Home » Computing » Printer » Samsung CLP-315 Colour Laser Printer » Print Speeds & Running Costs

Samsung CLP-315 Colour Laser Printer - Print Speeds & Running Costs

By Simon Williams


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Scores In Detail

Print Quality
Print Speed

Our Score


User Score

Previous page

jay 3

October 14, 2008, 2:33 am

You make a statement that the “imaging drum needs replacing every 24,000 pages” what you did not mention was if you print black text or images you will get approximately 24,000 pages out of the drum were as if you print in color you will get approximately 6,000 pages out of the drum.

I like the trusted review web site but I have read some reviews that are either not complete or the reviewer does not do there home work and the review is lacking important information. This information may sway the customer one way or the other. By leaving out information such as when printing in color what the drum life would be. Then trusted review is just feeding the printer companies hype by not telling the whole story.


January 21, 2009, 3:21 am

I bought this printer to do stuff at home, but the software hobbles the system the OSes that it is suppose to run on DOES NOT. The printer only uses the COLOR toner that includes for BLACK printouts. The printer will only do 15 to 30 pages at once before needing to be shutdown and the print being resent to the printer. Tech support refuses to help out since I will not use their software and that it is not to be run on Linux even though the box and documentation states that it will. They also state that they will not do anything else about the printing problems until I use their software only. The software also disables ALL printers that are connected to the computer including another SAMSUNG printer. This does not seem like a company that wants to keep customers or part of the market that is turning to Linux more and more. So be it. This will be the LAST product of theirs in any form that I will buy or tell others to they, Samsung, are ok to buy.

Stewart 2

March 6, 2009, 7:43 pm

I note Jerry's concerns over Samsung's restrictive software as I was going to replace my earlier Samsung CLP 300 printer with this newer wireless enabled model which is coming up for two years old.It would seem that Samsung may have changed their software as my CLP300 will run quite happily under Win XP64 Pro and does not disable the system's second printer, a Canon Pixma 8500. A significant concern, shared by Jerry and unanswered in the test report, is whether the CLP 315 will "behave" on a network when confronted by both Windows and Linux operating systems.

If we can assume that the engine in the CLP315 is similar to the CLP300 then I can report that mine has dramatically exceeded the stated 20,000 pages without any problems. The consumables for these machines are expensive but they will accept Far East sourced toners that cost 25% of those sold here. A further saving can be made by simply emptying the cleaner tank, not replacing it!


April 10, 2009, 1:45 pm

I bought a CPL315 five months ago and have used it extensively. I was disappointed that I had a problem with an apparent paper jam. I contacted Samsungs Customer Services at 9:30am and informed them of the problem. I had a call from their engineer at 1:15pm to say he would call later that day. By 4pm same day the engineer had made his site visit and the problem was solved. Well done Samsung

Chris 29

October 5, 2009, 2:12 pm

Like Maple, I too had a paper jam problem with a 10 month old machine. Contacted Samsung by phone, answered a few questions, emailed them proof of purchase together with my schedule for the next week. Got a phone call from an engineer at 8:30 the following morning. He could be with me in 30 mins if it was convenient. It was. He showed up on time. Fixed the fault (so common that he carried the replacement part with him) in 10 mins. I was very impressed with the service Samsung offered. They were not at all bothered that this printer was on a mixed platform network, with two other printers on it. I can only be impressed by Samsung's service.

Matt at work

April 16, 2010, 5:02 am

Hey folks, I signed up for this site just to write these comments.

I live in Arizona and inkjet printers don't do so well here for occasional printing. You go to print something and your print heads have dried out already. That's why I wanted a laser printer. I didn't know color laser printers could be this affordable and I had my reservations about buying one because I thought I was going to get raked over the coals for supplies. A year after buying this beautiful appliance I am still using the original toners.

I love that this printer is completely silent on standby. I was concerned that there would be fans running all the time like on my other HP laserJets, but there's no sound at all. Just out of curiosity I hooked up a watts up device to the printer to see how much power it consumes when it's not printing. It's next to nothing - it fluctuates from 2 - 5 Watts, which is about as much power as the clock display on your microwave uses.

I have used this printer standalone with a mac and with a PC running Vista 64bit with no problems whatsoever. Then, I set up the printer as a shared printer on the Vista PC and I print to it a few times a week over the wireless network from my Mac. Never any problems there. I've been very happy with this printer and would recommend it to anyone who needs to print the occasional document in color.

The printer must use the drivers provided by Samsung since there is no PCL or PostScript processor built into the printer. Anyone complaining about lack of Linux support - there's your reason why.

Finally I'd like to say that the quality of the printer and the prints it makes is outstanding for the price I paid for this printer. Sure, I could get slightly better quality from other printers but I would have to pay twice what I paid for this one to see any noticeable improvement. If I was looking for good photo quality I would use a photo printer but this is the best printer there is for the average joe who doesn't print a lot and is only looking to do the occasional full page color print.

I went a couple months once without printing anything. Because the printer is silent in standby I forgot that it was turned on that whole time. The first page came out in about 8 seconds which was faster than any injket ever printed for me, and there were no lines or streaks because the print heads had dried out. This printer is nothing short of exactly what I want in a printer.

Gareth 1

September 7, 2010, 3:33 pm

Hi all

i bought a samsung clp 315 printer for printing word documents and have had the printer 6 months . i print on average 4-5 pages a day and have had a message come up on my pc that the imaging unit needs replacing .i got intouch with pc world and told them the problem ,they then put me intouch with samsung direct and was told that i had to buy a new imaging unit as it was a consumable item at the cost of over £100 . I told them that the printer was under warranty but they would not fix it.i then got back in touch with pc world and they could not belive what i was telling them so they got in touch with samsung but they still could not get samsung to change their minds and replace the item .

overall i am very disapointed with samsung as the guy on the phome said that the imaging unit was only good for 1000 copies and in my eyes thats not good for a laser printer which could easly do that in a month if used more frequently so if you want a cheap printer look carfully at what your printer can deliver as it may not be as cheap as you think and samsung customer services are not helpfull either

Geoff Richards

September 7, 2010, 5:57 pm

@Gareth: I would definitely expect an imaging unit to last WAY more than 1,000 pages. Indeed, the Amazon sales description says 24,000 pages mono or 6,000 pages colour


It is a consumable item, however while it is common for manufacturers to ship "starter" toner / ink carts with reduced capacity to cut costs, I'd be gob-smacked to hear that was true of an imaging unit.

Print a Status Page which normally shows the Page Count (on most printers; not sure about Samsung). Your "4-5 pages a day" for 6 months of ownership is about 900 pages. That's 5% wear if they were all mono; still only 15% if they were ALL colour (based on the figures on Amazon).

Certainly worth challenging them on

Peter Thomas Cresswell

October 1, 2010, 4:21 pm

This is a con surely. We have tried everything, including the most useless telephone HELP centre, to get the machine to network between our two PC's, without success. The advice is rubbish and the machine also. Although we bought the W for wireless that aspect doesn't work at all. We bought it through an Amazon associate and don't know whether we can even get our money back. DON'T DO IT. It's rubbish. How reputable media such as this can credit it as 8/10 makes one think, who spends most advertising with them?

Geoff Richards

October 1, 2010, 4:52 pm

@Peter Thomas Cresswell: sorry to hear you are having difficulties, but I really must take umbrage with your suggestion that the integrity of our journalist and the independence of their reviewing is influenced by advertisers.

It is fair to say that we would not have risen over the past 7 years to be the UK's largest source of professional product reviews if we were as corrupt as you suggest.

As for your networking issues, while we don't offer a personalised Tech Support service, I took the time to download the manual for this model myself and review the instructions. I have to report that they don't appear out of the ordinary to me, though admittedly I have set up a few network printers in my time.

I can only suggest the services of a local PC tech guy if you are unable to resolve it yourself.

comments powered by Disqus