Home / Gaming / Games / Resistance 2

Resistance 2 review

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Resistance 2

Summary

Our Score:

8

Platform: PlayStation 3

Hands up everyone with a PS3 who is looking for a Gears of War/Halo beater.

Once again, a heavy burden rests on Insomniac's shoulders. Pushed in to battle Gears of War at the PS3's launch, the original Resistance: Fall of Man never had a chance. A kind of hybrid of Halo, Gears and Call of Duty, with a hint of the manic mass destruction of the developer's much-loved Ratchet and Clank, it felt underpowered in comparison to the Xbox 360 flagship title. While Resistance has its fans among the hardcore PS3 flag wavers, I wasn't one of them, and I wasn't really looking forward to the follow up that much. Then Resistance 2 came through the post and - in a spare moment with only the vaguest sort of interest - I put it in my PS3 for a spin. Two levels later I was telling anyone who would listen that this was the year's big dark horse. Around the same time the first reviews started coming through, and before you knew it Resistance 2 had gone from a minor sequel to being Sony's biggest, brightest hope.

It is very good, and at it's best simply great. If you found the original a drab, derivative, worryingly generic affair, then you'll find the sequel virtually unrecognisable. This is the Insomniac who brought us Ratchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction putting all its technical expertise to bear on a big-scale FPS. The story follows on straight from the first game. The alien invasion of 1950s Britain has been dealt with, but now mainland America is under threat. The fate of the resistance rests on the head of Nathan Hales, a US soldier infected by a barely controlled alien virus that will slowly turn him into one of the enemy. On the plus side, this gives him superhuman powers of regeneration (giving the game a handy excuse to use a Call of Duty-style health recharge system).

Comparisons to Gears of War 2 are inevitable, and Resistance 2 can't always match Epic's Unreal 3 showcase for gritty detail or post-processing effects, but in it own way Insomiac's game is a triumph. There's something really solid, lifelike and vibrant about the environments, something richer and warmer about the lighting. There are scenes here of dazzling spectacle to put Independence Day or War of the Worlds to shame, while there's a personality in the modelling and rendering of the human cast that you won't have seen in many FPS games outside of Half-Life 2. The aliens - known as the Chimera - are an altogether more impressive bunch this time around, with the different types and ranks achieving the sort of distinctive character and recognisability that the Covenant have in Halo 1 to 3.

adoniteINK

November 30, 2008, 7:36 am

You know ps3 fanboys are going to have something to say about this review especially because you didnt really like the 1st one.I think R2 is a solid follow-up to the franchise but i cant really comment on whether it is a gears/halo beater(both of which are excellent IPs but highly overrated) I am going to play gears of war 2 this christmas holiday and i hope the campaign story is just as good as people have commented about because gears1 story was just "Good" and nothing more. What made the game great was the re-introduction of the cover system when everyone was using the same old duck n shoot. Until then, R2 is a big winner for the PS3.

ahlanalo

November 30, 2008, 9:45 am

I don't understand, why you guys bring Gears 2 when you make a R2 review, R2 is only for the ps3 not on 360, so don't compare it to gears 2 and halo3, and btw R2 and gears 2 and totally different games. and yes R2 is the halo 3 form the ps3 users.





only fanboys compare R2 to gears2 (totally great different games)

Hman242

November 30, 2008, 12:09 pm

Im sorta a fanboy & i didnt like the first resistance either. i know a good/bad game when i see one.

Wilfried

November 30, 2008, 3:31 pm

Let me get something straight here, if I may, to me, "fanboism" *washes his mouth* is complete nonsense. I completely understand why Trusted Reviews is bringing Gears 2 (and Halo for that matter) to the comparison table, all these games ARE First Person Shooters. I agree, they are different in their own rights but they are FPS at the end of the day and should be compared as such.


I also was one of them people absolutely hating the First Resistance, to the point I gave up on it (didn't stop me from getting the second one though). Where the first game was dull and lacking in the colours department, the second has you huging your screen from the joys it brings. I was really hoping they would restore our faith with R2 and they did! Thank you Insomniac. To me, R2 is the best Sony exclusive FPS. Although, across the board, Gears 2 is my FPS god right now (imo).


Thanks Trusted Reviews for yet another great review.

Riyad

November 30, 2008, 4:38 pm

@Wilfried - Actually they’re not all FPS games, since Gears is actually a third person shooter, but despite that, all your comments are pretty much spot on.





@ahlanalo - Are you serious? How can you NOT compare R2 to Gears 2? They are both high profile, high octane, platform specific shooters. They even have roughly the same kind of backdrop, and both are attempting to push the boundaries when it comes to online gaming.





The fact that R2 is PS3 specific and Gears 2 is X360 specific is the exact reason that you have to compare them. These are both games that are going to try to tempt consumers to purchase one console or another. Exclusive titles are one of the main reasons for choosing a specific platform. Unfortunately for Sony, Insomniac is one of the only developers bringing anything compelling solely to the PS3 - R2 is a very good game, while Ratchet and Clank is a great one. Throw Naughty Dog’s Uncharted and Little Big Planet into the mix and there are a few exclusive games that make the PS3 worth choosing over the X360.





That said, X360 has a very strong arsenal of exclusive content too, Gears and Gears 2, Halo 3, PGR4, Fable II, Left 4 Dead, Bioshock etc. (ok the last two are on PC too but no other console). So when you’re trying to decide which console to buy, most people would want to know how these big exclusives compare to each other to aid that decision.

Gnormie

November 30, 2008, 5:14 pm

@ Riyad


True about Left 4 Dead and Bioshock not being on the PS3, but Bioshock is coming to the PS3 and Left 4 Dead is much, much better on the PC.

Wilfried

November 30, 2008, 5:46 pm

@ Riyad - Ok, Gears is in between, feels like an over the shoulder type view but I'll give it to you, my bad.


But you should take your comment about Bioshock being a 360 exlusive back before you get bitten by a PS3 fanboy, just saying (note that I am supporting you 110% here).


And also, I absolutely agree with your last comment about the array of games for each platforms that helps people chosing which consoles is best for them.

Gnormie

November 30, 2008, 6:19 pm

@ Wilfried


Too late! Though I'm not sure I can really be classified as a PS3 fanboy, there is a PS3 in my house, but my room mate owns it and I rarely ever use it except to watch video.

Riyad

November 30, 2008, 6:38 pm

@Gnormie - I know that Bioshock is coming to the PS3, but considering that the game was launched well over a year ago on the X360 and PC does anyone really care? Let's face it, if you really wanted to play Bioshock you would have done so long before the PS3 version appears!

Wilfried

November 30, 2008, 7:54 pm

@ Gnormie - Please accept my apologies, your comment wasn't there when I replied to Riyad. Really wasn't intended at you. I have to admit that, before Resistance 2, I only ever used my PS3 to watch Blu-Rays, like you. It is a shame that there are not that many interesting PS3 exclusives to keep us playing on Sony's beast.

Wilfried

November 30, 2008, 7:57 pm

Sorry forgot to mention that Bioshock has already been out for a little while on the PS3. But Riyad is right, if you really wanted to play it before the PS3 version came out, you would have already done so on either the PC or the 360.

Gnormie

November 30, 2008, 8:19 pm

@ Riyad - True, but I think the developers know that too, wasn't there the news a while back that the PS3 version would include extra content? It's not like I have really used a console since I got a decent enough computer though so it really doesn't bother me either way. As most exclusives on both consoles are outdone by their PC counterparts or are distinctly mediocre (though not saying they aren't a good laugh with friends).

Wilfried

November 30, 2008, 8:59 pm

Extra content featuring a few puzzles, barely exciting, plus what is exclusive nowadays? This content might be coming a PC near you sooner than you think.

Jones

December 1, 2008, 6:49 pm

Some peoples reactions to games reviews and comments are so stupidly hilarious it beggars belief. Not only is it just a game (ok, that comment doesn't wash when considering Football Manager) but it's just someones opinion of that said game. Jesus, it's not some nazi state were everyone must have the same opinions on everything! I thought this sort of thing was resigned mostly to IGN discussion boards.





The whole fanboy thing has been a joke since the old Sega vs Nintendo days. Get a life!

smc8788

December 1, 2008, 11:59 pm

Well the PS3 seems to be a more attractive proposition recently, with HOME and other firmware updates, no matter how much cash Microsoft splashes around ;). Bioshock isn't coming to the PS3, it's been out on PS3 for over a month...and Bioshock 2 will be released on the PS3 from launch. Plus there's the fact that the Halo franchise seems to be dwindling these days after many people were disappointed at the third instalment. Add that to the impending release of Killzone 2 in February, which I can tell you from the beta will stand a very good chance of besting Resistance 2 or, for that matter, any other FPS currently out there. Plus I've been salivating over the full release of GT5 for millennia it seems (although I'm glad PD take their time as the quality and detail of their games is simply unrivalled, and its nice to see that Sony aren't trying to rush it out the door before it's ready). Still one more year to wait though :(. That franchise is the sole reason I bought my PS2 and PS3.

Jones

December 2, 2008, 1:54 pm

zzzzzzzzzzzz

comments powered by Disqus