Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Marvel unveils dates for its Disney Plus shows – here’s when you can watch them

Marvel revealed its big plans for Phase 4 of its cinematic universe and it looks like the new Disney Plus shows are going to play a big part

At the San Diego Comic-Con, MCU fans were treated to a whole bunch of release date unveilings. We now have confirmation that Falcon and the Winter Soldier – which initially was hitting Disney Plus in autumn 2020 – has been pushed up to August 2020. 

WandaVision has been pushed up to December 2020, and Loki will follow afterwards sometime in 2021. In the summer of 2021 Marvel’s What If…? animated series hits Disney Plus.

Falcon and the Winter Soldier will see Sam Wilson and Bucky Barnes team up for some new adventures following the events of Avengers: Endgame. Daniel Bruhl will also feature in the series, reprising his role as Zemo from Captain America: Civil War.

The next Marvel Disney Plus series is WandaVision. The focus will be on Scarlet Witch recovering from the events that saw Vision killed by Thanos in Infinity War/Endgame. It also introduces a grown-up version of Monica Rambeau who was introduced as the daughter of Carol Danvers’ longtime friend Maria in 2019’s Captain Marvel.

Launching in 2021 is Loki. This highly-anticipated series will explore what happened to the god of mischief immediately following the events of the “Time Heist” section of Avengers: Endgame.

Related: Best TVs

Hawkeye looks like it will conclude the Phase 4 Marvel TV shows, with the show focussing on Hawkeye training a new character. This new character is well-known to ardent comic book fans – Kate Bishop. 

The inclusion of Marvel’s Disney Plus in the official Phase 4 slate shows the MCU’s small screen offering is going to be more important than ever over the next few years. 

Along with the TV shows, details of Phase 4 movies were revealed: 

  • Black Widow (May 1, 2020) – postponed
  • Eternals (November 6, 2020)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (February 12, 2021)
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (May 7, 2021)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (November 5, 2021)

Disney Plus launches in the UK March 24th.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2003, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.