Home / Cameras / Camera / Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 / Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 - Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62

By Cliff Smith



  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front angle


Our Score:


User Score:

The control layout is very straightforward, with a D-pad, three buttons and Panasonic's usual slider switches for power and record/playback modes, but instead of the rotary mode dial of more expensive models it has a simple button which cycles through the various shooting modes. The FS62 has both a main menu and an on-screen live menu, and both are well designed to make the camera very easy to use, and all the controls operate quickly and smoothly.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 back

As with most budget compacts the FS62 isn't exactly overloaded with features, and lacks one or two useful refinements including spot metering or colour controls such as saturation, contrast and sharpness adjustment, but on the plus side it does have Intelligent Auto mode with automatic scene recognition, as well as a useful selection of 25 scene mode programs and an option to save your own My Scene Mode program as well.

It's very rare to find a budget camera with anything other than digital image stabilisation, but the FS62 has Panasonic's excellent Mega OIS optical image stabilisation system, although it may be an older version of the system. I found that hand-held shots at shutter speeds as fast as 1/20th of a second were still prone to blurring caused by camera shake.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 side

The LCD monitor is a little small by recent standards at only 2.5 inches, but its 230 resolution is nice and sharp, and it has a very good anti-reflective surface. It does however have a somewhat restricted angle of view, especially when viewed from below, which is annoying if you need to hold the camera above your head, such as when shooting over the heads of a crowd.

The video recording mode is also a bit basic by recent standards but is better than many other budget cameras, shooting at 848 x 480 (WVGA) resolution at 30fps, with clips limited to 15 minutes. As usual with cheaper cameras the optical zoom cannot be used while recording.

Sean Groarke

December 20, 2009, 2:06 pm

It'd be interesting to review a Pentax Optio M85 against this. They sell here in France for about 110-120 Euros (I bought one 4 weeks ago) and have a very similar spec to this, plus stuff like spot metering, saturation adjustment, etc. Hell of a camera for the money. Worth comparing.


December 20, 2009, 2:47 pm

Great price! Although this Christmas my parents wanted a new basic compact and I bought them the Panasonic FS15...

For £25 extra you get 12Mpix, 5x Zoom, Wide Angle (29mm), 2.7screen. An even better value camera in my opinion.

Uncle Sam

December 23, 2009, 4:39 am

As for comparing the DMC-FS62 to the Pentax Optio M85.

Personally, I would not want to miss a mechanical image stabilization system on a high-megapixel-count digital compact camera again. For me, it makes taking blur-free hand-held photos in not-so-optimal light conditions much easier.

Colin Cook

December 26, 2009, 3:53 am

Hi Cliff, any chance of seeing the back of these cameras? I'd like to know if any of them have a viewfinder. Thanks.

Geoff Richards

December 26, 2009, 3:56 am

Hi Colin - the rear photo is on Page 2. And to answer your question, no, it does not have an optical viewfinder (very few do these days, but the odd model still does)


January 2, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi, I've been trying to compare the FS7 and FS62 and I'm not so sure I can see much a difference. Price for both seem to be similar now. Would you recommend one over the other at all? Many thanks, and Happy NY 2010!


January 2, 2010, 10:26 pm

Further to my previous comment, I'm now wondering whether I should go for the FS15 with the wide angle lens and 12MP as it's only an extra £20?


January 5, 2010, 3:45 am

Cliff, I don't have notions of photography, but I've read all your high rating compact camera reviews in the last year. High zoom ratios and HD video are not important to me. I want to buy a compact camera and my objective is double: 1.-Firstable having a trustable camera (I hate shooting photos just for seeing later they had a horrible quality). And 2.-Secondarily not feeling too stupid in a year of two when comparing the price/quality I've paid to the state-of-the art. Do you really think it's worth, for my profile, paying an (Pana FX-60, ZX-1 or TZ-6), or a (FS-62, FS-15) is worth enough? Which of the two groups would you choose if you where on my skin? And within the group which camera exactly? Thanks in advance.


March 11, 2010, 4:44 am

Hi Cliff! I read your reviews on Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 (review is excellent! I don`t seen such by russian) and Samsung PL55. But I don`t found review on Samsung PL60. In any case, can you help me in choice between these cameras (DMC-FS62 and PL60)? What do you say about PL60 in brevi? In my hometown PL60=166$, FS62=193$. I would be very much obliged to you. (e-mail: akela.86@mail.ru)

P.S.: Sorry for my english :-)


August 28, 2010, 12:04 pm

Hi, I have this camera for a month or so, not bad for it's price range the Leica lens is good , if you work your way through white balance and ISO settings one can take a good picture in low light or room light without flash.

Macro shots are also very good, sometimes slow in focus but depends on how one is using it, I'm a viewfinder guy , I have to struggle with LCD views.

I bought this camera by only viewing its review here and I'm not disappointed.

My regards to Cliff Smith for giving a good review.


December 18, 2010, 7:29 pm

This such a great review site, but there is at least one thing missing from this review (or I can't find) and for me it is a critical omission - BATTERY LIFE.

I am sure it has moved on from my first/last digital camera back in the 1990's

comments powered by Disqus