Philips SHE9850 Noise Isolating Earphones - Philips SHE9850

By Hugo Jobling


  • Recommended by TR
Philips SHE9850 Noise Isolating Earphones


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Right out of the packaging, Philips has created a bundle that you wouldn't be disappointed to see with a pair of earphones costing three or four times the price. Unlike Shure's or Klipsch's simple zipped cases, Philips goes a step further by offering a solid-feeling metal case with a slide-out tray into which you clip the earphones and wrap the cable around in a similar fashion to the Sleek Audio SA6's. There's even space for a second set of tips and an ear-wax remover, which will likely prove necessary for most owners.

The earphones themselves look absolutely fantastic. The drivers are contained in a metal housing that sits in a clear plastic outer surround. The effect of this is twofold: first, aesthetically, it's a fantastic look on par with, if not exceeding, that of the Klipsch Images. If you believe Philips this design also adds an extra layer of isolation between the driver and the outside world helping reduce vibration that could distort the earphones' sound output.

Certainly the SHE9850's do a fine job in minimising cable noise, that annoying 'thudding' sound made by the earphones' cable hitting against you when moving. This is further helped by the inclusion of a clip that holds the cable against, say, a lapel or collar.

External noise isolation comes courtesy of a variety of tips for the SHE9850's. In addition to three different sized silicone fittings, Philips has followed Shure's lead and included a set of foam tips too. Comprised of two short cylinders of memory foam these are used in the usual squash, put in your ear, wait a few seconds for them to expand, manner. Unlike the foam Shure uses, however, Philips' is much softer on the inner ear and once inserted you really can forget you're wearing the SHE9850's - a result of this highly comfortably fit and the earphones' overall lightness.

It may seem like I'm harping on about the design a bit much, but it really is that notable. Small things add up to an overall satisfyingly complete whole, such as using metal sheathes for the 3.5mm jack, the robust join where the 'Y' of the cables branches to each ear, and the addition of three raised dots on the left earphone to distinguish it from the right one by touch alone. Ok, so differentiating left from right is possible with Shure's earphones too, due to their over-the-ear, angled design, but with these earphones it's an intention, not a by-product, of the design.

Previous page
Next page


June 28, 2008, 3:32 pm

How they compare to CX300 Sennheiser earbuds? It's completely different league in sound quality? I'm very pleased by my CX300's, but looking at their condition, it's finally time to give them a rest and head for an upgrade. This may be the answer though. Thing is - i want more and more, and am i demanding too much from them to play siginificantly better than Sennheiser earbuds?


June 28, 2008, 11:14 pm

I just happened to buy these headphones by fluke the other day, for about 㿠 in Taiwan and they really sound great and are excellent value for money. I haven't used the CX300's, but I think you'll find the Philips to be a couple of steps up.


June 28, 2008, 11:19 pm

Opps, got that wrong, that was the Euro pricing, I actually only paid 㿕 for them. And the headphones have a 3.5mm jack, not a 2.5mm jack as it says in the review... :)


June 29, 2008, 5:36 am

I currently have a thing for Etymotics - particularly the 'ER-4 MicroPro' or 'hf2' for iPhone users particularly with the foam inserts. They're superb for those who like the cleanest possible sound reproduction. If 'mega bass' enhancement is your thing (*shudder*) steer clear though...


August 22, 2008, 1:40 pm

I had a pair of these arrive yesterday. I felt a bit queasy spending quite so much on a pair of tiny earphones but I’ve had good experiences with Philips audio products before so I decided to risk it.

The result was revelatory. I had been using a pair of Sony inner earphones so I’m not comparing these to the awful ones bundled with iPods but the resulting improvement was stunning. Bass lines and cymbal crashes that my cheaper headphones had struggled with (and I thought were evidence of poor compression) were transformed. The design and presentation is every bit as good as the review describes so I’m not going to dwell on that but they are a pleasure to hold and behold. The important point is the sound quality and in this regard they were worth every penny.


August 27, 2008, 6:18 pm

I have a question for Hugo or maybe anyone else that might want to answer my question.

I'm a type of guy who enjoy my creative gigaworks t20 and my grado sr60. I love bass, but i prefer tonal balance more. I definitely don't like my philips hbc HN110 cuz the lack of bass.

so the question, will this SHE9850 satisfy my music preference? thanks in advance...


September 24, 2008, 10:43 am

Just got my SHE9850 today and tested it out.... I don't know if its the design of the rubber tips or my ears, but no matter what, i can't seem to get these earphones to fit right in my ear. I find myself having to put pressure to the earphones against my ears in order to get the full sound quality. Other wise, they hang like any other non in-ear phones making them sound weak...really weak. But i tried on the foam tips and they were the perfect fit. You will noticed the sound quality of these phones the moment the music begins to play. They are truly amazing!


September 24, 2008, 5:49 pm


You were wondering if these earphones fits your taste...besides the SHE9850, I also own a pair of Sennheiser HD-555 and Sony MDR-G42LP, and when testing them using my desktop computer...i thought all three had an even amount of bass. But then again these are the first pair of noise-canceling/in-ear phones ive owned so i don't have much to compare to.

Hope this helps, good luck.

Ash M, B Baba

February 16, 2009, 3:52 pm

Truly amazing - I just gave away my Bose in ear 'phones and replaced them with these 9850s - personally, as a package they sound better than Shure 102s and 110s - though I am no "-phile" just an ordinary Joe - love the depth of sound - only wish they had an extension cord so I could use them when the baby is sleeping in front of the telly.

BTW - any idea how long the damned first gen plasmas last - the boss won't allow a new version until my 6 yr old Hitachi breaks - or will I have to resort to convincing my 18 month old to sprinkle it with milk??? Really want the Kuro 500A dribble dribble slobber slobber....pant! pant!


December 16, 2014, 1:52 pm

Seems like you guys love your Shure monitors a bit too much ;)

comments powered by Disqus