Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia X6 32GB

Nokia X6 32GB review

Niall Magennis

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

User Score:

It’s taken a long time but manufacturers finally seem to be cottoning on to the idea that resistive screens simply don’t cut it when it comes to touch input. After holding out in the resistive camp for far too long Nokia now seems to have come to its senses with the X6, as this is the company’s first mobile phone to use a capacitive display.

We’re glad to report that the wait has been worth it, but there’s much more to the X6 than just its fancy screen, as this phone also slots into Nokia’s 'Comes with Music' range so you get a 12-month all-you-can-eat subscription to Nokia’s music service. And what’s more, Nokia has equipped the handset with a mammoth 32GB of storage to make sure you can take full advantage of all those downloadable tracks.

At first glance, the Nokia X6 looks more like a traditional candy bar handset than a full blown touchscreen phone as it measures 111 x 51 x 13.8mm and its display is a good deal narrower than most other touch devices. The advantage of this is that it’s more comfortable to hold in your hand than wider models like the iPhone, HTC Hero or even Nokia’s own N900, but naturally it also compromises those features that perform better on wider screens, such as the web browser. Perhaps surprisingly for a higher-end Nokia, the handset feels a little plasticky. The main culprit here is the rather flimsy battery cover, but without that issue the phone’s torso still twists and creaks a bit more than we would have liked. On the design front, the phone certainly hasn’t been blessed with supermodel looks, but it’s no ugly duckling either.

Nokia has added some nice touches here and there to try to make the X6 stand out from the crowd, such as the green flashes on the top and bottom of the phone as well as a touch button to the right of the Nokia logo that calls up a shortcut bar to commonly used apps like the music player and web browser. As this is a touchscreen phone there aren’t all that many physical buttons dotted about. The power button at the top is kept company by the volume rocker switch, lock slider and camera button on the right hand side, but apart from the usual call control and menu keys on the front everything else is controlled by the excellent capacitive touchscreen.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Kieran

December 31, 2009, 6:12 am

Well i quite like the look of that phone but could you actually recommend it to me?





Im a student so i am not loaded with cash.





Im more interested in a music phone than anything else, i have always had Sony Ericsson, got a w910i atm but it's useless crashes every day a couple of times and gets very annoying. I have also had enough of the headphones, decent but hard to come by as im still using their own design and not a standard jack. Kinda annoying actually as i manage to break headphones more than anyone i know.





Looking into the iPhone but it's far to expensive for how few mins and texts i would get, so any thoughts atm?

pinkllama

December 31, 2009, 8:20 am

if you're looking for a phone to mainly play music on, i'd go for the nokia 5530. basically the x6 without gps, 3g, capacitive screen and lessor camera.





its more than 3x cheaper and fantastic as an mp3 player

SpiderJacek

December 31, 2009, 12:14 pm

Or Nokia 5800 - it's basically the x6 without capacitive screen, lesser camera and only 8GB of memory (but you can use 16GB card instead). And 5800 has GPS/3G/3.5mm jack. Read TR's 5800 review and my comment to it.

SRS

December 31, 2009, 2:45 pm

@Kieran: if you're looking for a phone to mainly play music on, I'd continue looking at the iPhone; although you mention the expense, if you can find the funds, it's still the best music phone out there by far. I think Nokia is a bit of a spent force now.

Stelph

December 31, 2009, 4:31 pm

Im very happily using the Nokia 5630 xpressmusic phone at the moment and would recommend it to everyone. Its very small and slim (112 x 46 x 12 mm) runs symbian 60 V3 so is a smartphone with the ovi store, has a proper keypad for fast one handed texting, 3.5mm headphone jack and dedicated music buttons, microSD slot, wifi that can be used with Jokiuspot (google it) so I can use it a wireless router for my Ipod Touch, and a solid 3.15mb camera with dual LED flashes that work well in low light conditions. Plus its only £159 new and simfree from Play.com





http://www.play.com/Mobiles/Mo...





Currently my perfect phone, just need Nokia to eventually update it with a better camera, better battery ect (you know the score) worryingly tho it seems that Nokia are moving towards touchscreen phones and leaving the standard one behind! Nooooo! I cant text one handed (and anywhere near as fast) on a touchscreen!

Kieran

December 31, 2009, 6:43 pm

@SRS: that's what i am currently doing, hopeing they will increase minutes and texts across each network throughout the beginning of the year, with Tesco and Vodafone offering more than O2 and Orange hopefully it will spark a tariff was even if the prices stay the same.





If i go for an iPhone i will wait till the 4th model in June

Jay4d0

December 31, 2009, 6:57 pm

@ Kieran: a 16Gb iphone 3gs is the same price as this on pay and go and comes with 12 months free data.





personally I wouldnt get an iPhone whereas the ipod touch is the best mp3 player arround the iphone is nowhere near the best phone (you can't even send or recieve anything via bluetooth from another phone), I used to think it was pretty good but now I just think it's nothing more than an expensive toy and needs to mature in functionality a lot.

Ed

December 31, 2009, 8:19 pm

@jay: It strikes me as a bit much to say the iPod touch is the best mp3 and the iPhone fundamentally flawed. They both have major issues and It very much depends on what you prioritise as to whether one's good or not. Personally, if I were to buy a dedicated mp3 player I'd want better sound quality and a smaller device.

scotw

December 31, 2009, 8:27 pm

My wife has the 5530 which uses the same operating system. In a £100+ phone, its perfectly fine, even quite good. But, in a £400 phone, then the iphone or an Android-based phone would make more sense methinks. Symbian just hasn't caught up with the fully touch-based OS's yet.

ffrankmccaffery

December 31, 2009, 8:39 pm

I'd concur with the Ed when he suggests buying a separate mp3 player. The additional advantage of such being that you don't have the constant problem of rationing the use of each function in order to preserve the battery life.

Sleeper

December 31, 2009, 11:58 pm

Get a 5800. It's way cheaper than the iPhone and has a better sound. For the money it's a difficult one to beat and the battery is pretty good.

InducedChalice

January 2, 2010, 11:22 pm

Its a shame that a handset with great promise turns out quite poor.


While the capacitive screen looks good in the specs, Nokia's S60 software hasnt used it to its full potential: no multitouch gestures, still uses a lock switch instead of an onscreen one, you still have to drag a scrollbar for lists!?





Its simply the 5800 again (good phone) with a capacitive screen. The S60 OS really kills this phone's potential and Nokia really need to improve or replace it as nowadays, a premium phone without multitouch etc. is just not good enough.





Its not worth the £400+ price tag in my opinion, might as well get the HD2.

pinkllama

January 3, 2010, 5:26 am

i agree with scotw.





i find S60 touch fine on my 5530, especially after the recent firmware upgrade that fixed loads of bugs.





but for £450 i'd be sorely disappointed with the OS.





for an extra £350 you get a 3.2" capacitive screen, 3G, GPS and a 5mp camera.





it has the same processor and RAM as the 5530 as well.





all said, i can see the X6 selling well in the near future on dirt cheap monthly contracts(as the 5800 is doing), when retailers realize that they can't sell it as a premium product.

sonisoe

January 3, 2010, 4:34 pm

typical nokia.... pricey... have they learned that competitors are catching up.....real fast and they're no longer at the fore-front...

Rickysio

January 3, 2010, 7:56 pm

@InducedChalice





Lock switch is for choice - you can lock your phone using the screen itself.


Would think that 99% of the people would find it a much more convenient method of locking the screen, since it is instantly accessible.





And as for multitouch - I don't see the big deal about it. I have an iPod Touch and a SE Xperia (Any geek worth their salt should know that one supports MT and the other doesn't.) and I never wished the Xperia had a multitouch screen (Certainly a flush screen perhaps, but that's irrelevant to multitouch.) so much that it becomes a negative. Double tap to zoom - how hard can it be?

Hands0n

March 17, 2010, 10:56 am

@Kieran - you wouldn't go wrong with an iPhone. The nay-sayers wouldn't have it if it were given to them anyway so don't listen to the negatives. It is a very capable device in all ways. You won't miss the lack of BT file transfer unless you actually NEED it, which probably 99.999% of people don't. It would be insane to eschew the iPhone for that alone. Sound quality is excellent for on the move, out and about. If I want to listen to HiFi I use my 1,000 watt sound system at home!





Don't like Apple? Then go take a closer look at the Android crowd, there is an ever growing choice. The Google Nexus One is a superb touchscreen handset and with many media player apps available if you don't like the built-in. I have both and it is difficult to actually decide which is "better", they're different, but damn good.





Nokia are trying too hard with Symbian S60 and turning out rubbish like the X6 and the N97 before it. It is encouraging they've finally started to use capacitive touchscreens, but will they extend it across the range or is this just an experiment?





Seriously, if anyone is considering spending £400 on a SIM-free handset there are plenty of much better alternatives out there than the Nokia X6.





Nokia a spent force? I don't think so. Not yet. But if they don't up their game significantly they may well find themselves marginalised in {at least} the smartphone market.

twisted2

May 2, 2010, 4:01 pm

As the 32 gig device was reviewed I will be applying my comments to that phone. The iphone at the size costs more than the Nokia X6. I and other buyers love music, one of reasons to buy this phone. My daughter and son have spent a bomb in the itune store. I have downloaded 476 top songs from the Nokia music store---free free. In itunes that would be about 468 pounds. I have downloaded 17 albums, cost in itunes about 60 pound-ish. I now have a phone that has easily paid for itself. NO it is not expensive, its just you are failing to factor in the cost of songs as is convenient to undermine phone that way. Plus I don`t have that autocrat Steve Jobs telling me what I can and cannot put on my phone. I owned an iphone on tesco mobile but was distinctly unimpressed with what I was actually ALLOWED to do with it.

comments powered by Disqus