Home » TVs & Audio » Surround Sound System » Samsung BD-P3600 Blu-ray Player

Samsung BD-P3600 Blu-ray Player review

By
Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung BD-P3600 Blu-ray Player

Summary

Our Score

9/10

Review Price free/subscription

Samsung continues its groundbreaking Blu-ray exploits with the BD-P3600, which accompanies the superb BD-P4600 in the company's latest line-up. Whereas the BD-P4600 was designed with wall mounting in mind, the P3600 sports a conventional set-top box design, and despite its lower model number it comes equipped with a more generous feature list, making it a player that enthusiasts will love.

But that doesn't mean the BD-P3600 is any less attractive than its wall-mountable sibling. In fact, you could argue that it's the best-looking disc spinner the company has ever produced. When we pulled the unit out of the box it was love at first sight - the P3600 is incredibly slim and clad in a deep black finish with grey highlights around its beautifully curved edges. It's a full-on fingerprint magnet but looks like these are worth a squirt of Mr Sheen every now and again.

Perched on top is a row of touch-sensitive buttons that give off a gentle beep when pressed, and just below the display panel (which is a tad small if truth be told) you'll find a concealed USB port. On the back is a healthy array of sockets including the usual suspects like HDMI, component, composite, stereo audio and optical digital outputs. But the most pleasing addition is a set of 7.1-channel analogue ports, which allow you to enjoy Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio soundtracks on older amps without HDMI inputs.

Because the BD-P3600 is Profile 2.0 compliant, you'll also find an Ethernet connection on the rear for hooking up to the Internet and accessing BD Live content. But making a wired connection can be a real pain in the neck if your router is in another room, so that's why we're pleased to report that the BD-P3600 can also connect wirelessly. In the box you'll find an 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi USB dongle (optional on the BD-P4600) that plugs into the second USB port on the rear, enabling you to hook up to the web without a cable in sight.

And thanks to the PC streaming feature, you can play music and video from a computer on your wireless network. Well, in theory anyway - after searching for devices it successfully found my laptop, but wouldn't play any of the stored media content, instead displaying a 'No Program is found' message. It should be a very handy feature if you can get it to work.

Another convenient feature is 1GB of built-in flash memory, which rules out the need to buy a USB memory stick for storing web downloads. It leaves the front-mounted USB port free for further memory expansion or for playing back DivX HD, XviD, MP3 and JPEG files from a memory stick.

Next page

MSIC

May 3, 2009, 5:06 am

Thanks for the review. I'd really like it if you could publish either within a future review or a seperate article why something like this is a better purchase than a PS3, which seems to have a similar set of features plus all the gaming stuff at the same price.


Thanks again!

Staf

May 4, 2009, 3:48 am

I have bought mine a couple of weeks ago, i'm very happy with it, but when it comes to dvd's, it always seems to struggle with the layer change... it takes a couple of seconds before the player continues playing the disc...

John E. Goldring

May 5, 2009, 12:37 am

Hi Guys and Girls at trusted reviews. YOu mention about the streaming from your laptop not working. I had the same problem. but it is not the fault of the machine but us. you need to press the red button to hook up to the laptop/compture's contents. real easy once you have done this.

Peter King

May 19, 2009, 11:10 pm

Calling all users of the Samsung BD-P3600.





I have a few questions to ask. Firstly, is this capable of playing MP3 CDs. Secondly, is it capable of playing Blu Ray disks burned on a Blu Ray writer such as the LG GGW-H20L. Thirdly, would I be able to stream full HD video from the hard drive on my computer, either through the WiFi dongle, or the ethernet connection, and out through the Samsung BD-P3600 to my HD TV.





regards, Peter King

Kazwerd

June 3, 2009, 9:16 am

I've owned this player for 5 days, and there's just one issue I can't resolve: there's a delay between the video and audio (audio follows). This is most severe when streaming Netflix and also very noticeable when playing blu-ray disks. The player's plugged directly via hdmi into my new Panasonic P50V10. Working through all of the audio settings on the P3600 - no improvement. Any thoughts or similar experiences out there?

ef

June 8, 2009, 4:14 pm

I've had mine for a week, allthough I'm really happy with this player I might make some comment and querry:


1. Mine was shipped without the Wi-Lan dongle directly from Samsung to the shop I bought it from on special order, Samsung assured this component is now being shipped and am waiting - check the box before leaving the shop!!


2. Linking to my 5.1 surround A/V via optic cable does not support all channels, had to link via the old analog cables, is this normal?


3. While the player is really slick and obviously built to fit an extreme slick and small casing/housing, it slightly bulges on the bottom in the centre (at the centre footing) it doen't stand completely level due to this, have other users found this also?


4. Trying to plug in the optic cable I found one has to slightly push down while inserting as the plasting casing of the player is slightly of position.


5. On the positive - this player is great looking, start-up and loading times are quick and plays movies, whether blu-ray or dvd in a jiffy.


6. Managed to link a removeable hardrive via the USB loaded with 16gb of music no problem - can now access and play all my music (and photos) from one location - no more loading CD's - nice Samsung.

Chris 24

June 11, 2009, 8:57 pm

Just recently bought the product after revewing serveral articles on devices which support LAN streaming. Setting up the device was rather complicated when it comes to wireless. The implementation does not seem to be working well with WiFi access points using reasonable security features (WPA2, MAC filtering, hidden SID) In case you run into such a problem you migh want to disable the features until the connection is established. It seems the device is able to connect aftwards when even with the security features on. Unfortunately, I have not been able to manage streaming videos from my data storage a Netgear ReadyNAS+ The firmware of the Samsung player appears to assume there is always a PC and is unable to recognize shares of a remote data storage. I've also learned that once the data source is displayed on the screen and you see the individual section movies, foto etc the device is acting differently when you just press the Return button on the remote control or when you move the cursor by pressing the arrow keys. The latter will require you to enter a user id and password while pressing return just tells you that there isn't any application available. If you plan to use shares on a LAN data storage then this device is perhaps not the right choice as of today. Perhaps they will develope a new firmware supporting that in the future.

Danny P

June 22, 2009, 8:02 pm

A little late in the day but just wanted to say that I did eventually get the wireless streaming working. The 3600 still wouldn't find my laptop automatically - I had to enter its IP address manually and then type in the name of the folder in which my files are found. Quite why it won't find it automatically is beyond me and makes the process very long winded, but once connected I had no trouble playing music or watching videos wirelessly over a Belkin wireless router.

Edammer

August 11, 2009, 10:31 pm

I just got one of these and also had some problems setting this up.


The Wireless connection seems flaky; sometimes it will connect immediately, other times it seems to get stuck in “Initialising Network”.


There is no indication that it has connected so you have to perform a connection test to find out.


The Network Search function seems to find my PC sometimes, if not then running the search again will often, but not always find it.





As mentioned, once connected, the quality of the picture and sound is good and smooth. Not tried any HD streaming yet.





Lets hope that future firmware updates improve these problems as otherwise it’s a great system for the price (I got it for £214 delivered).

Deputyd

August 21, 2009, 5:24 pm

I got one of these free with my Samsung TV. Looks great but lip sync is awful. I have connected with HDMI cable with Samsung TV, set to BD Wise (should automatically set best settings) and blu ray/normal DVD has lip sync issues. I have latest firmware installed. If it wasn't free I'd send it back! Shame, as everything else is great. Bring on my PS3 Slim instead...

Edammer

September 14, 2009, 5:33 pm

Update: The latest firmware (prompted from player start screen) has now added YouTube access. After the update the start screen now has a "Press A for YouTube" type prompt.





Vids play smoothly and the main screen is easy to use.


There are a number of sections, Most Viewed, Highest rated etc.


Of course there is also a search screen with mobile phone type text entry, including predictive text / search key words.





With regard to my post on 11th Aug, I have now switched to using the network port (connected to my powerline network) rather then wireless as I was still getting problems with it not connecting sometimes.





Still not tried any HD streaming as I’ve yet to find a good source of test material.





@Deputyd. Mine is also connected to my Samsung TV with the WiseLink and have had no lip sync issues.

Spillertwo

December 13, 2009, 7:03 pm

I want to buy a blue ray player but i'm having trouble choosing between the Samsung BD-P3600, and the LG BD 370 and 390.


Biggest issue is not the blue ray playback quality (which i think will be comparable) but the DVD upscaled playback. I seem to reed in the reviews that the Samsung could be better in this respect then the LG's. It this true ?

Barry 3

January 1, 2010, 8:12 pm

I have this player and it is great. What I want to know is how or what do I need to connect a set of speakers to the player. I don't have a receiver for home cinema but would like to have a surround sound effect. What do I do?

comments powered by Disqus