Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » INQ Chat 3G » INQ Chat 3G

INQ Chat 3G - INQ Chat 3G

By Edward Chester


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

The operating system features a single desktop on to which you can add up to three widgets out of a choice of Facebook, Twitter, Weather, Google search, Yahoo! search, a clock, and RSS feeds. Below this sits a carousel of shortcuts to the vast majority of the phone's main apps. INQ calls this the 'Switcher' and it can be rotated using either the D-pad or a button that sits on the right edge. By using the latter, the Switcher can be called up when using another program so you can quickly and easily flick between programs (I didn't realise you could do this when shooting the video, thus my negative comment).

The menu button opens a grid of 12 icon shortcuts to quickly open the picture, video and music folders; access the camera; and open the phone's settings (amongst other options). Once you get past the lurid main menu, all the sub-menus are intuitive and use black and white text to keep things simple.

The camera is a very basic 3.2-megapixel affair that has autofocus but no flash. It's just about adequate for the odd sunny outdoor snap but give it a low light situation and it simply can't cope, producing blurry and grainy shots that are next to useless. Likewise, video is pretty awful with just 320 x 240 pixels on offer and a framerate that simply can't cope with motion of any sort.

With the back off, you'll find a 1,500mAh battery sitting below the camera. We got a solid two days of use out of this while using the INQ Chat 3G extensively for our review. This isn't great, but turn off some of the automatic updating of the messaging services and we think this could be extended to three or more days. INQ quotes a talk-time of over nine hours and a standby of 14 days. Call quality was perfectly adequate, though nothing special, and we had no problems with finding a signal.


While the INQ Chat 3G certainly has its limitations, namely its lack of a headphone socket, poor screen, and rather underwhelming build quality, it fits its remit of a cheap messaging device perfectly. The integrated social networking apps are all easy to use, the browser is decent, the keyboard is impressive, and the price is definitely right.

Previous page
Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Latest Deals From Ebay

  1. inq chat 3g unlocked

  2. inq chat 3g unlocked



January 11, 2010, 5:06 am

Weird maze game at the back of the back panel?!


January 11, 2010, 5:18 am

I think your review was worded overly harshly, this costs 90 quid! An iPhone 3GS 16GB costs FIVE times as much.

Clearly a phone for a casual user, if you needed a second phone this would be a fairly good choice in my opinion..


January 11, 2010, 2:13 pm

3 have the Nokia E63 at £100 PAYG at present, which strikes me as a better all round bet at this kind of price point.


January 11, 2010, 3:01 pm

@xenos: I think your review was worded overly harshly,

Didn't seem harsh to me,.. And also gets a value of 9.

Ed said > it fits its remit of a cheap messaging device perfectly. The integrated social networking apps are all easy to use, the browser is decent, the keyboard is impressive, and the price is definitely right.


January 11, 2010, 5:36 pm

Don't forget each time you top up, for the next 3 months you get 150mb internet and 600 free texts to use. Of course everyone should know by now Skype is free forever on 3.


January 11, 2010, 5:51 pm

I'm interested in finding out how good the Twitter client is, compared to say, Gravity, on S60?

The review was ok, although I can't see why two days usage is "not great". It strikes me as "about average these days". Surely then the 3GS's half-a-day is "abysmal"?

Oh, any shots of the packaging it comes in? :)


January 11, 2010, 9:51 pm

I'm not sure what there is to say about it. It shows your feed and has a box for status updates. It's quite clear and easy to navigate. Seems little different to Gravity which seems little different to twitterific, etc. It's free and advert free which does appeal.

What's wrong with saying it's not great? Average isn't great. The 3GS gets two days easily when used the same amount.

Yes. Added.


January 11, 2010, 9:55 pm

Oops, sorry, thought we did have a photo of the box. I'll try and get one sorted tomorrow.


January 11, 2010, 10:56 pm

Doesn't the INQ Chat have GPS? 3's literature says it has so why was it not reviewed?


January 11, 2010, 11:11 pm

It does indeed, as noted in the feature table. There's not much to say, it's there, it works with GoogleMaps and various novelty apps available through the INQ hub. It's nothing special.


January 12, 2010, 12:30 am

The INQ / 3 combination just doesn't do it for me.

The software is buggy and slow. The hardware is cheap and nasty and 3's reception is pretty rubbish in most places I go. I'm being polite.

I had the INQ1 but this has gone into the bin. I have tried many different phones over the years, but INQ just takes the biscuit. Now, they don't exist for me (yes, they really are that bad).

I would either recommend a cheap nokia (or similar) handset if you want cheap, or save up your money and buy the real thing.


January 12, 2010, 3:41 pm

@Ed: Ta, I always like their box art :).

I suppose I've never really used a 3GS for everyday "general use" so can't speak from personal experience. I can't seem to find anyone who doesn't charge theirs daily though :P.


January 12, 2010, 6:49 pm

3 mobile is the only network that doesn't drive me up the wall with their utter lies of use for data you pay for 1Gb you get 1Gb for any data use you want to use FULL STOP not you pay for some data but you cant use it for email you cant use it for youtube ect.


November 5, 2010, 3:48 pm

I bought my twin girls this phone for their birthday - 2 months later we have just changed them for the 3rd time!!!!!! they keep freezing and switching off! of the last 2 which I got on Sunday one of them won't even switch on! As an aside 3 store are being VERY UNHELPFUL both in store and on the phone. Any advice please


January 31, 2011, 12:29 am

After using this phone for 10 month the data socket stoped working and i cant recharge it or use a hand free set.


February 29, 2012, 3:21 am

I love my INQ 3g here in Canada I got it from telus on as a prepaid phone I bought it for 49.95 and inside it had a 25.00 prepaid card so I got the phone for like 24.95 and I love this phone I have had no problems with speed I have found this phone very adequate online and texting and the fact that the charging cable also acts as a data cable and installing and charging it on the computer is great you can easily transfer ringtones, music and games every time you plug it into your computer to charge it you can do a full backup of the phone text messages, calender and phone numbers all backed up daily in case something happens you can restore all your data.The calender alarm is great the phone will actually wake it self up when an appointment nears so if your phone is charged and turned off and an appointment comes up the phone turns itself on and lets you now about your appointment it easily synchronizes with outlook and outlook express. I added an 8 gig sd card and I know have over 300 mp3's and many games for times when your waiting around it came with headphones that you can use to listen to music and even has a mic in it so you can answer the phone while listening to music it also came with an extra back cover in case of accidents.When compared with other phones in it's price range this phone gets a 10 out of 10.

comments powered by Disqus