Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Sega Forever is the retro games collection your phone has been waiting for

Sega is bringing a collection of its best retro games to Android and iOS devices and you won’t have to pay a penny to play them.

The new Sega Forever collection features five Mega Drive (Genesis) classics, including the original Sonic the Hedgehog, Altered Beast, Comix Zone, Phantasy Star II and Kid Chameleon.

Related: Sonic Mania – Everything we know

The free-to-play collection will be updated with additional titles every two weeks, with Sega promising SG100, Master System, Dreamcast and Saturn games will among those coming to the collection.

Some games will be official emulations while those from the Saturn and Dreamcast library will be direct ports, a Sega spokesperson told Ars Technica.

Sega’s collection will include online leaderboards, cloud saves and support for games controllers. There’ll also be a free iMessage sticker pack for gamers on iOS.

An ad-free version of the collection, which arrives today, can be purchased for just £2.

Sega will be hoping to capitalise on the current retro gaming craze, largely inspired by the Nintendo NES Classic system. Just last week, at E3, it was revealed Atari is also working on new hardware for the first time.

As well as its mobile endeavours, Sega is also working on Sonic Mania, a brand new 16-bit style adventure inspired by the earliest adventures of the little blue ‘hog.

Do you prefer revisiting titles from yesteryear to modern gaming? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2003, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.

Trusted Reviews Logo

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the best of Trusted Reviews delivered right to your inbox.

This is a test error message with some extra words