Home » TVs & Audio » Surround Sound System » Onkyo TX-SR607 AV Receiver

Onkyo TX-SR607 AV Receiver review



  • Recommended by TR
Onkyo TX-SR607 AV Receiver


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

After dishing out our award for Best Home Cinema Product of 2008 to Onkyo's phenomenal TX-NR906, we were extra keen to find out what the company had in store for its next generation of AV receivers. And at the company's recent press launch at Fawsley Hall, we discovered that the new range is shaping up to be even better than the last, boasting more mind-blowing tricks than a magic show.

A group of four budget to mid-range receivers is being launched this side of the summer, with a few high-end models due out later in the year. Heading up the first wave is the TX-SR607, a 7.2-channel receiver that musters a mighty 140W per channel and counts Dolby's revolutionary new Pro Logic IIz processing among its generous features (for more on the latest range see Andy's news story).

Our first impressions after pulling it out of the box are favourable if not mind-blowing. The black finish and boxy shape are par for the course, but Onkyo has made some practical improvements to the front panel arrangement of last year's TX-SR607, making it a lot clearer and easier to use if you don't have the remote to hand.

The improvements are subtle but effective - the display window is wider, the volume dial is larger and the setting buttons have been blended discreetly into the space just below the display window. Also on the front panel is a useful set of connections, including HDMI, composite and stereo audio inputs, a 3.5mm input for portable audio players, a headphones output and a port for the setup microphone.

Around the back the SR607 is teeming with connections, and it's particularly generous when it comes to HDMI ports. There are no less than five v1.3 inputs (all of which support Deep Colour, x.v.Colour and Lip Sync) taking the total to six, plus the output passes 1080p video signals on to your TV - all of which is great news if you've got loads of HDMI-equipped kit but only a couple of inputs on your display.

The SR607 even sports video upscaling for standard-definition sources connected to the component or composite inputs, and although it only goes up to 1080i the on-board deinterlacing chip with Faroudja DCDi Edge enhancement should still ensure top-notch picture quality.

Component video switching is also possible with two inputs and one output, plus there are four assignable digital audio inputs (two optical, two coaxial); six sets of stereo audio inputs and two outputs; four composite video inputs and two outputs; stereo line-out for Zone 2 use; two subwoofer pre-outs and Remote Interactive (RI) for controlling other Onkyo components using the receiver's remote.

Finally, using the Universal Port you can connect optional Onkyo devices such as an iPod/iPhone dock (UP-A1) and a DAB+ radio tuner (UP-DT1). The nine pairs of binding posts are banana plug compatible and the surround back/front height terminals can be used for bi-amping speakers.

Next page


April 28, 2009, 1:55 am

6 AV receivers reviewed so far and 5 recommended and 1 editor's choice award. Guess there aren't any bad receivers out there :D


April 28, 2009, 3:42 am

And only one Panasonic amongst them :) Maybe, TR only pick the good ones to review :? Most of the six seem to be Onkyo, which are pretty good from my experience. I'm thinking of getting the Onkyo TX-SR507 to replace my TX-SR674E in a few months time. I hope it's as good as it's big brother.

Danny P

April 28, 2009, 7:50 pm

The ones we've been sent just happen to be good! Onkyo make damn fine receivers and it's not for nothing that their kit's flying off the shelves. We'll try and get some other brands in and see how they compare.


April 29, 2009, 8:35 am

The SR607 is rated at 90w per channel, not 140w as stated in the article.


April 29, 2009, 9:19 am

does this display volume on the TV for all inputs? I'm assuming since it doesn't upscale to 1080p it wouldn't display volume onscreen for a 1080p source.

Aero 1

April 29, 2009, 5:38 pm

TR, I was heavily considering a 'Sony STR-DA2400ES' after several weeks of research but I may hold another month just to see if Sony can better it. But I like this TX-SR607 will have to decide on the '1080i upscaling limitation' I don't think for me the Dolby Pro Logic IIz is a sell yet, I tend to stick w/ 5.1 speakers (Jamo A102HCS5).

Plus I'm in the 𧺬 range of receivers here, mid range user.

JB 1

April 30, 2009, 6:09 pm

I'd like to ask about the 1080i issue. If I buy a 607 I'll be connecting a blu-ray player and Virgin Media V+ box to it by hdmi to a 42 inch 1080p LCD. I may also from time to time connect a Wii or a PS2.

I've got two questions:

1) What will be the impact of 1080i to me

2) If my BD player does not support DTS-HD Master Audio will the Onkyo resolve that



April 30, 2009, 8:23 pm

edmunny: where do you take your source from ? Onkyo shows 140W/channel on their web site : http://www.eu.onkyo.com/ir_img...


for 1) The impact of i or p is not obvious in a SD movie plus if you have a 42" screen at normal distance I don't think it will be obvious. Anyway with full HD source from BD player, it should not upscale the signal and therefore if your player can handle 1080p, you would get a 1080p signal on the output.

for 2) I don't think so ! sorry but I believe the DTS-HD cannot be processed if your player is not compatible. I actually doubt that any AV-Reveiver could do it anyway.


May 10, 2009, 4:17 am

Is it true that the European model has binding posts for all speakers, but the US model has these clip things for the zone 2 speakers? If so, why would Onkyo do this?

John 32

May 11, 2009, 2:50 pm

@ JB: The upscaler on the 607 works from analogue sources only, that means that it will upscale your Wii or PS2 from the RCA connections (or component). It will not upscale a source connected to HDMI which will pass the signal on 'as is'. It is also worth noting that you can control what is upscaled and what is not per input.

For number 2, as long as your BD player can bitstream the source out (this means just pass the data that is on the disc out to the amp) then the amp will in fact decode DTS-HS, the 607 can decode all available formats for films, so it is not necessary that your BD player do this.

@ Staf, yes this is true, the 607 has binding posts for all speakers including the front height/zone 2 speakers, but only on the european models. I'm not sure why though lol.

Hope this helps


May 13, 2009, 8:55 pm

John: Yes it does, not that it is a big disaster, but it does add a little more value!

James 14

May 21, 2009, 12:32 am

What I would like to see is less cheerleading and a better pro / con analysis of the receiver. I can not beleive that a $700 receiver is all 9's. Where does that leave the high end receivers. It would be also nice to see the receivers rated in separate classes. By this is mean rate all receivers in the $300 range against each other. Likewise all the receivers in the $700 range are rate only against each other. This would give myself and others who read this this site a much better idea of where and how much money to spend on home theater components.

Thanks for the reviews.


August 18, 2010, 4:24 pm

I live in the US and recently (6/2010)treated myself to the Onkyo TX SR608 mated to Polk 705 and I got 2 Monitor70s for 7.1 for my avid dvd, blu ray , and old cinema type movies. I like the 'cliffhanger' weekly series types from the late 30s and 40s , particularly the ones which have been restored so there is good 2channel and often some basic stereo in them. I have the big floor standing Monitor70s I can use with the sub woofer for my older jazz cd collection to get excellent 2.1 or 3 channel,however it is defined, stereo and my old 50s to 70s rock and roll.

I was totally knocked out by all this power from the one box. The last time I bought my 'stereo' system there were no such things as dvds though there was the early laser discs tech around not much was available. I had vinyl and the new sensation- cd. I did lots of taping to reel to reel from live and broadcast stuff. Dolby filtering was new and removed as much good as it did static and scratch.

I can not laud accolades of praise for this Onkyo a/v. It was incredibly easy to learn, there is some curve because it provides so many options. Not only among the kinds of simulation from 2 channels, 1 channel to 5.1, 6, 7.1, 7.2 possibilities but to be able to setup default initial settings for each device and the 'last valid' catch all for the initial sense of being totally overwhelmed the first time around the 'set up' button.

My first exposure to the set up, audyssey eq2 and the new thx settings confused and angered me with frustration. I was able to learn it , install, adjust and use it with ease. I had ancient experiences setting up band equipment original MXR from late 60s and screwing together sound boards with oscilloscopes. This stuff was so easy and the sounds are so clear I couldnt believe it at first. I thought I would push one button and lose it all but they have made it idiot proof.All from the remote and the osd is fantastic the instruction booklet is useful as well.

I gathered the us version is like the tiawanese version and both different from the european designs slightly with some audio and/or radio functions.

I am able to make what i use in fm, cable digital tv, we finally have broadcast HD tv and I can get that as well. The Faroudija chip tech is way over my head in terms of capability but it does do what it says, i had to google it to get a handle on what it was.

I was able to get an extremely low price on it through NewEgg and it is called the TX SR608 7.2 a/v receiver. It does everything the review here states this 607 does but I think it has a capacity for a single back channel and/or for 2 sub woofers. Not sure on the differences but am sure on the things that are the same and I agree totally. I am writing this ,only because I saw it on NewEgg for some current sale and I use this every day with my netflix, bd player, cable digital tv hdmi 1.3 or 1.4 whichever gets used by the 5870v2 gpu or the blu ray discs. sound is clear and separation is great particularly on the old stuff that was only 1channel originally and now can get split up through all speakers though i usually use the all speaker stereo option.

it is great, i can have it as simple or as specific as I am able to configure it. I have already grown into some parts of it. I had the Audyssey mic for a month before i figured out what it was for. All I had to do was plug it in and read the screen prompts.

At my age, the hardest part was identifying the terminals and connections on the back due to focal length of reading glasses and getting close or far enough away to get proper focus.

This was categorized as 'entry level high end' in our oxymoronic times and it does convey some idea of what it does and that it does not cost much in relative terms.

It is full featured even new technology at bargain prices. This is a great opportunity to get a good brand with future thinking features at a reasonable price. This doesnt happen all the time. Particularly for this because it was a great value at the normal retail pricing structures available at the various outlets

comments powered by Disqus