Home » Computing » Peripheral » Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard review

Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score


User Score

Review Price £107.50

Logitech has a well-deserved reputation for making some of the best gaming peripherals around. All the way from its G5 Gaming Mouse to the recently-reviewed G13 Advanced Gameboard, its G-Series has consistently won TR recommended awards. Today we're looking at the brand-new G19 Gaming Keyboard, the sequel to Logitech's well-regarded G15 Keyboard, which received our highest accolade. Let's find out if the G19 can keep the pedigree intact.

So first of all, what has changed? Obviously the design has been updated to make this keyboard far more streamlined. Basic keyboard layout remains identical, but the multimedia and gaming keys have been moved about and the programmable G-keys have been doubled from six (on the 2007 revision of the G15, not the original which offered 18) to 12. Backlighting has also been reworked, but the single biggest upgrade is to a colour "GamePanel" LCD-screen with a resolution of 320 x 240.

In terms of looks, the G19 has it all. The keyboard comes in a combination of matte and glossy blacks, bluish silver and metallic insets that not only looks cool but also matches Logitech's other G-series peripherals perfectly. Logitech's versatile backlighting also helps to make this keyboard a stunner. The M-keys and LCD-control keys to the left of the GamePanel remain invariably orange, but the backlighting on every other key can be changed to any colour you wish, to match your mood, other peripherals, or you can just link a specific colour of backlight to a specific game or application.

There are no dimming controls, but if the lighting is too bright simply choose a darker shade. There's also a dedicated button to turn the backlighting off altogether, though this also turns off the LCD. Unlike with Razer's Lycosa Gaming Keyboard, the G19's keys are still perfectly visible in sunlight, whether the backlighting is turned on or not.

Funnily enough, compared to 'regular' keyboards like Logitech's Cordless Desktop Wave Pro, the layout of the G19 is more conservative, with the Delete/Home/End/Page keys in their traditional positions. As far as all the keys you'd find on a normal keyboard go then, things are pretty standard. Though I'd hoped for a movable number pad a la Microsoft's SideWinder X6, realistically the chances of this happening were slim.

Next page

Steve Austin

April 29, 2009, 1:28 pm

Sounds excellent. But definitely not worthy of the near 𧴜 premium over the G15 currently... Hell, you could almost buy a new computer* for the price of this 'Keyboard'. Insanity.

*Admittedly not a great one ;-)


April 29, 2009, 3:01 pm

No keyboard is worth 𧵇.75


April 29, 2009, 3:06 pm

A separate power adapter is a shame, I know it's not logitech's fault as the USB power is stupidly low, at the expense of cable width been a little wider, I wish USB2 had increased this, I've lost count of the number of USB devices I've got that need a separate power adapter.


April 29, 2009, 3:13 pm

@Steve Austin:

I agree Steve, which is why it only received a 6 for value. Keep in mind though that the G19's price is RRP and will likely be lower when it's actually available here.

*A pretty darn rubbish one ;-)


April 29, 2009, 6:03 pm

I must say you do seem to be exceptionally generous with your gradings (maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?), but even 60% would seem like generosity (where 50% is surely "not too bad?").


April 29, 2009, 7:08 pm

True dustofnations, but in this case in particular it is aimed at enthusiasts and all Logitech wants is high numbers for Design, Features and Performance, then people like me will buy ;-)


April 29, 2009, 8:56 pm

Is this "the most advanced gaming keyboard money can buy"? No gaming or keyboard at all i would say.


April 29, 2009, 9:10 pm


"maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?" That would be tough for them, we give products what we feel they deserve, not what manufacturers want us to give them.

As an example of a recent Logitech product that didn't do so well, take a look at their brand-new {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}, or for a more extreme example {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}.

It just so happens the G19 is an excellent, if expensive product, and like AaronF said, aimed at those who are willing to spend serious money on PC-gaming.


April 29, 2009, 11:52 pm

When you say the keys are clicky do you mean they have an actual click in the travel or just that they're decently precise? If it's the former and logitech are actually using mechanical keyswitches then that'll really raise the interest in the keyboard among some people.

Logitech do seem to be trying to create their own market as they go along, since the heavy typists and serious gamers who usually buy money no object keyboards won't be interested in this (assuming it uses the same keys as the G11/G15). It's rather a brave move for them, although perhaps not that risky given how well other bling products have been selling.


May 2, 2009, 5:11 pm

It's worth noting that the inclusion of the power adapter does at least mean that the USB ports on the G19 are fully powered, so they can be used with portable hard-drives and other devices that are likely to draw power (for charging etc), which makes them a bit more useful.


May 5, 2009, 10:42 pm


In the G19 Logitech has used membrane, which it claims is just as efficient. I would be more inclined to dismiss this statement if it weren't for the fact that the company's Illuminated Keyboard apparently uses mechanical switches, so there seems little reason not to use it in its premium keyboard if it was still so markedly superior.


Indeed, as mentioned in the review it's the single advantage of having the power adapter (aside from obviously running the screen + OS).


February 27, 2015, 7:02 am

Here is my review of this keyboard:
It is a good keyboard with at least 12 macro keyes. It has a nice small screen that you can use e.g. as a clock.
You can change the color of the buttons.
I myself have found a couple issues:
1. It sometimes doesn't work no matter how long I try to restart my computer. Then I am just lucky if it starts working. Sometimes I need to look for a solution from internet. (NOTE: This is extremely rare to happen).
2. The USB ports in the keyboard are a bit too tight. It is hard to get the USB stick or wire out of there.

Overall this is a great keyboard and I totaly recommend it to everyone!


comments powered by Disqus