Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV - Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A

By Danny Phillips



  • Recommended by TR
Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV


Our Score:


User Score:

Plentiful features and slick operation are all well and good, but picture quality is what Pioneer plasmas are all about, and in that respect the KRP-600A is simply out of this world. Starting with high-definition content, we paired it with Pioneer's awesome BDP-LX71 Blu-ray deck running Transformers at 1080/24p, and the levels of sharpness, depth and colour it achieves are truly awe-inspiring.

Naturally the driving force behind this incredible picture performance is the set's extraordinarily blacks, which makes the on-screen action seem supremely solid and three-dimensional. Viewing something as simple as the black background on Transformers' closing credits gives you a good idea of how deep and pure they are, but during scenes like Blackout's attack on the Army base or the Autobots trying to hide in Sam's garden, they lend the image a rock-solid punchiness that serious home cinema fans will go absolutely nuts over. But the best part is that it delivers these deep blacks without losing any fine shadow detail whatsoever.

Colour reproduction is also phenomenal. It conveys the bright, dazzling stuff with staggering vibrancy but also handles tricky skin tones and other delicate hues with pleasing accuracy, while tonal transitions are reproduced with no banding.

But the thing that'll really put your jaw on the floor is how sharp the image looks on this 1080p panel. The screen resolves every last drop of detail during Transformers' climactic battle scenes, and even picks out the most miniscule background patterns on the surrounding buildings. Edges look pristine and close-ups of the robots simply beggar belief, while the set's terrific processing means that everything is displayed without a hint of noise.

Finally we're also impressed by how the set handles fast-moving action, particularly with the player set to 24fps - those robots rarely leap between buildings with such crispness and fluidity, freed from the motion blur that blights LCD screens.

Although the KRP-600A does the best it can with Freeview material from its built-in tuner, it can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear. The 60in screen draws horrible attention to the softness and block noise of most digital terrestrial and satellite broadcasts, but pictures from a decent DVD player fare much better.


Yes it's mega expensive, but if you have money to burn and want the very best picture quality available, then the KRP-600A is without doubt the TV to go for. Its images are truly sensational, particularly with hi-def material, but there's so much more to recommend it, such as its unparalleled range of image calibration tools, a slick operating system and a long list of killer features like network media streaming. In short, it's simply sublime.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 8
  • Image Quality 10
  • Features 10
  • Design 9


November 22, 2008, 10:27 pm

I really like the idea of the media receiver, not only for making things look tidier but it would be much easier to switch cables and add new ones in instead of reaching behind the set, which can be pretty annoying.


November 22, 2008, 11:36 pm

how does reviewing a ٣,000 quid telly make any sense in a recession? (if it does at any time!), you are just like Jeremy Clarkson who only reviews 300 grand cars

Get real!


November 23, 2008, 1:12 am

media receiver on all tv's, please :D

seriously, nice features like that should be made law


November 23, 2008, 4:39 am

@filey - Yes, do TR think we're made of money! From now on I think they should only review products worth under a fiver. Maybe if we're lucky we'll get a review of a 㾶 USB stick.

Seriously though, it's nice to see a review of a top of the range TV, if only to see how it compares to my lowly TV set. I think the majority of TR reviews are aimed at the price-conscious consumer - so I don't mind if the occasional one is aimed at those with more money. Much as I don't mind looking at nice, expensive cars on Top Gear.

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 4:53 am


You seem confused as to the purpose of Trusted Reviews. I shall "*" around the key areas you should know about.

This a *technology* website that reviews, y'know, the latest *technology*. If you don't want to read about expensive yet brilliant *technology*, then don't. Personally, I like to know about the latest and greatest advances in *technology*, it's why I read a website devoted to them, and advanced *technology* tends to be expensive.

You want a website that glories in depression and gloom. I suggest The Guardian. You can wear a hair shirt and whinge about how stupid it is for people to happily dream for a moment about expensive things all you want there.

Anyway, I'm still minted. I'd buy a Kuro in a second if I thought for a moment it'd fit through my front door.

And Top Gear is fantastic. You miserable hippy.


November 23, 2008, 5:00 am

@filey: Might not make any sense but some people can afford these things even in times like these (I wish we could). Does it mean that these people should miss out on a review for this great piece of kit?

Back to the "٣,000 quid telly", I would love one of those, kick off Wipeout HD and let my eyes flow tears of joy. Is TR going to run a competition for us humble people to get a chance to get our mits on one of those babies?

Andy Vandervell

November 23, 2008, 5:01 am


Might I suggest a new front door? ;)

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 5:25 am


It's Grade 2 listed.

I'd have to buy a new house.

Maybe if it was an Editors Choice... :-)


November 23, 2008, 2:32 pm

Keep on reviewing across the range, recession or not.

Reviews are always comprehensive and interesting, and you do a great job.

Thanks a million!


November 23, 2008, 4:06 pm

I bought one of these TV's 2 weeks ago and its is wall mounted in its glory in my living room! It really lives up to they hype and is cinematic especially with the ikea led dioder lighting i stuck behind it.

Im not minted but i have a decent job and i dont drink , smoke or own a car so i guess it all comes down to what you want to spend your money on.

It took me ages to take the plunge but in the end i said why NOT?

in my opinion it was well worth as i get so much enjoyment from it.

WIPEOUT HD on PS3 is amazing !

It also saves on heating bills! :)

Geoff Richards

November 23, 2008, 4:22 pm

I think that's a fair comment, really. Anyone with a 20-a-day habit is smoking their way through the best part of ٠,000 a year for starters. Good for you mate!


November 23, 2008, 5:00 pm


The quickest way for a recession to "recede" is for people with money to spend it.. If no one buys anything that makes the recession worse ;)

Matthew Bunton

November 23, 2008, 8:14 pm

Good for you Spacey wish I could afford one myself but i'm still happy with my PDP507 maybe one day I'll be able to afford the upgrade.

Great review TR yet again I enjoy your reviews even if I can't always afford the products.


November 23, 2008, 9:49 pm

@spacey - good point mate, I don't drink or smoke either, and I always find that people are amazed when you add up just how much they're spending on both in a year. That said, I do have a weakness for cars :)

As with many things though, you really do get what you pay for with TVs, which is why I bought a PDP-LX5090 Kuro earlier in the year, and why Gordon bought a Gen 1 Kuro last year.

Yes these TVs are expensive, but that doesn't stop people wanting to buy them, recession or not. And, as with all things (cars especially), it doesn't stop many people wanting to read about them, even if they can't afford one.

Jay Werfalli

November 23, 2008, 10:34 pm

Totally agree with Wilfried - why should we not learn about the latest top-of-the-range kit, whether we can afford it or not (and I know plenty of people from both camps). We also actively cover products across the spectrum. Everything from great value TVs to exotic models like this one.

And @spacey - not owning a car is certainly your biggest saving. Cars, at the end of the day, are money pits. In the recent RAC Cost of Motoring Index, just running an average family car costs ٠,435, while the average annual true cost of ownership is currently ٤,133 for 2008 (inclusive of fuel, insurance, finance packages, depreciation, etc). Food for thought...


November 23, 2008, 11:36 pm

@Jay - Was just saving for a car. If the costs are that high I might as well just spend the lot on new techno-gubbins like a bigger TV, and carry on catching the bus? (Off-topic)


November 24, 2008, 12:08 am

@Jay - And what was the very first thing you bought after you came back to TR earlier in the year? Oh yeah, I remember, it was a car :)

It's true though, cars are serious money pits, but it's great having the freedom to go anywhere at anytime - something that's often not an option with public transport, especially in the UK.


November 24, 2008, 5:06 am

@Riyad - Yep, I'll probably save up for the car, just so I choose when to go out, rather then waiting for the bus.

Then I'll get myself a bigger TV, but it probably won't be as big as the Pioneer Kuro in this review :)


November 24, 2008, 1:05 pm

I can't afford half the stuff I see on this site and want but that doesn't stop me reading every day and dreaming! It's not just about having the money, you need to be able to justify it as well.

Out of interest, some of you must have slightly larger pads. I'd love the Kuro but I'd have to sit in the kitchen or garden to watch it. 60" in a standard 3 bed semi is ridiculous!


November 24, 2008, 4:04 pm

You know what the great thing about the web is, filey? If you don't want to read something, you can click on something else! Revolutionary!

Matt G Baish

November 24, 2008, 5:06 pm

٢,899.95 - Agh! That was the price I paid (including delivery) for my 32" Philips Plasma 7 years ago (& that was heavily discounted down from 8 grand)! How times change!

BTW - The Plasma conked out about a month after the 2 year warranty ran out & I was never really happy with it :( ho hum - that'll learn me for going totally mad when we downsized houses & had 㾼 grand of `spare` cash! (The other 㾷k bought a car which lasted 5 years before being sold for ٠K - blimmin Nissan depreciation!)

Now carless (since August) & much happier (& fitter now that cycle everywhere :))


November 25, 2008, 4:24 am

Yummy ! Want one now !


November 25, 2008, 7:16 pm

This telly is one of those over the top but why not jobs. What makes it so great apart from the picture quality is the sheer size of it. The difference between 50 and 60 is one is a big tv the other is a small cinema :-). When something takes up your peripheral vision it just totally engages you


November 28, 2008, 5:32 am

Is it possible to remove the media reviver box from the equation altogether and connect the screen directly to say htpc using only the display port?

Or is its presence necessary for some functionality?


November 29, 2008, 3:51 am

@ mobies .. no you cannot do that on this model but you can on the monitor only M model which is exactly the same screen but no tv tuner or box. I think it has 2 HDMI's in it.

I liked this one better as its more flexible

comments powered by Disqus