Home » Computing » Laptop » Acer Aspire 5920 » Acer Aspire 5920

Acer Aspire 5920 - Acer Aspire 5920

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell


  • Recommended by TR
Acer Aspire 5920


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

As mentioned previously we've run our usual set of tests for this notebook, PC Mark 05 and our own 2D benchmarks that are designed to test real-world performance. For comparison I've chosen the Evesham Zieo N500-HD which, despite its ordinary looks, was an impressive performer.

Overall, despite having a slower processor and less dedicated video memory, the 5920 did very well. It matched the Zieo in most departments, performing well in all the 2D tests. The only test which showed a noticeable difference was the Virtual Dub encoding test, where the slower CPU is the major factor.

We haven't run a full set of 3D benchmarks with the 5920 due to time constraints, but real-world testing – i.e. playing some games – showed that the 256MB 8600M-GT was perfectly capable of playable frame rates at native resolution with some effects turned on. It's never going to be a gaming powerhouse, but for casual PC gaming it'll get the job done.

When it reaches retailers in July the 5920 be retailing at a very reasonable £799.99 inc. VAT, with a one year International Travellers Warranty. This isn't as generous as the 3-year warranty that's included in the Zieo's £1,099 inc. VAT price, so you'll probably need to factor a warranty upgrade into the quoted price as well. But, even with that taken into account, it's still a great price for a fantastic notebook that has all the Santa Rosa features and plenty more besides.


Acer's Aspire 5920 hits a great sweet spot between price, design and functionality. It might not be most portable of beasts, but it should serve as a great desktop replacement which can be wheeled around the house for all sorts of functions. The low resolution screen may be a little disappointing, but Acer isn't alone in this and until higher resolutions become the standard it would be unfair to single it out in this regard. Thus, if you're in the market for Santa Rosa notebook, it's well worth waiting for this one to hit retail.

Update: For those looking to buy this, it should be available at the beginning of July.

Previous page
Next page


September 12, 2008, 8:34 am

I bought the Acer Aspire 5920 computer a few months ago and for the price I paid ($699.99 us) it was a steal. Very reliable and fast, especially for the price. The 3g ram combined with 1.66g procc made a quick overall performer. Acer's Signal up is a definate advantage over the generic wireless reciever. I got a goofey virus that corrupted the wireless drivers and have had no luck in deleting and reinstalling the drivers. It seemed to get at the ethernet port drivers as well. I have to use an external usb wireless link to use the internet. If anyone knows how to fix this please let me know. Other than my mistake in not buying a good anti-virus program (I hate norton) this has been a great laptop. Excellent machine and great price!

sabrina watts

October 13, 2008, 10:29 pm

I brought the acer aspire 5920 in august and i have to say i wish i hadnt.Ive had nothing but problems with it-or to be specific,one reoccurring problem that no matter how many times it goes back to the engineers,its still not fixed.buyers beware,stay away from this model as after doing my research there is a design flaw with this model and nothing seems to be being done about it.if you are getting vertical columns of horizontal lines accompanied with the laptop freezing dont even bother sending it back to the acer engineers seek a second opinion as my acer aspire has been in 5 times for 'repair' and the problem still hasnt been fixed.They wont replace it or refund the money i paid until a major part has been fixed 3 times.Mine has been done twice and the rest of the times it was apparently found to be working ok after being stress tested untill i switched it on at home and within ten minutes the problem reoccurs.Stay away from this model,i urge you to buy a different make.


February 26, 2009, 6:53 am

This computer may sound perfect, with so much memory for such a small price, but do not fall into the trap. My boyfriend and I both recieved one of these as graduation gifts from our parents and they have been nothing but problems. WARNING! If you need to send it in for repairs under the warranty you will have to pay to have it shipped to Texas. Yes, that is right, Acer wont pay to have it fixed locally, you must send it to their headquarters. The warranty doesnt even cover the charges to have it shipped. Being a college student I need my computer, it makes it very inconvienent to have to ship it away. Even if you speak to the represenatives they are very rude, and will not help you with anything, all they say in their broken english is you must send it in!

Some sample problems: disk read error (computer wont work at all), computer wont turn off, computer wont turn on, computer wont load pages it just stays in freeze, screen savers wont work, keyboard skips letters ALL of the time, touch buttons on the sides are too sensitive you always turn things on and off at the wrong time, battery does not hold time, and many more....

Not only is the computer horrible but the service is horrible, I will never again buy anything from Acer. I repeat EVER!

Brian J. Cicio

April 15, 2009, 6:05 am

I bought this in August 2008 for $539.99 based on reviews from reputable sites and publications (i.e. Cnet, Consumer Reports, etc.), and it is just HORRIBLE! Within 2 months, the webcam locked up and it's colors began to fade with horizontal green lines across the image. A month later the webcam DIED, and the battery get VERY HOT when charging, so much so that you can't have it in your lap! Two months ago, the LCD started shaking violently at random intervals for 15 to 20 seconds at a time. The wireless connection drops at least three times a week, and will not reconnect without rebooting.

This laptop has NEVER been mishandled, abused, dropped, etc. and when not in use stays in a heavily padded case. Customer service is AWFUL, as they talk to me like I'm a two year old. I have over 20 years of experience in building and troubleshooting computers including over 10,000 custom builds for clients, and have held multiple certifications through Microsoft and CompTIA for nearly 10 years. Yet Acer insists the problem is not with their product, but caused by something I did!



May 12, 2009, 5:26 am

I agree with the Sabrina, Brandie and Brian. This laptop is complete JUNK!!! I've sent mine back 4 times. The display on mine began flickering about 2 months after I bought it and only continued to get worse. I sent it in and according to Acer they had to replace the motherboard, screen, ram, and hard drive!?! After having it back for 2 1/2 months its doing the same thing. I sent it back last week with the same complaint they sent it back to me, according to the FedEx website, within 4 hours of receiving it!! Either they have the worlds fastest technicians or they didn't bother to try to fix it. Now they want me to send it back again so a "Senior Tech" can look at it. The other two times I sent it in was because of a problem with the keyboard, and before that it was because when they replaced the memory they only gave me 2Gb instead of the 3Gb that it came with. 4 times in less than 6 months I've had to send this piece of junk in.

As for their customer service ACER IS THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER DEALT WITH. I will never NEVER buy anything from acer, gateway, emachine, or packard bell (since they are all owned by the same company) AGAIN.

Please save yourself the trouble and buy some other more reputable brand.

stuart nolan

May 16, 2009, 9:53 pm

I have had two of the same of these laptops and at first I thought they were great!!! However, I have had so many frustrating problems with this present one, I wish I had not bought it in the first place. The problems I have had are, Internet Explorer stops working, the in-built cam freezes, on searching, it re-diects me to something I did not ask for, the system is unreliable and is rubbish. I am going to have to get a decent one next as this is a load of cheap gadgets all flung in a box. Dont get one, is my advice.

Helen M

June 18, 2009, 12:33 am

OMG!! here Ithought it was just mine, I bought it 7 months ago and I am ready to throw it out the window, spending a grand , for what??, freezes, battery dies after 20 minutes,heats up,freezes again,, this is on top of what the other folks have said, mine is doing the same, lousy customer support (if you can get through) my coneection lso drops, daily, re-boot, re-boot...how VERY frustrating.......... don't get one

Mike Barry

July 10, 2009, 4:50 am

I bought It two just over two years ago for college and have had no problems - camera working well, screen as clear as ever and no slowdown. I bought it in Ireland so the quality of the one I bought was probably better. It is my first laptop and I hope to have it for a long time. For those complaing about internet explorer, just download mozilla firefox and you should have no problems watching videos. Don't mind these crowd: gateway, emachine, or packard bell. If I was getting another laptop it would be from Dell - my friends just got a new one with full HD and everything else and It looks great. For Sid - they saw you coming the first, second, third, and fourth time!!! Later.

Oliver 3

August 5, 2009, 8:30 pm

I bought this wonderful product just before xmas last year. I have had this product for 6 months and had no problem whatsoever apart from the power cable was loose in the socket (which was my fault) but I sent it back to Currys and they repaired it for free and sent it back within a week. The specs and performance of this is very impressive for the price, downloading files and pictures is so so so much quicker than my friends laptops and even my mums sony vaio which is very impressive. It's visual display is fantastic and it is perfect for doing graphics, multimedia and games. For £400, which I purchased it for, it's a bargain.

Would recommend to anyone... A*


August 13, 2009, 3:40 am

this is my current laptop and i am very happy with it apart from the slight colour fade with the webcam. i wud recommend it to ANYONE...it is very good!


January 27, 2010, 7:17 pm

the people complaing about this PC are quite frankly imbeciles, yap yap yap, everyone knows that dissatisfied coustomers complain like nothing else to the amount they sold you will be in a very small minority, even looking at the forums almost every problem mentioned is easily fixed somehow without the resort to acer support.

Because acer laptops are always super good value for money and they do very rarely go wrong when they do you complain no end as market research tells us you will trying to put off quite sensible people looking for a great PC at a low price, it wouldnt supprise me if you didnt even know what a driver is!

and it makes me laugh that you would then go to dell because they have really good support - NOT and there PCs come with so much crapware you may as well go to a hazardous waste site drunk and eat everything you see


March 22, 2010, 5:55 am

I am sorry so many of you have had nothing but problems with your Acer Aspire 5920, but I have a much different story! I purchased my Aspire 5920, 1st laptop, I have had many desktops, in October 2006 and I have nothing but good things to say about it. I love the look, the ease of use, the OS installed and I love the fact that this computer has basically been self containing and sustaining. I haven't had any issue with the web-cam, I haven't had any issue with IE or the screen freezing and with the memory load I have on this machine, it's been nothing but nice! My mom wanted my dad to buy her one of these, the exact model, he bought some lower modeled Acer and she didn't like it at all. My dad is a Gateway and Toshiba laptop user, but he marvels at my very handsome Aspire! I love the keys as the strokes are smooth and effortless. I use this for home and business and again, no issues! I like the fact that Acer didn't skimp on the options and controls on this either and unlike my husband's laptop, Gateway, I never have issues with our wireless connection for our laptops. I like the USB icons and the fact that it has the pretty blue lighting on the keyboard for some of the characters. I bought this not expecting much, as Acer was not a brand I was familiar with. I have always used Compaq Presario desktops with NO problems either, so this was a first for me, and I am glad to say, NOT a disappointment!


July 6, 2010, 12:45 am

AVOID THIS LAPTOP - it is useless. The screen flickers after ca. 8 months and ACER frankly offer no support and are equally useless. Good luck to anybody who has had a good experience with this piece of junk. Will certainly never buy ACER again.

Jan Andersen

July 7, 2010, 4:28 am

I would like to join the group of complainers. Avoid this Acer 5920G, you get nothing than trouble. Since I got it I had nothing than trouble - two days ago it finally died after I in the past did give it life aid several times - mut now its dead. Problems, graphics card heats up and very noisy - SD card reader wont lock the card, HDD problems, DVD drive problems, battery prolem, charger died just after the warrenty. Vista ! Takes an obsene amount of time to figure out how to fix this machine with XP. AVOID ! Anyway - I did now order a Acer 5940G with a i7, Windows 7 64bit etc - and really really hope the flaw with 5920G was a single event ...........

Jan Andersen

July 7, 2010, 5:25 am

... sure the Acer 5920G has a nice design and is build like a tank, but the inside is crap !


October 20, 2011, 11:59 pm

Personally I've had this laptop for two years now and someone else owned it for two years before me, and it has been my faithful companion ever since I took over ownership. It has been battered and bashed all over the place, often I dont carry it around in a laptop bag even, and yet it still works 100%. The DVD drive fascia had come off before I got it, and for a while it worked just to press where the button once was, but now I have to right-click the drive in windows to eject. It can run most mid-to-low-end games like World of Warcraft smoothly and fps can be improved by setting the power to 'High Performance'; however, if you leave it on a bed in this mode it can overheat easily. I also tinkered with the innards when upgrading the RAM and managed to cause two problems: the battery wont be detected with the laptop at certain angles which can be fatal if the power cord comes out. The wireless no longer turns on at startup and I need to manually press it. Those are pretty much the only problems I've had with it so far, and it's well out of warranty period. No keys have come off, no serious hardware issues have arisen yet. I recommend this model to those of you looking for a reliable second-hand laptop for studies or casual gaming! :)


February 25, 2012, 9:19 pm

I have Acer Aspire 5920.I bought it on 2010 August now 25 February 2012 my laptop is second hand but perfectly running i advice you to buy this


February 5, 2013, 7:10 pm

Yes there is a lot wrong with this laptop.
The main problem is the nvidia card. They used the wrong temperature solder on this card and it literally melts the solder in use, as the video chip gets too hot. You may see bands and lines on the screen before it dies and won't restart. Here is what to do.... unscrew the main panel at the back and remove the video card, scrunch up some aluminium foil and place it on the table, press the card into the aluminium foil so it is held firmly and horizontal.
Pop it on a tray in the oven and turn the heat on full which is about 280 deg C maybe leave it to heat up for about 8 minutes. Turn off the oven and open the door. let it all cool. when it is cool take it out and stick it back in your laptop, with a bit of extra heat transfer compound.
The card will work again but probably only for a couple of months.... then repeat the process! This entire laptop is junk.

Mike Skinner

November 27, 2015, 9:22 pm

I was given one of these a while ago. It is old but with 4 gigs ram it runs quite well. I use this as my main computer as I like it so much. Obviously I got a good one. I want to see how long it lasts. I run it with external keyboard and have dual monitors. It did have a problem with win 10 drivers tho so I am using linux.

comments powered by Disqus