Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV

Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV review




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 8

Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV
  • Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV


Our Score:


User Score:

Everyone already knows that Pioneer makes the finest plasma TVs known to man, but with the KRP-600A they've stepped their game up even further. The KRP stands for Kuro Reference Plasma, which gives you a pretty good idea of what this gargantuan 60-incher is all about, namely delivering the sort of picture quality by which all other plasmas are judged - and with a price tag pushing £5k we'd hope for nothing less.

What that price tag does ensure is faultless build quality and stunning looks. The screen sports Pioneer's familiar sleek gloss black bezel, which makes it look superficially similar to the PDP-LX6090, and at 64mm deep the panel is remarkably slim for a 60in set. It's also worth mentioning that the KRP-TS01 table-top stand and KRP-S01 side speakers designed for the 600A are optional, so you'll need to factor the cost of those into your budget if you want them.

The KRP-600A also marks a return to the days of the separate media receiver, which Pioneer favoured before bringing in its ‘One Body' concept a few years back. That means there's a single DisplayPort cable connecting the screen and receiver, making it a neat and tidy job if you're mounting it on the wall.

The media receiver is a stunning piece of kit, measuring 80mm high and equipped with a gloss-black front panel that not only gives it a minimal look but also hides a multitude of sockets and buttons. These include volume and programme change keys, AV, RGB PC and USB inputs and one of the four HDMI inputs it's equipped with. Incredibly, the receiver also boasts analogue, terrestrial digital and DVB-S/DVB-S2 HD satellite tuners, which explains the presence of satellite and terrestrial common interface slots on the front.

Around the back is a plethora of other connections, including the other three HDMI inputs (all v1.3 and Kuro Link enabled), three SCART inputs, component video input and analogue stereo input, plus subwoofer, analogue stereo and optical digital outputs. But the icing on the connection cake is the Ethernet LAN port, which lets you hook up this fully DLNA compliant unit to your home network and stream music, video and photos from remote PCs.

One of the 600A's other major features is an Enhanced Optimum mode, which uses the supplied colour sensor (which clips onto the set's underside) and a built-in light sensor to analyse the room conditions and automatically adjust the picture parameters. You can check the performance of this mode using a special onscreen menu that tells you exactly what it's doing to the picture through the use of a histogram and various level meters, which look really impressive to the casual user but will be of no interest to hardcore home cinephiles who avoid automatic modes like the plague.


November 22, 2008, 10:27 pm

I really like the idea of the media receiver, not only for making things look tidier but it would be much easier to switch cables and add new ones in instead of reaching behind the set, which can be pretty annoying.


November 22, 2008, 11:36 pm

how does reviewing a ٣,000 quid telly make any sense in a recession? (if it does at any time!), you are just like Jeremy Clarkson who only reviews 300 grand cars

Get real!


November 23, 2008, 1:12 am

media receiver on all tv's, please :D

seriously, nice features like that should be made law


November 23, 2008, 4:39 am

@filey - Yes, do TR think we're made of money! From now on I think they should only review products worth under a fiver. Maybe if we're lucky we'll get a review of a 㾶 USB stick.

Seriously though, it's nice to see a review of a top of the range TV, if only to see how it compares to my lowly TV set. I think the majority of TR reviews are aimed at the price-conscious consumer - so I don't mind if the occasional one is aimed at those with more money. Much as I don't mind looking at nice, expensive cars on Top Gear.

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 4:53 am


You seem confused as to the purpose of Trusted Reviews. I shall "*" around the key areas you should know about.

This a *technology* website that reviews, y'know, the latest *technology*. If you don't want to read about expensive yet brilliant *technology*, then don't. Personally, I like to know about the latest and greatest advances in *technology*, it's why I read a website devoted to them, and advanced *technology* tends to be expensive.

You want a website that glories in depression and gloom. I suggest The Guardian. You can wear a hair shirt and whinge about how stupid it is for people to happily dream for a moment about expensive things all you want there.

Anyway, I'm still minted. I'd buy a Kuro in a second if I thought for a moment it'd fit through my front door.

And Top Gear is fantastic. You miserable hippy.


November 23, 2008, 5:00 am

@filey: Might not make any sense but some people can afford these things even in times like these (I wish we could). Does it mean that these people should miss out on a review for this great piece of kit?

Back to the "٣,000 quid telly", I would love one of those, kick off Wipeout HD and let my eyes flow tears of joy. Is TR going to run a competition for us humble people to get a chance to get our mits on one of those babies?

Andy Vandervell

November 23, 2008, 5:01 am


Might I suggest a new front door? ;)

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 5:25 am


It's Grade 2 listed.

I'd have to buy a new house.

Maybe if it was an Editors Choice... :-)


November 23, 2008, 2:32 pm

Keep on reviewing across the range, recession or not.

Reviews are always comprehensive and interesting, and you do a great job.

Thanks a million!


November 23, 2008, 4:06 pm

I bought one of these TV's 2 weeks ago and its is wall mounted in its glory in my living room! It really lives up to they hype and is cinematic especially with the ikea led dioder lighting i stuck behind it.

Im not minted but i have a decent job and i dont drink , smoke or own a car so i guess it all comes down to what you want to spend your money on.

It took me ages to take the plunge but in the end i said why NOT?

in my opinion it was well worth as i get so much enjoyment from it.

WIPEOUT HD on PS3 is amazing !

It also saves on heating bills! :)

Geoff Richards

November 23, 2008, 4:22 pm

I think that's a fair comment, really. Anyone with a 20-a-day habit is smoking their way through the best part of ٠,000 a year for starters. Good for you mate!


November 23, 2008, 5:00 pm


The quickest way for a recession to "recede" is for people with money to spend it.. If no one buys anything that makes the recession worse ;)

Matthew Bunton

November 23, 2008, 8:14 pm

Good for you Spacey wish I could afford one myself but i'm still happy with my PDP507 maybe one day I'll be able to afford the upgrade.

Great review TR yet again I enjoy your reviews even if I can't always afford the products.


November 23, 2008, 9:49 pm

@spacey - good point mate, I don't drink or smoke either, and I always find that people are amazed when you add up just how much they're spending on both in a year. That said, I do have a weakness for cars :)

As with many things though, you really do get what you pay for with TVs, which is why I bought a PDP-LX5090 Kuro earlier in the year, and why Gordon bought a Gen 1 Kuro last year.

Yes these TVs are expensive, but that doesn't stop people wanting to buy them, recession or not. And, as with all things (cars especially), it doesn't stop many people wanting to read about them, even if they can't afford one.

Jay Werfalli

November 23, 2008, 10:34 pm

Totally agree with Wilfried - why should we not learn about the latest top-of-the-range kit, whether we can afford it or not (and I know plenty of people from both camps). We also actively cover products across the spectrum. Everything from great value TVs to exotic models like this one.

And @spacey - not owning a car is certainly your biggest saving. Cars, at the end of the day, are money pits. In the recent RAC Cost of Motoring Index, just running an average family car costs ٠,435, while the average annual true cost of ownership is currently ٤,133 for 2008 (inclusive of fuel, insurance, finance packages, depreciation, etc). Food for thought...


November 23, 2008, 11:36 pm

@Jay - Was just saving for a car. If the costs are that high I might as well just spend the lot on new techno-gubbins like a bigger TV, and carry on catching the bus? (Off-topic)


November 24, 2008, 12:08 am

@Jay - And what was the very first thing you bought after you came back to TR earlier in the year? Oh yeah, I remember, it was a car :)

It's true though, cars are serious money pits, but it's great having the freedom to go anywhere at anytime - something that's often not an option with public transport, especially in the UK.


November 24, 2008, 5:06 am

@Riyad - Yep, I'll probably save up for the car, just so I choose when to go out, rather then waiting for the bus.

Then I'll get myself a bigger TV, but it probably won't be as big as the Pioneer Kuro in this review :)


November 24, 2008, 1:05 pm

I can't afford half the stuff I see on this site and want but that doesn't stop me reading every day and dreaming! It's not just about having the money, you need to be able to justify it as well.

Out of interest, some of you must have slightly larger pads. I'd love the Kuro but I'd have to sit in the kitchen or garden to watch it. 60" in a standard 3 bed semi is ridiculous!


November 24, 2008, 4:04 pm

You know what the great thing about the web is, filey? If you don't want to read something, you can click on something else! Revolutionary!

Matt G Baish

November 24, 2008, 5:06 pm

٢,899.95 - Agh! That was the price I paid (including delivery) for my 32" Philips Plasma 7 years ago (& that was heavily discounted down from 8 grand)! How times change!

BTW - The Plasma conked out about a month after the 2 year warranty ran out & I was never really happy with it :( ho hum - that'll learn me for going totally mad when we downsized houses & had 㾼 grand of `spare` cash! (The other 㾷k bought a car which lasted 5 years before being sold for ٠K - blimmin Nissan depreciation!)

Now carless (since August) & much happier (& fitter now that cycle everywhere :))


November 25, 2008, 4:24 am

Yummy ! Want one now !


November 25, 2008, 7:16 pm

This telly is one of those over the top but why not jobs. What makes it so great apart from the picture quality is the sheer size of it. The difference between 50 and 60 is one is a big tv the other is a small cinema :-). When something takes up your peripheral vision it just totally engages you


November 28, 2008, 5:32 am

Is it possible to remove the media reviver box from the equation altogether and connect the screen directly to say htpc using only the display port?

Or is its presence necessary for some functionality?


November 29, 2008, 3:51 am

@ mobies .. no you cannot do that on this model but you can on the monitor only M model which is exactly the same screen but no tv tuner or box. I think it has 2 HDMI's in it.

I liked this one better as its more flexible

comments powered by Disqus