Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » Nokia 6700 Classic » Nokia 6700 Classic

Nokia 6700 Classic - Nokia 6700 Classic

By Sandra Vogel


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

There is 170MB of memory in the handset and my review sample came with a 1GB microSD card to boost that further. So there is quite a bit of music storage space out of the box. The microSD card slot is on the left side of the casing, and you need to remove the backplate to get to it.

Everything isn't rosy for music fans though. The one-piece headset connects to the phone via microUSB and that slot is awkwardly placed on the bottom of the casing. This slot is also used for charging via your PC as well as PC connection, so during those activities the headset is redundant. However, Nokia does provide one of its mini-jacked mains power connectors located on the bottom edge of the handset.

This is an HSDPA phone and it supports downlinks to 10Mbps. You won't find a network offering that in the UK, so it's nothing to get too excited about at the moment. But you should get the maximum your operator offers wherever you find yourself. The uplink is capped at 2Mbps.

GPS is built in, with A-GPS support. Nokia Maps is pre-installed and I added Google Maps quickly and easily. It is a real pity that the 6700 Classic's gamut of services does not include Wi-Fi. Without it, any phone is really hampered these days and even in a mid-range phone like this one, its absence grates.

One of the uses of Wi-Fi is web browsing, and even if the 6700 came with it, you'd probably not fancy doing that too often. The Nokia browser isn't superb and there's no accelerometer to take advantage of a landscape view with automatic screen rotation. Opera Mini is pre-installed and gives a much better experience but on this phone's small screen, it still isn't great.

The 6700 Classic supports the Ovi store though there was no preconfigured link on my handset. There was a link to the Ovi photo-sharing site if you fancy using that, though there are plenty of other options you can also try, and a Flickr link is pre-installed.

This handset runs S40, by the way. That means you get a fair range of apps but not all the gizmos on offer with S60. The use of the lesser operating system is a sure sign that Nokia is positioning the 6700 Classic as a phone for the less geeky. Still, there are some neat touches, not least the ability to put a short note on the home screen - a reminder to do something urgent, perhaps?

Previous page
Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


August 7, 2009, 1:07 pm

I've had the pleasure of using this phone and I must say it's great! Built quality is fabulous, the camera quality is more than adequate and it is very stylish, this would be perfect for my Mum or Dad! (Both are now on SE's using a C902 and a K850i)


August 7, 2009, 4:00 pm

"It is a real pity that the 6700 Classic's gamut of services does not include Wi-Fi. Without it, any phone is really hampered these days and even in a mid-range phone like this one, its absence grates."



August 7, 2009, 4:19 pm

I'm not really a fan of Sandra's reviews and this is probably the worst she has done for quite some time.

I think she's totally missed the point of this phone. Sandra does know that this is the successor to the 6300 doesn't she?

I own this phone and Sandra attacks this phone for lacking x, y & z but this is firmly a mid-range phone that designed to appeal to all those millions of people who own phones like the 6300 and fancy an upgrade.

I don't understand her complaint about the screen either. It's bigger than the screens on the phones that it replaces (6300 & 6500 classic) and is upto the usual high standard. Was she expected a 2.8" screen on a phone this size?

Also the phone is available for £269.99 from Nokia SIM free and £229 from Play.com, so I am really not sure why she's tried to make the phone sound more expensive than what it is.


August 7, 2009, 4:37 pm

I use to care about WiFi a lot, but these days data add-ons are dirt cheap I can't be bothered any longer. It isn't like I'll be doing torrenting on it.

This is a nice little phone.


August 7, 2009, 6:11 pm

To be honest, with phone companies giving out data plans for free left right and centre, the lack of wi-fi's not a problem. It's not like you're going to be streaming movies on a device like this anyway - the worst it will have to handle is AGPS data and browsing.


August 7, 2009, 6:12 pm

That pricing is way, off, by the way. It's £220 SIM-free.


August 7, 2009, 8:18 pm

Was going to say, that price doesn't sound realistic, considering you can get an E71 for £250 now...

Actually let me repeat that: "You can get an E71 for just £250 now".


August 7, 2009, 8:23 pm

Right you are, I've changed the prices.


August 7, 2009, 9:13 pm

Seeing that the price is actually cheaper than Sandra initially expected, will she be changing the value score?

Jay Werfalli

August 7, 2009, 9:24 pm

The prices that were originally quoted were and still are the current prices listed at the Carphone Warehouse, which Sandra used for this review. But as some of you have pointed out, the 6700 can be found for less elsewhere and so in this case we have changed the prices post publication, something we would not normally do, but we feel was necessary. As a result the value score has been raised by one point.


August 7, 2009, 10:10 pm

It's not just that it can be "found for less elsewhere". I mean, you can find handsets for bargain prices in all cases. The trouble is that £329 was way above even Nokia's launch price for the handset. It's a nonsense price which bears no bearing to the phone's actual cost. Maybe you should use the RRP instead in future? Nokia's consistent about publishing those (in Euros) in its press releases.

Jay Werfalli

August 7, 2009, 10:39 pm

I repeat - we have changed the prices and raised the score. We do quote the ERP or the best price at the time of writing the review from a reputable online retailer, but in this case, we agree, the price was not representative.


August 8, 2009, 12:01 am

It's a nice phone but a bit of an anachronism. The lack of a 3.5mm jack is sloppy as well.


August 8, 2009, 1:05 am

I currently have a 6300 as a work phone, and it's great. I saw the 6700 in the shops, and was thinking of getting one for personal use, so the question is, is this a worthy successor to the 6300?


August 8, 2009, 7:48 am

Yep worthy, 6700 a bit heavy and looks very stylish!


September 12, 2009, 9:20 pm

This is a bit of a departure from my previous handset (Samsung M8800, Pixon) to say the least but I simply couldnt get on with touchscreens any longer, mostly from the texting side of things! I'd also come to the end of the road with Samsung phones. I considered and looked into, at depth, a range of current handsets and plumped for this classy looking Nokia. What have I been doing all this time ?? Nokia(less)!! I havent owned a Nokia since when the 3310 and 3330 were desirable handsets. Plenty out there reading this will know thats a long time ago in mobile terms.

This for me is a very pleasing handset to use AND hold. It feels robust, yet looks elegant and yes, that word again, classy!

The music player is fine and the sound from the external speaker is better than anything ive heard elsewhere by a long way. That said, my only real gripe, considering the music player is really quite decent is its glaring omission of a 3.5 mil jack.

Coming from a 8mp camera based phone in the Pixon I didnt expect too much from the 5 mp camera but was nicely surprised at the quality, outdoor snaps especially.

All in all this is superb phone and a very welcome return to Nokia for me. The simplicity, the build quality, the style and ease of use has won me over.

Do I miss large touchscreens that can freeze or just be unresponsive, encased in all that plastic and are extremely hit & miss when texting?

Does the absence of WI-FI grate??

not for a second!


September 15, 2009, 11:31 pm

my brand new shinny 6700 has terrible reception problems, and seems to have a similar bug i had with nokia a few years back. Many incoming calls go to voice mail, and making some calls struggle and say network busy (city of london, UNLIKELY). The phone also seemed to hang whilst trying to call somebody earlier... its 3 days old and going back to C.W. tomorrow.

Fifty something

January 22, 2010, 12:19 pm

My Nokia 3315 finally died after 6 years trouble free service. Very sad. I bought a Nokia 6700 ten days ago. In the last 10 days it has switched itself off 6 times. I googled it and yes other users have had the same problem. Also the numbers are silver on a silver background. They sometimes light up white for a while but not for long. To switch off a computer you hit the "start" button. To switch on the Nokia 6700 it's like a computer - you hold the "off" key. Nice camera but hey I just wanted a phone that is intuitive to operate and works reliably. Not impressed so far. They have taken it back. I hope they can fix it.


January 28, 2010, 4:41 am

I have had the Nokia 6700 classic for 6 hours and it already has a screen problem. It looks to me like the screen has cracked, for no apparent reason. I will of course be returning this phone to the shop, Phones 4 U, I will of course give a full account of how I get on, good or bad.


May 1, 2010, 3:04 am

Sorry for taking so long to give my account of what happend, I took it back to phones for you and they said "sorry about this" and promtly replaced it with a new one. The reason I took so long to update was I have had no trouble since, and like everything you only really start looking at web sites when you have a problem ! and I am happy with this phone, the camera itself is great and of course like all Nokias, they are so easy to use.


June 28, 2010, 8:51 pm

I received a Nokia 6700 about 10 weeks as part of a deal to switch the 3G operator.

It has been a disaster. Battery life is between 30 and 40 hours even with little or no usage. "Error in connection" has been a peristant problem in making calls and I receieving calls directly intio voicemail without ring the phone. There are oftern 3 bars on the signal bar when the above happens. Have I got a dud or has anyone else had this problem and if so what did you do to resolve? 3 have replaced the internal phone circuitry and have changed th SIM card but it is still the same. They also tell me that the area that I live in has excellent reception. Im on the point of returning to O2 operator and using my old Nokia 3109 classic.


July 30, 2010, 1:26 pm

I have owned one these pieces of rubbish for three months. It has spent two thirds of the time back with the supplier, O2, who fortunately have been helpful. A list of faults:

Turns itself off without warning.

Ear piece works very intermittently.

Memory loses contacts.

Battery life is non-existent at about 20 hours WITHOUT use, although I suspect an O2 fast charge may be at fault.

I cannot recommend this phone at all. I have previously owned six Nokia phones but no more.

Helena Watkins

September 3, 2010, 4:50 pm

I received a Nokia 6700 as part of a switch to a new 'business' contract with 3. The first one failed because the backlight went on the screen within two months. The second developed the most awful fault regarding Voicemail that you can imagine. I missed a call, which resulted in a voicemail message and the usual text message to tell me about this. I listened to the voicemail message, deleted it and the text message, but the phone continued to send me the text message randomly to tell me about this 'phantom' voicemail. The network tried to clear the problem and appeared to have done so, only for it to happen again after a fortnight. When I reverted to my old handset - the Mokia 6500 Slider I had no such problems. I am still waiting to the company that arranged the contract to respond to my second letter asking for a reliable replacement - the Network insist they can only supply another 6700, which I have refused to use - well would you want the risk of phantom text messages in the early hours of the morning when you are asleep?

William John Bates

November 25, 2013, 2:24 pm

I have a Nokia 6700, which has worked incredibly well! However it died a few days ago & on switching on, will only show a weak backlight & will do nothing else. I have a lot of phone contacts on the phone, which I cannot afford to lose, there are a few photos on there as well, which I would like to retrieve, if possible. Is there a way of getting into the phone to retrieve these relevant items, one last time. I have a new phone as part of my new contract, but could really do with retrieving the information.

Thank you for any help given.


June 30, 2015, 8:01 pm

after purchasing this phone i have found out that you cant connect jack cable to use headphone with it ......which means you cant use radio ........so why that app is in there ......huh

comments powered by Disqus