large image

Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Every Rainbow Six Siege DLC map will be available for free

Ubisoft has announced that all downloadable maps for Rainbow Six Siege will be free.

The company announced on Wednesday that all post-launch DLC maps for Rainbow Six Siege will be available at no additional cost.

The developer also took the time to clear some confusion over how many maps the title will ship with at launch.

“At launch, Rainbow Six Siege will have 11 maps, playable both day or night, all using the full potential of our Real Blast destruction technology,” Ubisoft said.

“In addition, all post-launch maps will be downloadable for free. We want players to stay with us for the long-term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage.”

Ubisoft didn’t clarify whether future, major expansions will also be free, but we can’t imagine they will be.

SEE ALSO: Rainbow Six Siege Preview

Releasing post-launch maps for free seems to be the hip new thing with developers these days.

343 Industries recently said that Halo 5: Guardians will have at least 15 free DLC maps by June 2016, only seven months after launch.

Making so many maps available for free ensures that developers won’t split or alienate their player base if they haven’t forked out for the latest maps.

This has been a problem with multi-player shooters for years now, the most obvious being the Call of Duty franchise.

Rainbow Six Siege was originally planned to launch in October, but was pushed back to December for PS4, Xbox One and PC.

The beta is still scheduled to begin on 24 September, for which you can unlock your code here.

Rainbow Six Siege will launch on 1 December for PS4, Xbox One and PC.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2004, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.