Home » Cameras » Camera » Nikon CoolPix S710 » Test Shots - Exposure Evaluation

Nikon CoolPix S710 - Test Shots - Exposure Evaluation

By Cliff Smith
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

7/10

User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Here are some general test shots to help evaluate the camera's overall image quality, including the zoom range of the lens. Some pictures may be clicked to download the full size original image

----

The wide angle end of the zoom range is equivalent to 28mm, good for general snapshots.

----

The telephoto end is equivalent to 101mm, which is actually shorter than most 3x zoom compacts.

----

The dynamic range is very limited, with both highlights and shadow areas lacking detail in this high-contrast shot.

----

Applying the D-Lighting option to the above image in playback mode recovers some shadow detail, but also adds a lot of noise. It does nothing for the burned-out highlights.

----

Colours are a bit muted, but to be fair it was a cloudy day.

----

Low light focusing is fast and accurate, and the powerful flash fills a large room easily. The band is called Barbossa, and they're fantastic. Check them out if you get the chance.

----

Scores In Detail

Value
5/10
Image Quality
7/10
Build Quality
9/10

Our Score

7/10

User Score

Previous page

Beaky69

December 10, 2008, 6:34 pm

Is 'chromatic abberation' the same as purple fringing in high-contrast areas of the image? If so, the photo showing corner-sharpness shows plenty of it! (unless it's a compression artefact?).

Ed

December 10, 2008, 6:52 pm

Chromatic aberration is a general term for various colour altering effects that can occur due to a poor lens. One of which is purple fringeing and, yes, there is some in that photo. Not a lot though.

theimer

December 10, 2008, 9:50 pm

As far as I know, while looking very similar, purple fringing and chromatic aberration are competely different phenomena. Purple fringing is a sensor-based effect, caused by a charge overload leaking from one CCD-element to its neighbouring ones. On the other hand, chromatic aberration is in fact a optics-related effect, caused by different refractions of the different colours of light passing the lens.

AndyfromVA

December 11, 2008, 2:40 am

What a crummy camera. I think your scores are too kind. I'd give it a 4 for image quality, value and overall.

Cliff Smith

December 12, 2008, 12:22 am

Here's a tutorial I wrote on chromatic aberration: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

reflux

March 20, 2009, 9:25 pm

Im interested in this camera and was wondering if you anyone knows anythin about the shutter priority mode. Usually nikons have a 'firework show' mode, which at night you can take a pic of fireworks or cars on a motorway at a low shutter speed of 4secs.





So i wanted to know if you can set the shutter priority on this camera for use during the day and at night? And what is the longest time the shutter will stay open for?

john somer

July 8, 2010, 5:12 am

We purchased this camera 08.11.2008.from Harvey Norman computer Super store aspley QLD Australia. My Wife taken about 50 photos the photos quality was excellent. June 2010 she wanted to take a photo of our Great grand Child and find the camera inoperable, showing a message "lens error" i returned the camera to the Store where I been told "have to pay $49 for estimate and what ever is the repair cost. I have contacted NIKON, where I been told "the repair would cost over $200 for a camera used only 6 to 7 Times taking about 50 photos. Thank you Nikon. Thank you Harvey Norman.

comments powered by Disqus