Facebook Messenger Unsend leak teases hotly anticipated new feature

Facebook Messenger will soon allow users to unsend messages, and a leaked screenshot has shown what the keenly anticipated feature could look like when it arrives.

As the Cambridge Analytica scandal was unfolding, it emerged that Facebook deleted messages from Mark Zuckerberg’s Messenger inbox, and also removed messages that he’d sent from other people’s inboxes.

Unsurprisingly, people weren’t best pleased to hear this, and Facebook’s response was to promise to bring out an Unsend feature that everyone can use.

Related: How to delete your Facebook account

facebook messenger unsend

A screengrab that was taken in the latest build of the Messenger app on iOS, according to The Next Web, appears to show a pop-up that millions of Facebook users are likely to come across for the first time in the coming weeks.

“Delete message?” it reads. “If you delete this message, no one in this conversation will be able to see it any more. This can’t be undone.” Below it are two options: Delete and Cancel.

It isn’t yet clear how the feature will work and Facebook is yet to reveal when it will actually roll out, but we imagine it won’t be dissimilar to the unsend feature on WhatsApp.

To use that, all you need to do is tap and hold the message you want to delete, and select Delete and Delete for Everyone from the menu.

Have you been inspired to delete your Facebook account? Share your thoughts @TrustedReviews.