luscious lacquer finish that’s sure to send guests home with green eyes.

They’re also surprisingly well made for a one-box system's speakers. The robust cabinets are a far cry from the hollow plastic of previous Samsung systems, although that’s probably explained by the HT-C6200’s higher price tag. The only real evidence of cost cutting is the use of spring-clip speaker terminals on the back of each speaker, but these are fairly standard among all-in-one systems.

Anyone worrying about where to accommodate the subwoofer can rest easy – this bass box is so compact it can be tucked in the tightest of spaces (acoustics permitting). The gloss black finish makes it easy on the eye too, although the strange corrugated side panel (which also features on the back of the speakers) is an acquired taste.

Andy 17

May 7, 2010, 11:33 am

Good review, thanks. Very interested in these new Samsung units, any ideas if this is wireless n or g, makes a difference for the DLNA streaming?

asanka

May 7, 2010, 1:31 pm

Been looking for a system to go with my samsung series 8 for ages now. I was tempted to take a look down the separates route. But with this decent enough package I may just settle. Plus separates is a bit pricey and not really worth it if you want 2.1


Opinions?!

Bob

May 8, 2010, 11:21 am

I've got BD-C5500 which is a stand alone Blu-ray player version of this one – all features are the same, but it only has wired internet connection (wireless via additional dongle) and no on-board memory (BD-C6500 has both). It's just over £100, so a decent separates 5.1 system may come down under £500. The player itself is superb (fantastic value too). Even faster loading times than reported here e.g. Apocalypto loads in ~10 seconds (it's not all that rosy: Avatar takes 2-3 min!). I tested the DLNA streaming with HD video 720p MKV, and no problem (BD player on wired, but laptop with source files was connected via 802.11g). So I suspect HT-C6200 would stream via “g” without issues.


There are however some irritating issues which may be shared with HT-C6200 . It's not possible to play music and browse other folders (other than the location of currently played file) – this applies to playback from all: Disc, USB and DLNA. Also the JPEGs are displayed with poor quality. I returned my first player because of the poor JPEGs and the second suffers from the same. All reported to Samsung, which hopefully will be resolved with the next firmware.


(I would be interested to know if HT-C6200 has the same problems)


On the plus side: the nearest competitor i.e. Sony BDP-S370 will not play from USB formatted in NTFS and DLNA is not yet operational – Samsung has no problems with those.

PaulW

May 13, 2010, 11:34 pm

Hmm! I wonder if TR realised before they reviewed the HT-C6200 that its NOT available via Samsung UK? I enquired through a UK Samsung main dealer & they told me that it wasn't available via Samsung UK, so what gives? Are Pixmania "grey" importers? If its not available (or known) by Samsung UK, what sort of warranty is available??

PaulW

May 14, 2010, 2:55 pm

Update to my last comment! It seems that the HT-C6200 is only available via Samsung in Belgium - I found it for 470 Euros, so it looks like Pixmania may be "grey importing" the unit! Given the well reported poor service provided by Pixmania (just google "Pixmania service") I'll wait for Samsung UK to stock this unit. Have to say, given the spec & £500 price it looks like a good piece of kit!

Danny P

May 19, 2010, 8:06 pm

Yes we had it confirmed by Samsung that the system won't be available in the UK, but they told us that after we'd posted the review. Shame, as it's a brilliant little system

PaulW

June 2, 2010, 3:19 pm

@ Danny P - I see today that Amazon UK are selling it @ £499.06 via SotelUK (a German company). Very tempted to buy as I cannot find anything anywhere that comes anywhere near to this piece of kit for £500!

PaulW

June 28, 2010, 1:44 pm

Ok - I have bought one - paid £349 inc DHL delivery & VAT. Verdict: A screaming bargain. The unit is better than expected & at £350 it's a no brainer. As soon as I had set it up on my WiFi network, it automatically downloaded / installed latest firmware!! Avatar on Blu-Ray is simply awsome - sound is amazing. DVD playback is fantastic - Lord of the Rings on DVD was good before but with the HT-C6200's upscaling feature its awsome & the sound track simply fantastic! FM radio, LAN / WiFi connectivity, iPod dock all excellent. Without doubt the best £350 I have spent in a long time. A very happy bunny! :)

comments powered by Disqus