Destiny 2 Curse of Osiris DLC leaked and confirmed by Bungie

Details for the first major expansion in Destiny 2 have emerged online, the contents of which have since been clarified by Bungie.

Coming as part of the Destiny 2 expansion pass, Curse of Osiris recently appeared in a listing on the Xbox Store, revealing a bunch of information on the DLC.

The Curse of Osiris will take players to the planet of Mercury for an assortment of new story missions, co-operative activities and, of course, plenty of sweet loot.

“Destiny 2 Expansion I: Curse of Osiris continues your Guardian’s journey with all-new story missions and adventures set in a new destination, Mercury,” the description reads. “Journey through time and space to learn the secrets of Osiris, avert a dark future, and rebuild the ties between the legendary Warlock and his greatest student–Ikora Rey.”

Related: Best PS4 Games

The listing also provides a small list of what to expect from the expansion, although there is currently no mention of a new raid to join the debut offering that launched earlier this week:

  • Explore Mercury and its mysterious “Infinite Forest”
  • New story missions and adventures
  • New themed weapons, armor, and gear to earn
  • New cooperative activities
  • New competitive multiplayer arenas

Kotaku’s initial report on the DLC also mentions a new social area based on the Lighthouse from the original Destiny, which will likely feature new NPCs, vendors and a few neat easter eggs to discover. 

Shortly after details emerged online, Bungie’s marketing director Eric Osborne took to Twitter to confirm the Curse of Osiris’ existence.

A release date for the expansion still remains a mystery, although it’s currently aiming for a winter 2017 launch across PS4, Xbox One and PC.

We’ll have a full review of Destiny 2 coming in the near future now we’ve finally had time to try out the Leviathan Raid!