Home / Computing / Peripheral / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard - Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

As you would hope, it can also add to your actual gaming experience. Anyone who fondly remembers the separate optional screen in the Dreamcast's controllers will be delighted with the GamePanel, as it can show stats and other information in compatible games to leave your main display free for the action. Tilted at the right angle, the G19's big and clear screen only requires the quickest of glances to see the required information, and is especially suited to slower, stat-heavy games such as RPGs. Right now 80 games are supported, with more on the way.

It's not all good news, however, as the colour screen and inbuilt OS with the hardware required to run it don't come cheap, both in terms of power usage and actual price. The G19 is so power hungry that it requires its own power adapter, though it will work as a basic keyboard when not plugged into the mains.

Though not actually available to buy yet, the G19 has a pre-order price of £143.75. Hopefully this will go down when stock becomes widely available, but don't count on it. The biggest question is, is it worth it? There's no doubting that it's an excellent product and that it offers unique features, potentially enhancing both gaming and productivity. But if you're on a budget and have a good keyboard already, you might just want to get the G13 Advanced Gameboard instead, which offers many of the same features for less than half the price.

‘Lesser' yet more affordable gaming keyboards such as the Microsoft SideWinder X6 (currently a steal at £43) or even Logitech's older G11/15 are also worth checking out. If money is no object on the other hand, the G19 is the cream of the crop and you could even consider getting the G13 to go with it.

Verdict

With multicoloured backlighting and a full-colour screen running its own embedded Linux OS, the impressive and stylish G19 is a high-end gaming keyboard demanding a high price to match. If you have the cash and don't mind its few minor flaws this is the keyboard to get, but there are cheaper ways to get your gaming fix.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 6
  • Features 10
  • Design 10

Steve Austin

April 29, 2009, 1:28 pm

Sounds excellent. But definitely not worthy of the near 𧴜 premium over the G15 currently... Hell, you could almost buy a new computer* for the price of this 'Keyboard'. Insanity.








*Admittedly not a great one ;-)

Simon

April 29, 2009, 3:01 pm

No keyboard is worth 𧵇.75

Keithe6e

April 29, 2009, 3:06 pm

A separate power adapter is a shame, I know it's not logitech's fault as the USB power is stupidly low, at the expense of cable width been a little wider, I wish USB2 had increased this, I've lost count of the number of USB devices I've got that need a separate power adapter.

TechVegan

April 29, 2009, 3:13 pm

@Steve Austin:


I agree Steve, which is why it only received a 6 for value. Keep in mind though that the G19's price is RRP and will likely be lower when it's actually available here.





*A pretty darn rubbish one ;-)

dustofnations

April 29, 2009, 6:03 pm

I must say you do seem to be exceptionally generous with your gradings (maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?), but even 60% would seem like generosity (where 50% is surely "not too bad?").

AaronF

April 29, 2009, 7:08 pm

True dustofnations, but in this case in particular it is aimed at enthusiasts and all Logitech wants is high numbers for Design, Features and Performance, then people like me will buy ;-)

stranded

April 29, 2009, 8:56 pm

Is this "the most advanced gaming keyboard money can buy"? No gaming or keyboard at all i would say.

TechVegan

April 29, 2009, 9:10 pm

dustofnations:


"maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?" That would be tough for them, we give products what we feel they deserve, not what manufacturers want us to give them.


As an example of a recent Logitech product that didn't do so well, take a look at their brand-new {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}, or for a more extreme example {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}.


It just so happens the G19 is an excellent, if expensive product, and like AaronF said, aimed at those who are willing to spend serious money on PC-gaming.

Xiphias

April 29, 2009, 11:52 pm

When you say the keys are clicky do you mean they have an actual click in the travel or just that they're decently precise? If it's the former and logitech are actually using mechanical keyswitches then that'll really raise the interest in the keyboard among some people.





Logitech do seem to be trying to create their own market as they go along, since the heavy typists and serious gamers who usually buy money no object keyboards won't be interested in this (assuming it uses the same keys as the G11/G15). It's rather a brave move for them, although perhaps not that risky given how well other bling products have been selling.

TheVoice

May 2, 2009, 5:11 pm

It's worth noting that the inclusion of the power adapter does at least mean that the USB ports on the G19 are fully powered, so they can be used with portable hard-drives and other devices that are likely to draw power (for charging etc), which makes them a bit more useful.

TechVegan

May 5, 2009, 10:42 pm

@Xiphias:


In the G19 Logitech has used membrane, which it claims is just as efficient. I would be more inclined to dismiss this statement if it weren't for the fact that the company's Illuminated Keyboard apparently uses mechanical switches, so there seems little reason not to use it in its premium keyboard if it was still so markedly superior.





@TheVoice:


Indeed, as mentioned in the review it's the single advantage of having the power adapter (aside from obviously running the screen + OS).

Janne

February 27, 2015, 7:02 am

Here is my review of this keyboard:
It is a good keyboard with at least 12 macro keyes. It has a nice small screen that you can use e.g. as a clock.
You can change the color of the buttons.
I myself have found a couple issues:
1. It sometimes doesn't work no matter how long I try to restart my computer. Then I am just lucky if it starts working. Sometimes I need to look for a solution from internet. (NOTE: This is extremely rare to happen).
2. The USB ports in the keyboard are a bit too tight. It is hard to get the USB stick or wire out of there.

Overall this is a great keyboard and I totaly recommend it to everyone!

9/10

norgeek

December 7, 2015, 10:54 am

I can't believe it's been nearly 7 years since I replaced my G15 with this one. It's easily the best keyboard I've ever had, it's rarely giving me any problems (and then it's Logitech Gaming Software at fault), and it's still as solid as when I bought it. 10/10, would buy again.

comments powered by Disqus