Home » Computing » Desktop PC » Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray

Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray review

Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

The last Medion product we looked at, the Medion Akoya S5610 Notebook, won a TR award because it offered a boatload of features for a relatively small amount of cash. Now the German PC manufacturer looks set to do it again in the desktop space with its Akoya P36888 Multimedia Home Entertainment Design Center PC.

For £500, you get highlights such as an Intel Core 2 Quad Core 2.4GHz processor, 3GB of 800MHz DDR2 RAM, a 1TB hard disk and a Blu-ray drive - not bad! But let's also see how the rest of the PC holds up and if this is truly one of the desktop bargains of the year.

In addition to the PC itself you get peripherals and a remote. The mouse and keyboard are, surprisingly, PS2 models rather than USB which immediately makes them rather out-dated. The no-brand keyboard is also the most basic model we've seen for some time, though its keys are less spongy and more responsive than the monstrosity that came with the HP-Compaq dc7900. The keyboard surround is made from a dull grey plastic that doesn't match the PC at all, though the keys themselves are matte black. And forget about extra function or multimedia buttons, all you get here are dedicated power, sleep and hibernate ones.

The Logitech mouse is slightly better; a matte black three-button symmetrical affair equally suited for left or right-handed use. The rubberised two-directional scroll wheel is comfortably broad, and the buttons have a good response. But in this day of optical, laser and BlueTrack rodents, it is, of all things, a ball mouse. This is something I honestly expected never to see again, and certainly not bundled with a powerful PC.

Thankfully, the remote isn't as disappointing. It runs off two AAA batteries, so environment lovers like me can use rechargeable ones. It's a mix of glossy black and silver plastic, feels reasonably comfortable in the hand, and has small but soft buttons. The logical button layout makes it easy enough to work in the dark once you get used to it, all of which is especially nice when controlling the P36888's integrated TV tuner.

Other bits and bobs include a guide to setting up your PC plus a manual in various languages, along with a Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit disc and a Driver & Applications disc.

Next page


December 5, 2008, 12:57 pm

there's no doubt about it. that's the same case as my old advent t11. that also happened to be the most horrible case to work with, the same blower fan and shroud around the cpu (at the time, an old P4) meant it was a huge dust magnet.

Martin Daler

December 5, 2008, 1:01 pm

so where do I buy one?


December 5, 2008, 2:39 pm

@ilovethemonkeyhead: That's interesting, though since the case has zero fans pulling air in and not too many openings, I wonder how much more dust it collects than any other case. I'd be interested to know what you are comparing it with?

@Martin Daler: Sorry about that. Medion PCs are occasionally available from Aldi supermarkets, but this specific model can be found at Tesco.


December 5, 2008, 3:55 pm

@Ardjuna, Well I've had a Medion PC & my cousin had one too, and I'd have to agree with ilovethemonkeyhead that they do tend to collect a lot of dust, I'm comparing to say an Antec 900. I'd suggest investing in a can of Air and take the sides of every couple of months :). I assume because of the single fan it's easer for the dust to settle.

But you do get a lot for your money, and it's not the easiest case to work in like ilove said, but I did manage to get a Geforce 8800GTX in one.. :)

The other thing worth mentioning if you do upgrade your GFX card in these, you will find you will loose some of those connections as there tightly integrated.


December 5, 2008, 4:12 pm

@Keith: Lol, I used to own a Medion as well - a faithful little beast that never had any real problems, but being a P4 with 256MB of RAM is now getting somewhat long in the tooth and is only used as backup word-processor by my parents.

And yes, it was a dust magnet :D, but it actually had an air intake without dust filter, so that was inevitable.

As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.


December 5, 2008, 4:34 pm

@As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.

I'm not sure on the P36888, but on my old Medion it had an ATI 700 series graphics card, and they was a kind of custom patch panel that integrated into the Graphics card & M/B etc, this gave you the SVideo/Composite/Scart connections etc, unfortunately the GeForce never had the same connections, so lost the SVideo/Composite/Scart etc basically making the ports redundant.

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:05 am

the only thing I can see at Tesco that looks like this (they don't seem to use the Medion model names) costs 𧴜 more. Would that affect your value rating? (Seems to be out of stock anyway)

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:12 am

...unless you buy it with bundled 22" monitor, when the price goes down by ٟ compared to the base unit alone. Go figure. Still not actually available to buy anyway, so I suppose they could call it any price they wanted. Come to that TR could give it any rating they wanted - it doesn't exist. Sorry, I'm rambling.


December 15, 2008, 4:20 pm

@Martin Daler: It was available and in stock at the stated price when the review went live. However, you're right; Tesco doesn't seem to offer it anymore. Would anyone like to comment if they DID manage to get hold of one?

Mark 14

December 19, 2008, 2:14 am

Got one of these from my local Tesco on 11/12/08, they had 5 in stock at the time. Also was only 𧺠 as got 2.5% VAT back.

Andy Cuthbert

December 29, 2008, 2:29 pm

I bought one this weekend from Tesco Kingston in Milton Keynes and they had plenty - around 20 at least. All seems very good and having owned a Medion previously I am looking forward to years of good service. Just trying to find a decent monitor to pair up with it now. Also bought a very smart and slim Medion USB keyboard and optical mouse in Aldi for 㾺. Suggestions on Monitors would be welcome


January 20, 2009, 4:34 am

1) I am hoping to upgrade my main office PC soon. I intend to get into video editing. Would this be a good choice? (I'm assuming that with the quad core CPU and 3GB RAM it would be a beast! Is that so?)

2) Does this have onboard wifi?


September 8, 2009, 2:43 am

hey, i bought this computer a couple of days ago. brand new from a tesco that doesn't sell this model any more, £216! it is indeed a brilliant PC, a total bargain even for the RRP, but the amount i got it for it robbery xD

it doesn't have onboard wifi, or at least mine didn't seem to find networks but i chucked a belkin thing in the back and it works fine

i put it through a small sony bravia TV (which i got also from tesco as a discontinued product down from 250 to 16) and it looks really good and i picked up a logitech wireless keyboard and mouse for about a tenner at tesco (it was half price and got staff discount cus my brother works there)

really happy with my setup and it only came to about 250 total =}

Terry Collingwood

July 22, 2013, 6:46 pm

can i put a voodoo2 card on it?

comments powered by Disqus