Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Motorola Milestone / Motorola Milestone

Motorola Milestone - Motorola Milestone

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis



  • Recommended by TR
Motorola Milestone


Our Score:


User Score:

Another key selling point of the Milestone is the fact it’s the first phone to run Android version 2.0. This new version adds native support for Exchange email and also lets you set up multiple different email accounts. There have also been some updates to the web browser interface and you can now search through SMS messages. However, the UK version of this handset doesn’t come with the Google Maps Navigation software found on the US version, and also lacks the drive mode interface where large onscreen icons give you quick access to the phone's main features. Instead Motorola has added its own MotoNav software. This stores maps locally on the 8GB microSD card that’s supplied with the handset and although it works reasonably well it’s not all that easy to use as the menus could do with a bit of streamlining.

Unlike HTC’s Hero, the Milestone never really feels like it’s overloading the processor as everything keeps rollicking along at a lightning quick pace. The phone really does feel very responsive to the touch and menus appear and disappear with speedy precision. Even 3D games like the Raging Thunder racing game downloaded from the Android Market run at a blistering speed.

In fact the handset is a good all round performer when it comes to multimedia. Video looks great on the big bright screen and the built-in speaker is surprisingly loud so you can watch videos without always having to plug in your headphones. Like most of the latest smartphones the handset also has a standard headphone jack at the top of the phone and music playback from the updated Android music player sounds crisp and clean. However, the supplied headphones are very poor, so a new pair of cans will be a must for those who do opt for this phone. And while the five megapixel camera sounds good on paper as it has a twin LED Flash and autofocus the shots it takes are a bit of a mixed affair. There’s an awful lot of shutter lag and the autofocus is pretty ineffectual with the result that shots often come out looking either soft or downright blurry.

Unfortunately call quality isn’t quite as good as we expected form a Motorola handset. Although it holds a signal well and the ear piece is nice and loud, callers tend to sound a little bit clipped, as if the phone was using slightly over aggressive noise cancelling. You get used to it, but speech certainly doesn’t sound as natural as on other handsets we’ve used. The phone’s battery life is also a bit lacking. All those features obviously place quite a strain on the power pack because we only managed to get a day and a half out of it from a full charge, so really you can expect to have to put it on charge at the end of each day.


The Milestone is a much more accomplished handset than the Dext, Motorola’s previous Android offering. It’s faster, has a much better screen, supports multi-touch input and is laden down with features. In most respects it’s also a better handset than the HTC Hero, but we’re not sure it’s going to do quite as well as that phone, mainly because we can see the styling putting a lot of people off. But the Milestone certainly shows that if Motorola could come up with a decent looking design for its next Android handset it would have a real peach on its hands.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


February 19, 2010, 5:49 am

Bit of a late review no? Wouldn't you have been better off doing one for the Nexus?


February 19, 2010, 6:34 am

That is the weirdest 9/10 ever....if you look at the tone in the review and the individual scores it hints at maybe at a 7 - 8.

Other then that, a very good review, like always:D


February 19, 2010, 7:12 am

Having tried out a motorola droid and my current phone is the htc hero, I don't think if I were offered the milestone, I would trade in. I prefer trackballs than D-pads and I don't even use the trackball that much. Aesthetically I would agree with Niall that it could be a factor which can seriously put off potential buyers. Going to wait for the HTC desire to come out before putting down my hero.


February 19, 2010, 7:23 am

The Hero is getting updated to Android 2.1 very soon. What does that do to the comparison with the Milestone?


February 19, 2010, 1:58 pm

I agree the reviews a bit late but better late than ever. I ordered one of these just before christmas then panicked and cancelled haha. Got a Nexus one instead and its so damn good, bit buggy though


February 19, 2010, 2:12 pm

I'd be interested in a comparison with the iphone, the nexus and the n900.....


February 19, 2010, 6:28 pm

Good review! @ Kaurisol i think its about time the I phone comparison debate is over. Its not hard to see that this phone is better in quite a few areas....


February 19, 2010, 7:36 pm


I disagree - I only included the iphone for the sake of completeness. I have an N900 and am interested to see a comparison between Maemo/Meego and Android. I quite agree that the Milestone is better than the iphone in some areas - as is the N900.


February 19, 2010, 7:56 pm

All I know is that the market is getting hotting, Apple and Google have shaken things up, smart phones are more ubiquitous than they ever were and competition is improving the various OS's in leaps and bounds. It's good to be a consumer!


February 19, 2010, 8:36 pm

To me the milestone still suffers from the probmlem that affects all modern touchscreen smartphones, physically (especially as the screen size increases) the phones are too big to put in your pocket IMO, something that i dont think can be fixed until the foldable LCD screens come onto the market, where have they all gone?

Just think, a standard candybar phone with a keypad for easy and fast texting, that you could open out to show a touchscreen for web browsing, thats what id like please!


February 21, 2010, 4:39 am

I think Motorola will need to come up with something new and fresh, especially considering HTC's newest offerings (Desire & Legend) Which may also give Apple a run for it's money.


February 22, 2010, 1:53 am

I don't know how big your pockets are, but my Motorola Milestone fits in mine, in a case too. :) I am really happy with it as it does everything I want. The screen is big enough to read, the slide out keyboard is easy to type on (once you get used to it) and the way it coordinates with Google has made my workload a lot easier to manage.


February 22, 2010, 6:51 am

I think the look of the Milestone is a bit Marmite. I like it, though I'm not a fan of the gold accents. I definitely think it looks better than the stuff HTC has been designing lately.

I didn't buy one though. As said in the review the keyboard isn't great and since launch I've heard mixed reports about the battery too. Add in the images of the Motorola Shadow (possibly the Google Nexus 2) and I'm hanging on in the hope Motorola perfect the handset the second time round.


February 23, 2010, 12:07 am

The Droid has long since looked like the first true iPhone killer. So the phone's great. It's not the product I have a problem with. It's the 'organisations' Motorola decides to do business with that concerns me.


February 23, 2010, 2:19 pm

I have a Milestone for sometime and it is a very good phone. The two main issues are looks and battery life.

Adam Foreman

February 27, 2010, 2:34 pm

Is it me or have most people here lost the point of the Milestone completely? You can't compare a QWERTY keyboard based phone with that of a touchscreen only version. The point of the Milestone is that is provides the customer with choice and more importantly the ability to type on a physical keyboard than use a touchscreen of that of iPhone, HERO to name just two.

I have used a number of touchscreen phones and it does need a lot to get used to the phone each time. At first it causes frustration due to the number of mistakes you make. This phone gives the customer choice but still provide a full QWERTY keyboard should they so choose and lets face it, they will buy this phone for that very reason.

@Stelph: A candy bar smartphone with a touchscreen? Have you tried the Palm Pre?


August 13, 2011, 3:04 am

guys hey im new on your site but i like your work and so i have a question : im am looking for a phone very good for games,music and movies i dont mind the design and so is the motorola milestone good for me and if not pls tell me a good phone for me pls (pls cheep:):) ty allot and i hope u can help me ty :)

comments powered by Disqus