Home / Computing / Peripheral / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard - Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


User Score:

Above the G19's number pad are media and volume controls. Rather than the flat volume wheel on previous Logitech G-keyboards, the G19 has a roller with a rubberised, finned surface. This does make changing the volume slower than with the previous system, but works well nonetheless. The game switch (which toggles the Windows key on or off) has also been redesigned to be easier to move, and it now lights up when in ‘gaming' mode.

At the top of the keyboard you'll find two powered USB 2.0 ports. This is a major improvement on the G15, where the ports were USB 1.1 and not powered. Under the keyboard are channels for routing cables to the front or side, giving a good degree of flexibility.

Together with the multi-coloured backlighting, the G19's unique selling point is of course its full-colour LCD screen - an industry first. Despite its transparent cover, the high-contrast screen remains sharp and clear. It has excellent viewing angles both horizontally and when viewed from the top (though not from below), and colours are rich without being oversaturated.

Its beauty is more than skin-deep too, as unlike its simplistic two-tone predecessors it's actually powered by an embedded version of Linux. This allows more applications than ever before to be programmed for it and it's backwards compatible with most of the ones developed for the G15's GamePanel.

Though more applications will become available over time, right now the ones offered by Logitech's LCD Manager software are a timer, RSS Reader, clock with calendar, PC performance monitor, picture viewer, movie viewer (it should play all WMP-compatible videos) and even Video Player for Youtube. This all works flawlessly and is fully configurable through software. Because of its advanced functionality, the screen also has its own set of eight dedicated controls, including a four-way D-pad with an 'OK' button at its centre which makes navigation a breeze.

The screen works beautifully for video, with never a hint of artefacts or ghosting, but beyond impressing your friends and after the novelty has worn off, watching this kind of content on it instead of your main display doesn't hold much appeal. However, the GamePanel certainly does have practical uses, such as keeping an eye on your inbox or IM while gaming or watching a film.

Steve Austin

April 29, 2009, 1:28 pm

Sounds excellent. But definitely not worthy of the near 𧴜 premium over the G15 currently... Hell, you could almost buy a new computer* for the price of this 'Keyboard'. Insanity.

*Admittedly not a great one ;-)


April 29, 2009, 3:01 pm

No keyboard is worth 𧵇.75


April 29, 2009, 3:06 pm

A separate power adapter is a shame, I know it's not logitech's fault as the USB power is stupidly low, at the expense of cable width been a little wider, I wish USB2 had increased this, I've lost count of the number of USB devices I've got that need a separate power adapter.


April 29, 2009, 3:13 pm

@Steve Austin:

I agree Steve, which is why it only received a 6 for value. Keep in mind though that the G19's price is RRP and will likely be lower when it's actually available here.

*A pretty darn rubbish one ;-)


April 29, 2009, 6:03 pm

I must say you do seem to be exceptionally generous with your gradings (maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?), but even 60% would seem like generosity (where 50% is surely "not too bad?").


April 29, 2009, 7:08 pm

True dustofnations, but in this case in particular it is aimed at enthusiasts and all Logitech wants is high numbers for Design, Features and Performance, then people like me will buy ;-)


April 29, 2009, 8:56 pm

Is this "the most advanced gaming keyboard money can buy"? No gaming or keyboard at all i would say.


April 29, 2009, 9:10 pm


"maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?" That would be tough for them, we give products what we feel they deserve, not what manufacturers want us to give them.

As an example of a recent Logitech product that didn't do so well, take a look at their brand-new {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}, or for a more extreme example {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}.

It just so happens the G19 is an excellent, if expensive product, and like AaronF said, aimed at those who are willing to spend serious money on PC-gaming.


April 29, 2009, 11:52 pm

When you say the keys are clicky do you mean they have an actual click in the travel or just that they're decently precise? If it's the former and logitech are actually using mechanical keyswitches then that'll really raise the interest in the keyboard among some people.

Logitech do seem to be trying to create their own market as they go along, since the heavy typists and serious gamers who usually buy money no object keyboards won't be interested in this (assuming it uses the same keys as the G11/G15). It's rather a brave move for them, although perhaps not that risky given how well other bling products have been selling.


May 2, 2009, 5:11 pm

It's worth noting that the inclusion of the power adapter does at least mean that the USB ports on the G19 are fully powered, so they can be used with portable hard-drives and other devices that are likely to draw power (for charging etc), which makes them a bit more useful.


May 5, 2009, 10:42 pm


In the G19 Logitech has used membrane, which it claims is just as efficient. I would be more inclined to dismiss this statement if it weren't for the fact that the company's Illuminated Keyboard apparently uses mechanical switches, so there seems little reason not to use it in its premium keyboard if it was still so markedly superior.


Indeed, as mentioned in the review it's the single advantage of having the power adapter (aside from obviously running the screen + OS).


February 27, 2015, 7:02 am

Here is my review of this keyboard:
It is a good keyboard with at least 12 macro keyes. It has a nice small screen that you can use e.g. as a clock.
You can change the color of the buttons.
I myself have found a couple issues:
1. It sometimes doesn't work no matter how long I try to restart my computer. Then I am just lucky if it starts working. Sometimes I need to look for a solution from internet. (NOTE: This is extremely rare to happen).
2. The USB ports in the keyboard are a bit too tight. It is hard to get the USB stick or wire out of there.

Overall this is a great keyboard and I totaly recommend it to everyone!



December 7, 2015, 10:54 am

I can't believe it's been nearly 7 years since I replaced my G15 with this one. It's easily the best keyboard I've ever had, it's rarely giving me any problems (and then it's Logitech Gaming Software at fault), and it's still as solid as when I bought it. 10/10, would buy again.

comments powered by Disqus