Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Value 9
  • Image Quality 9
  • Sound Quality 9
  • Features 9
  • Design 10

nails

June 9, 2008, 6:07 pm

Damn, I wish I'd waited. I've got an early generation ambilight TV which is excellent but nothing like as stylish as this thing. Good value too. Maybe I can off load mine on e-bay and start again...

Saosin

June 18, 2008, 5:06 am

You should start adding PC output evaluations in each HD set review. I.e. can you output unaltered 1080p signal through HDMI to your Radeon 3450 etc etc.

Mark 1

June 20, 2008, 6:38 pm

I would also be grateful for a section on how a PC performed with each TV (picture/text quality and if it achieves 1:1 Pixel mapping @ 1920x1080.





I know PC's can vary so much but if you refered to a reference PC with a .... graphics card it would give a good indication as to what to expect.





Currently I have to look through forums to piece together how different TV respond to PC use.

Magnus

June 26, 2008, 4:31 pm

Does this TV support 1920x1080 pixelmapping for PC’s?

Magnus

June 26, 2008, 11:49 pm

Dosent look like 7603 has pixelmapping, but 9603 might have.





Philips website says:





7603:


640 x 480, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 800 x𧍘, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60, 70, 75, 85 Hz, Via HDMI-/DVI-inngang,





9603:


640 x 480, 60 Hz, 800 x 600, 60 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60 Hz, 1280 x 768, 60 Hz, 1360 x 768, 60 Hz, 1920 x�i, 60 Hz, 1920 x�p, 60 Hz

Rune1999

July 7, 2008, 11:48 am




I have the 47PFL7603D/10


You must read the user manual!You can download it. Her is a copy from my norwegian.


Yes! The TV support 1920x1080, 60 hz.


• PC-formater


Oppløsning Oppdateringshastighet


640 x 480 60 Hz


800 x 600 60 Hz


1024 x 768 60 Hz


1920 x 1080i 60 Hz


1920 x 1080p 60 Hz

Louis 1

July 11, 2008, 2:40 am

I purchased this tv 2 months ago because it was on sale for $300 USD off. I almost returned it because it didn't have the 120 Htz anti-blur technology that other brands tv's sold in the US have. I searched TR for a review on this unit but couldn't find one. I decided to evaluate it during my 90 day return window.





My evaluation was to simulate some of the viewing tests that some of the reviewers in TR performed on 4 other highly rated brands of tv's. I purchased the DVDs and forwarded to the scenes they used. The color, detail, picture quality, lack of motion blur, and full, rich, undistorted sound have all matched or surpassed the descriptions that TR wrote in the other tv brands reviews. And now after reading a post-hoc TR evaluation of the unit I can confirm John's review is spot on. And despite not having the latest Perfect Pixel or 120 Htz technology this unit easily performs at the top of its class. I'm so glad I didn't return it. Buy this TV.

7oakboy

July 15, 2008, 2:44 pm

I bought this TV and I am really happy with it. However the set had a manufacturing fault, I had it replaced and the replacment TV had exactly the same fault. I contacted Philips "Consumer Care" a number of times to inform them about the manufacturing / production control issue / fault but couldn't get them to take pro-active action, they just kept referring me back to the retailer for a repair or replacement. Well, a third replacement TV again had the same fault, still Philips took no proactive action. It wasn't until I received the fourth TV that I received a fault free TV. The fault in question was that none of the buttons on the side of the TV (power on/off, Menu, Volume, ect) worked.

Kevin Marshall

August 6, 2008, 3:00 pm

Looking at buying this TV but I find that most places that I would like to order from sell the 42PFL7603D/10 (notice the /10 at the end) this only has 3 HDMI ports and unsure what else is different. Can anyone help with this?

KIF

August 20, 2008, 4:54 pm

Is there a possibility that you might review the 32" version of this model (32PFL7603D) or even maybe the 100Hz version (32PFL7403D/12)? I am considering to buy one of these TVs and would like a second opinion. I was lucky to find such a site as this but unfortunately did not have the reviews I was after. Thank you

robwhr

September 9, 2008, 8:30 pm

Please, Please, Please can you review the 37pfl7603. I think this is the model that suits most average size living rooms. I am considering one and I would like to see what others think

comments powered by Disqus