large image

Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Angry Birds Trilogy coming to Wii U and Wii in August

Nintendo Wii U and Wii gamers will be able to get in on the Angry Birds action from August with the launch of the Angry Birds Trilogy.

Rovio has confirmed that the Nintendo Wii and Wii U will be getting the Angry Birds Trilogy disc-based game from August, offering 30 episodes of bird-flinging fun.

Angry Birds Trilogy for Wii U and Wii was formally announced via the Rovio YouTube channel in an all new trailer that can be viewed below.

The Angry Birds Trilogy includes three of the games already available on Android and iOS – Angry Birds, Angry Birds: Seasons and Angry Birds: Rio.

“It includes as much as 140 hours of comical, addictive gameplay, and 30 episodes on disc – including exclusive new levels”, reads the trailer description. “In addition it has Wii U Gamepad and TV swap capability, touch screen controls and online leaderboards.”

Slated to hit the Wii U and Wii in North America on August 13, UK Nintendo gamers can expect the Angry Birds Trilogy for the Nintendo consoles a couple of days later.

In February, Rovio announced that the Wii U and Wii version of the game were inbound, but failed to give a specific release date.

The Wii U and Wii edition announcements followed the news that Angry Birds Trilogy has sold over one million copies worldwide, having been already made available for PS3 with Move support, Nintendo 3DS and Xbox 360 with Kinect integration.

“It was certainly satisfying to see Angry Birds gameplay adapt so well to other platforms in 2012,” said Petri Jarvilehto, Rovio’s Executive Vice President. “The features specific to the Wii U are very intruiging to us, so we’re excited to release this version to fans.”

The Angry Birds Trilogy release will be a bit of a boost for the Wii U, which is struggling to achieve good sales figures due to a less than impressive games line-up.

Next, read why the Wii U is Nintendo’s Dreamcast.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2004, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.