Home » Computing » Monitor » BenQ E2200HD 22in LCD Monitor

BenQ E2200HD 22in LCD Monitor review

Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
BenQ E2200HD 22in LCD Monitor


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Affordable Full HD 16:9 displays are all the rage these days. Today we're looking at yet another 22in (or 21.5in to be exact) model following after the award-winning Iiyama ProLite E2208HDS, ViewSonic VX2260wm and BenQ's own M2200HD. The latter of these is the most significant, since the E2200HD is essentially just the M2200HD with a black instead of white finish and minus the webcam and USB hub.

Of course this means the E2200HD is just as easy to assemble as its paler cousin: simply click in the base and you're done. It's just as easy to take apart too. Unfortunately build quality also remains unchanged, meaning the plastic creaks when making adjustments. And speaking of adjustments, as usual with a TN monitor in this class you're limited to basic tilt. I can understand wanting to keep costs down, but most monitors of this ilk we've had through the labs are too low on one's desk for ideal comfort.

This aside, the piano black finish does make for a far more striking contrast with its silver screen surround than the white of the M2200HD did. It also makes the E2200HD look a tad slimmer, which in turn makes the entire display look more attractive.

The large power button still has an unobtrusive green LED, and the menu buttons are still clearly marked on the left side of the bezel. This, combined with the logical, colourful OSD makes adjusting the E2200HD's settings very easy, with the only niggle being that the up/down navigation buttons actually work right/left, which is a bit counter-intuitive.

As far as connectivity goes, the E2200HD looses its cousin's USB hub, but retains the triple-whammy video inputs of VGA, DVI and HDMI. And though there is no 3.5mm audio input to go with the VGA or DVI connections, at least there's a headphone socket on the display's side to give a signal from the HDMI port, rather than forcing you to use the poor integrated speakers.

The same cable-tidying clip does as good a job of managing cables as on the other BenQs using this chassis, but regrettably the company still doesn't include any digital cables with its monitors, only VGA. Another small negative is that because the E2200HD's chassis was designed to house USB ports and a webcam, the bulges for these at the left and top are still present, with blanking plates to cover them.

Naturally, using the same chassis for an entire series does allow BenQ to keep the price down, but we'll get onto value for money in a bit. First let's take a look at the monitor's most important aspect: its image performance.

Next page


March 18, 2009, 4:28 am

Hmmm, I've been tasked with finding a good quality 22" monitor for someone for around 𧵎, and have been considering these three (E2200HD, E2208HDS and VX2260wm). I think I've ruled out the Iiyama as it doesn't have HDMI, which is admittedly a bonus more than a necessity.

So now I'm really torn between the BenQ and the Viewsonic. Which in your opinion would be best suited primarily as a gaming display? Viewing angles aren't really that important for this usage, but would you say either of these displays suffers from an noticeable input lag, as that really would be a deciding factor.

Also, do you know how the Dell S2209W stacks up against these monitors? It seems to have roughly the same spec and price tag as those above.


March 18, 2009, 12:22 pm

TN? Boooo. After working with an S-IPS panel for so long, it's spoilt me rotten. By the looks of availability, manufacturers have mostly given up putting the better panels in 16:9 desktop displays as most buyers are looking at price/specs. Makes me sad.


March 18, 2009, 2:29 pm

@smc8788: Sorry to answer a question with a question, but is it specifically a Full-HD monitor you're looking for? If it's only for PC gaming, going for a 1,680 x 1,050 22in display not only gives you far more options but will also get you better performance at the panel's native resolution.

@GherkinG: Indeed. It saddens anyone who appreciates a quality display with 'features' like colour fidelity, great viewing angles and usually, good adjustability.


March 18, 2009, 3:30 pm

Does it have any noticeable input lag? and does it utilise 1:1 scaling at all?


March 18, 2009, 4:57 pm

@ Ardjuna - Thanks, yes, it would be mainly for PC gaming. I would also prefer a 1680x1050 screen, but the market seems to be moving towards the 16:9 aspect ratio and the quality of those monitors seemed to be similar to any 16:10 monitor I looked at while offering more inputs and higher resolution.

After a quick search I'm now looking at the Samsung SM2233BW and the BenQ G2200WT (based on your positive review!), although the latter is a little harder to find. Both are around the 𧵎 mark, and it seems that if you go any lower than than you lose the DVI input on a lot of monitors - only offering VGA - which is a bit of a deal breaker for me.


March 18, 2009, 5:22 pm

I have the E2200HD

@D-Unit - it dosen't do 1:1 pixel mapping but it does have an aspect setting so it dosent strech 4:3 meaning no resolution looks stupid. I use mine for some casual gaming and I watch a lot on iplayer on it and i've never noticed any lag, UT3 looks great on it.

@smc8788 I would agree with smc8788 its not really suitable as a gaming monitor as the 1920x1080 resultion isent very well supported, i do tho occasionally use mine for casual gaming and resolution aside it does look very good especially for games like UT3 and dirt which support full HD. It tends to be the console ports that support it.

Paul 15

May 11, 2009, 10:45 pm

Can anyone tell me the difference between the E2200HD and E2200HDA


May 15, 2009, 9:51 pm

The E2200HDA has the DVI-D and HDMI connector which makes it HDCP compliant. The E2200HDA only has the VGA connector. to my knowledge this is the only difference..

John 40

July 21, 2009, 12:57 pm

First of all: @Pgul:

The difference between E2200HD and E2200HDA is that E2200HDA doesn’t have HDMI, DVI, or 2ms response time (it has 5 instead), while E2200HD has them all.

I’ve properly owned the BenQ E2200HD for 13 months now! I am one of those proud owners, with a monitor that works perfectly fine with no dead pixels. The E2200HD would be what I’d like to consider an all performing monitor. It might not be fit the likes of graphic designers or photo editors, but that is considerable since it uses a TN panel, and is more for the mainstream ‘common/normal’ usage; however, it works great with beautiful projection of colors when watching HD movies or even gaming.

I use my E2200HD as my monitor, console projector, HD movie player, and work/internet browsing. I use the monitor for every function that it was built and meant to be used for, that is exactly why I love the monitor to death. Although users have said that TN panels have ghosting, I will say here that I have not seen ghosting appear once on my E2200HD. Perhaps its other brands where ghosting appears frequently, but not on my monitor or my friends that all use the E2200HD or the E2400HD.

BenQ definitely got my attention after I purchased their monitor from a friend’s recommendation. I will say hands down, they make great monitors at more than affordable prices compared to their competitors. Quality goods at cheap prices, that’s something that can’t be competed by anything else. The only thing that I wished for is that the entire monitor was black. I’m not exactly fond of the little gray piece on the very bottom of the monitor, but other than that, I’m in love and absolutely cherishing this monitor!

Would definitely recommend this monitor to anyone who asked about it!

comments powered by Disqus