• Recommended by TR
Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front angle


Our Score


User Score


  • Excellent value
  • Very compact
  • Metal construction
  • Optical image stabilisation
  • Decent image quality


  • Slightly small screen
  • Basic video recording
  • Slightly slow autofocus
  • Mediocre flash

Review Price free/subscription

Key Features: All metal body; 10.1 megapixel; 4x zoom lens; Video recording; 2.5in screen

Manufacturer: Panasonic

There are many digital cameras available for less than £100, but very few of them are worth buying. Most have badly-made plastic bodies, low quality lenses, slow and clumsy performance and worse image quality than some mobile phone cameras. At this price level even models from well-known brands are best avoided. Rather than buying the cheapest camera you can find, it's usually a better idea to save up another £30-40 and get something that's actually worth having.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front angle

While this is a good rule of thumb, like all rules there are one or two exceptions, and some of them are quite surprising. Panasonic has a well-earned reputation for making some of the best digital cameras you can buy, but it has a parallel and equally well-deserved reputation for those cameras being very expensive. However at the bottom of Panasonic's compact camera range we find the Lumix DMC-FS62, featuring a 10.1-megapixel sensor, a high quality Leica 4x zoom lens complete with optical image stabilisation, and a decent 2.5-inch monitor screen all wrapped in an attractive and durable all-metal body. It has the kind of performance you'd expect from a top-of-the-range model, with image quality to match, but costs as little as £100 from some online retailers.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front

Most budget cameras look cheap, but the overall design of the FS62 is, at first glance at least, almost indistinguishable from Panasonic's top-of-the-range consumer compact the £200 DMC-FX60, and it certainly looks and feels a lot more expensive than it actually is. It's a very slim and stylish camera, measuring 97 x 54.4 x 21.2mm and weighing just 136g including battery and memory card, making it an ideal companion for social snapshot photography.

Next page

Sean Groarke

December 20, 2009, 2:06 pm

It'd be interesting to review a Pentax Optio M85 against this. They sell here in France for about 110-120 Euros (I bought one 4 weeks ago) and have a very similar spec to this, plus stuff like spot metering, saturation adjustment, etc. Hell of a camera for the money. Worth comparing.


December 20, 2009, 2:47 pm

Great price! Although this Christmas my parents wanted a new basic compact and I bought them the Panasonic FS15...

For £25 extra you get 12Mpix, 5x Zoom, Wide Angle (29mm), 2.7screen. An even better value camera in my opinion.

Uncle Sam

December 23, 2009, 4:39 am

As for comparing the DMC-FS62 to the Pentax Optio M85.

Personally, I would not want to miss a mechanical image stabilization system on a high-megapixel-count digital compact camera again. For me, it makes taking blur-free hand-held photos in not-so-optimal light conditions much easier.

Colin Cook

December 26, 2009, 3:53 am

Hi Cliff, any chance of seeing the back of these cameras? I'd like to know if any of them have a viewfinder. Thanks.

Geoff Richards

December 26, 2009, 3:56 am

Hi Colin - the rear photo is on Page 2. And to answer your question, no, it does not have an optical viewfinder (very few do these days, but the odd model still does)


January 2, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi, I've been trying to compare the FS7 and FS62 and I'm not so sure I can see much a difference. Price for both seem to be similar now. Would you recommend one over the other at all? Many thanks, and Happy NY 2010!


January 2, 2010, 10:26 pm

Further to my previous comment, I'm now wondering whether I should go for the FS15 with the wide angle lens and 12MP as it's only an extra £20?


January 5, 2010, 3:45 am

Cliff, I don't have notions of photography, but I've read all your high rating compact camera reviews in the last year. High zoom ratios and HD video are not important to me. I want to buy a compact camera and my objective is double: 1.-Firstable having a trustable camera (I hate shooting photos just for seeing later they had a horrible quality). And 2.-Secondarily not feeling too stupid in a year of two when comparing the price/quality I've paid to the state-of-the art. Do you really think it's worth, for my profile, paying an (Pana FX-60, ZX-1 or TZ-6), or a (FS-62, FS-15) is worth enough? Which of the two groups would you choose if you where on my skin? And within the group which camera exactly? Thanks in advance.


March 11, 2010, 4:44 am

Hi Cliff! I read your reviews on Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 (review is excellent! I don`t seen such by russian) and Samsung PL55. But I don`t found review on Samsung PL60. In any case, can you help me in choice between these cameras (DMC-FS62 and PL60)? What do you say about PL60 in brevi? In my hometown PL60=166$, FS62=193$. I would be very much obliged to you. (e-mail:

P.S.: Sorry for my english :-)


August 28, 2010, 12:04 pm

Hi, I have this camera for a month or so, not bad for it's price range the Leica lens is good , if you work your way through white balance and ISO settings one can take a good picture in low light or room light without flash.

Macro shots are also very good, sometimes slow in focus but depends on how one is using it, I'm a viewfinder guy , I have to struggle with LCD views.

I bought this camera by only viewing its review here and I'm not disappointed.

My regards to Cliff Smith for giving a good review.


December 18, 2010, 7:29 pm

This such a great review site, but there is at least one thing missing from this review (or I can't find) and for me it is a critical omission - BATTERY LIFE.

I am sure it has moved on from my first/last digital camera back in the 1990's

comments powered by Disqus