Home / Cameras / Camera / Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 / Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 - Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front angle

Summary

Our Score:

9

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.

----

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 test photo

Here's the usual detail test shot of the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, for you to compare with other cameras. See below for a full res crop, or click to see the whole picture. The downloadable file is approximately 5.0MB.

----

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 test photo

The level of detail is excellent for such a cheap camera.

----

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 test photo

The high quality Leca-branded lens produces almost no wide angle distortion.

----

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 test photo

Centre sharpness is excellent.

----

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 test photo

Corner sharpness is also very good.

----

Sean Groarke

December 20, 2009, 2:06 pm

It'd be interesting to review a Pentax Optio M85 against this. They sell here in France for about 110-120 Euros (I bought one 4 weeks ago) and have a very similar spec to this, plus stuff like spot metering, saturation adjustment, etc. Hell of a camera for the money. Worth comparing.

iamwhoiam

December 20, 2009, 2:47 pm

Great price! Although this Christmas my parents wanted a new basic compact and I bought them the Panasonic FS15...





For £25 extra you get 12Mpix, 5x Zoom, Wide Angle (29mm), 2.7screen. An even better value camera in my opinion.

Uncle Sam

December 23, 2009, 4:39 am

As for comparing the DMC-FS62 to the Pentax Optio M85.


Personally, I would not want to miss a mechanical image stabilization system on a high-megapixel-count digital compact camera again. For me, it makes taking blur-free hand-held photos in not-so-optimal light conditions much easier.

Colin Cook

December 26, 2009, 3:53 am

Hi Cliff, any chance of seeing the back of these cameras? I'd like to know if any of them have a viewfinder. Thanks.

Geoff Richards

December 26, 2009, 3:56 am

Hi Colin - the rear photo is on Page 2. And to answer your question, no, it does not have an optical viewfinder (very few do these days, but the odd model still does)

Barbarian

January 2, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi, I've been trying to compare the FS7 and FS62 and I'm not so sure I can see much a difference. Price for both seem to be similar now. Would you recommend one over the other at all? Many thanks, and Happy NY 2010!

Barbarian

January 2, 2010, 10:26 pm

Further to my previous comment, I'm now wondering whether I should go for the FS15 with the wide angle lens and 12MP as it's only an extra £20?

bribon4

January 5, 2010, 3:45 am

Cliff, I don't have notions of photography, but I've read all your high rating compact camera reviews in the last year. High zoom ratios and HD video are not important to me. I want to buy a compact camera and my objective is double: 1.-Firstable having a trustable camera (I hate shooting photos just for seeing later they had a horrible quality). And 2.-Secondarily not feeling too stupid in a year of two when comparing the price/quality I've paid to the state-of-the art. Do you really think it's worth, for my profile, paying an (Pana FX-60, ZX-1 or TZ-6), or a (FS-62, FS-15) is worth enough? Which of the two groups would you choose if you where on my skin? And within the group which camera exactly? Thanks in advance.

George

March 11, 2010, 4:44 am

Hi Cliff! I read your reviews on Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 (review is excellent! I don`t seen such by russian) and Samsung PL55. But I don`t found review on Samsung PL60. In any case, can you help me in choice between these cameras (DMC-FS62 and PL60)? What do you say about PL60 in brevi? In my hometown PL60=166$, FS62=193$. I would be very much obliged to you. (e-mail: akela.86@mail.ru)


P.S.: Sorry for my english :-)

M A K

August 28, 2010, 12:04 pm

Hi, I have this camera for a month or so, not bad for it's price range the Leica lens is good , if you work your way through white balance and ISO settings one can take a good picture in low light or room light without flash.


Macro shots are also very good, sometimes slow in focus but depends on how one is using it, I'm a viewfinder guy , I have to struggle with LCD views.


I bought this camera by only viewing its review here and I'm not disappointed.


My regards to Cliff Smith for giving a good review.

Pollik

December 18, 2010, 7:29 pm

This such a great review site, but there is at least one thing missing from this review (or I can't find) and for me it is a critical omission - BATTERY LIFE.





I am sure it has moved on from my first/last digital camera back in the 1990's

comments powered by Disqus