• Recommended by TR


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Scores In Detail

Battery Life

Our Score

Previous page


October 19, 2010, 9:21 pm

Damn - that's one ugly laptop. For that price, I'd expect something with a little more class.


October 20, 2010, 12:18 am

i bought a rock extreme ctx pro many years ago for £1700 ,it had a 7950gtx graphics card which at the time was a top card,so when you think your getting a ati 5870 which is a top card today and it cost £900 its a absolute bargain in comparison.

as for battery life you have a machine of this power plugged in anyway so its not really a problem,as for looks it wouldn't bother me as the real Beauty you cant see.


October 20, 2010, 12:58 am

@bobsta - easy there! I happen to like the chassis of my GT 725! But then I love the 80s naff vibes!!!

For anyone interested these are very well put together machines for the price. My brother also owns an MSI and also has had no complaints.


October 20, 2010, 1:17 pm


The whole idea is that it's actually really cheap for what you get - but making the red black wouldn't exactly cost more.

Still, as Jones' comment shows, taste is as ever a personal thing.

Denis iii

October 20, 2010, 7:23 pm

I'm seriously considering buying this even though it is the ugliest laptop I have ever laid eyes on. First thing will be a lot of masking tape and matte black paint job!!!! Maybe then I could stomach it but still has that god awful speaker grill...YUCK!!!

Just goes to show how much Asus rips off the UK market with there Asus G73+5870 going for £1800+ when first released in the UK and epic fail again Asus for only releasing the Asus G53 with useless 720P 3D screen the glasses for £1600+- and no 1080 non 3D UK option.

I wonder if this bargain from MSI will cause an ASUS price drop as no one in there right mind would spend an extra 1000quid for the same thing from Asus with a few tweaks and better looks.

Well done MSI, change the design and I'd of happily dropped £1000 on your MSI GX740.


October 21, 2010, 8:26 pm

@Denis iii:

funny you should mention those, as we should soon be getting the G53 in for review :)

As to the G73 being a rip-off, it's not really. You just pay for the Full HD screen, 8GB of RAM, twin HDDs, more expensive chassis including backlit keyboard, quieter cooling, etc. Whether it's worth the price difference will depend on your budget and personal preferences...

But I definitely agree that if they changed the design, the GX740 could be a truly excellent machine all round rather than the 'ugly' bargain it is now.


October 22, 2010, 2:27 am

If you're handy with a screwdriver just take the chassis apart and start spraying the red panels black/grey. I think the design is fine only the garish bright red make it look cheap and nasty.


October 22, 2010, 12:49 pm

I just noticed the screen resolution. Bit surprised at that considering the GT-725 was "full HD". I seem to remember that at the time of my laptops release there were two versions with the two different resolutions though so perhaps MSI will have a slightly more specced up model for an extra bit of cash? Is never really a big deal for me on laptops - though I know it can be a deal breaker for some.

comments powered by Disqus