Trusted Reviews may earn an affiliate commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn More

Google finally makes it easier to delete all that Location History data

Google is outing a new tool that’ll enable account holders to automatically delete all of location history and web/app activity data the company has collated.

The new Google account setting will let users choose whether they want it purged from Google’s servers after three months, or 18 months moving forward.

This move comes following controversy over the data Google collects on users’ locations even when they turn off the Location History setting on their device.

An Associated Press report last summer found services like Google Maps are still noting the user’s every move. The only difference turning off the Location History setting made was to ensure the data was no longer added to the company’s consumer-facing Timeline feature.

Related: Best Android phones

In order to halt the location tracking itself, it was necessary to turn off Web and App Data at the myactivity.google.com website; something that wasn’t obvious to the vast majority of users out there.

Now the company is seeking to bring this data under one easy to use setting that is certainly more transparent than the previous method.┬áThe feature is rolling out in the coming weeks, but in the meantime you’ll still be able to go into your account and manually delete the Location History and Web and App Activity.

In a blog post on May 1, the