Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » LG Cookie KP500 » LG Cookie KP500

LG Cookie KP500 - LG Cookie KP500

By Sandra Vogel


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

So far, it all sounds pretty good. But there have been compromises made to get the Cookie to its pricepoint, and one of the first you'll notice is its build quality. This isn't up to the Renoir's high standard, though I do like the rubbery feel to the outer casing, which helps with gripping the phone.

The touchscreen also leaves a bit to be desired. Tapping away to launch applications is no bother as the icons are large and responsive, and the very slight haptic vibration confirms key presses well. The problem comes when you want to enter text, for example when typing SMS or email messages.

Hold the phone in portrait format and a standard mobile phone type touchpad is on offer. Swivel it to landscape format and QWERTY keys pop up. Both use rather small keys and those with stubby fingers may find accuracy a problem.

That said, you could use the stylus, but really, what touchphone user wants to do that these days? And even if you do, the stylus is a disappointment. It is an expanding type but only grows to about 75mm and it's far too light for its own good.

There's handwriting recognition and thankfully this is quite good if you are prepared to write slowly and clearly, though it's no substitute for large, usable QWERTY keys.

Furthermore, the Cookie is quad-band GSM handset with GPRS and EDGE only, so if you're after a 3G handset then look elsewhere.

You are also on a loser here if you want lots of built-in memory. There is 48MB to play with. True, a microSD card slot on the right edge lets you add more, and with the price of memory so low these days this factor is hardly a make or break one.

A bigger disappointment will slap music fans in the face like a wet kipper. Yes, it is the old proprietary headset connector problem. The in-ear buds didn't like my ears and kept falling out. This is a perennial problem for me and if you are the same then the absence of a 3.5mm connector either on the handset or past the hands-free mic could well put you off this phone. An FM radio augments the music playback capability.

Previous page
Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


January 9, 2009, 6:26 am

"With this phone LG says it is 'bringing an affordable touchscreen phone to the masses'. Well, OK, but LG's understanding of the term 'affordable' and yours might not be the same. This is not really a handset for those looking to drastically pare their phone costs to the bone. Carphone Warehouse has it for 㿏 a month on Orange Dolphin, 㿔 a month on T-Mobile Combi and 㿙 a month on O2, all for 18 months."

You may need to reassess your opinion on this phone a bit, the prices on the carphonewarehouse site include a free ps3 with singstar 2 and mics. The phone is less than 𧴜 on pay as you go and free on all contracts from sites like mobiles.co.uk. Seems pretty cheap for a phone which whilst not as feature packed looks a lot nicer than the renoir.

Seems a shame as the review seems jaded by this assumption focusing in the lack of features against the renoir/pixon etc. Not on my shopping list but seems a good phone for the money.


January 9, 2009, 3:06 pm

And if you don't want a PS3 / WII or XBox360, 18 month contract, handset is free and 㾻 a month. So could be an expensive way to buy a PS3.


February 21, 2009, 7:00 pm

I own this phone and mostly I love it. Marvellous technology for the price BUT you guys obviously didn't play with it long or thoroughly enough to find the software bugs in the UI. I would list them but I fear it would be quite a long list.

Chris 14

February 26, 2009, 2:55 am

This is a lovely phone but the firmware isn't finished and LG appear to be in denial. Their support site and telephone support is hopeless. Aside from the occasional excusable glitch you get with any complicated electronic device, this phone's favourite tricks include rebooting randomly and a calculator with a dodgy divide-by function ( e.g. 110 / 1.1 = 49.1 er... don't think so!!!)


April 20, 2009, 11:24 pm

It's Really Good And Moree Affordiable,, And you would think it would be more considering it is touch screen it is only 䀍.50 on 02

It is also good touch reaction

Kischa Gair

September 7, 2009, 5:06 pm

£99 i wish id have kept, or spent a little extra to get a Samsung or Ericcson! This phone is absalutly terrible, and i would never advise anyone to buy it let along get it on contract. Sooooo many problems,

*Rebooting itself randomly

*Bettery Failier even though its got full battery

*The dreaded death blue screen

*Bluetooth connections faulty

*The phone takes it upon itself to delete images/videos/messages

*Message storage device is terrible with a loudsy 250 each box

I could go on...for ever!

Do NOT perchase this phone!

Peter Thomas

December 3, 2009, 6:48 pm

First touch screen phone I`ve had and I usually keep it in my pocket when I`m working only trouble is it seems to dial random numbers (Not very good at 3am)when it feels like it. I`ve been told that the screen is activating itself and then dials the first number it finds !!! anybody else had this problem ?


July 12, 2010, 12:27 pm

The software does have lot of issues and hardware too.Its a phone --I will recommend --Not to Buy--Multiple reasons ---1) The earphone gets hot ,when you are taking a conference call for more than 10 minutes duration ,so not a OK phone ,if you plan to take conference calls of longer duration 2)Its camera is too sensitive and most of the times the pictures will be blurt ,this is not a case with Nokia ,so too sensitive for objects movement and a fraction of milimeter movement will not give the clear picture ,so best suitable for non living objects photography 3)The software is too bad--I started having the issue that if I press contacts ,it will give invoke function of call og ,so understood that the touch screen calibration lost and if I do it,still not correcting the issue 4)If I want to restore the photos ,its not restoring the datewise ,so I need to add overhead for sorting the downloaded photos,photdownloading is very slow 5)Sftware is not user friendly as compared with Nokia 6)The speakerphone volume is not high upto expectations ,so please do not buy this phoneas a compromise for money ,I think,user will frustrate later on because of quality


October 3, 2010, 11:54 pm

i have an lg cookie and i hate it, the phone is useless. it keeps rebooting itself, the internet doesnt always connect even when it does on someone else's phone, the music takes forever to load even if theres not much on it, the pictures dont always move from the phone to the external memory, messages dont always move from the inbox to the "my folders", it freezes and it is downright useless

mrs outofpocket

January 27, 2011, 3:32 pm

Bought an LG COOKIE KP500 in April 2010 and it had annoying problems like freezing when texting, switching itself on/off randomly, etc. The worst thing about it was the inner screen cracking overnight despite it was kept on a shelf in its "sock" and there were no visable marks on the outer screen. LG wanted ME to pay repair costs which amounted to more than the purchase price so now have an unusable mobile!! Won't be buying any more LG products ever again.

comments powered by Disqus