Kanye West in line to direct PornHub Awards 2018 ahead of first VR show

Rapper Kanye West is in talks to be the creative director of the first ever PornHub Awards, according to a noted New York celebrity gossip column.

Page Six reports West is in negotiations to pull together the ceremony – which is being streamed live on the site in virtual reality.

One source told the tabloid: “There are some insane negotiations going on” as pertains to West’s role as creative director of the show. The rapper has a vested interest in the event already, with his wife Kim Kardashian and sister-in-law Kylie Jenner nominated for the ‘best celebrity’ category.

The news comes after West admitted he was a big fan of the site during an interview on late night TV in the United States. When asked by host Jimmy Kimmel whether having daughters had changed his views on women, West replied: “Nah, I still look at Pornhub.”

The site has since offered him a lifetime PornHub Premium membership as a thank you for his unerring support down the years.

If West is to take on the project, there isn’t long to seal a deal, let alone have any real effect on the creative direction of a show which was probably planned out months ago. The Awards take place on Thursday September 6 at the Belasco Theater in Los Angeles.

In a break from the norm, winners will be decided by viewing habits, rather than a voting committee.

The coverage commences with the red carpet event at 5pm PT (1am UK time on Friday), while the ceremony itself begins at 7pm PT (3am UK time). VR streams can be found at https://oasis.game. The site says this is the first awards ceremony to be streamed in VR, so it’ll definitely be worth a look for smut enthusiasts with eyesight good enough to enjoy the action in a virtual world.

Will you be donning your 3D headset to take in the awards on Thursday night? Drop us a line @TrustedReviews on Twitter.