Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

What is Nvidia Lovelace?

Nvidia announced its latest range of GPUs during its GTC 2022 Keynote, with the RTX 4000 Series coming with Nvidia Lovelace architecture.

During the Nvidia GTC 2022 Keynote event, the company finally revealed its new RTX 4000 Series, which has now replaced the RTX 3000 Series. The RTX 4000 Series includes the RTX 4080 and the RTX 4090,with the latter promising to be one of the most powerful consumer graphics cards on the market.

And if you’ve been keeping up with the latest GPU news, you have likely come across the term Nvidia Lovelace. Keep reading to find out what Lovelace means and why it matters.

What is Nvidia Lovelace?

Every generation of Nvidia graphics cards has a codename associated with it. The codename refers to the GPU architecture that Nvidia develops. The architecture for the existing Nvidia RTX 3000 series is known as Nvidia Ampere, while the RTX 2000 range featured Turing architecture.

Nvidia Lovelace refers to the new architecture for the RTX 4000 Series, and it has now taken over from Ampere as the most recent architecture.

Lovelace comes with a 4nm process node, compared to the 8nm process node of the Ampere series. A smaller node means that Nvidia can cram more transistors onto the GPU, which theoretically ensures a better performance due to the fact the transistors can process data much faster.

Lovelace comparison to Ampere
Credit: Nvidia

Currently, Nvidia Lovelace refers to all of the GPUs under the RTX 4000 Series since they use the same architecture. Right now, only the RTX 4080 and RTX 4090 have been announced, though we could see other models, like the RTX 4060 and RTX 4070, appearing at a later date.

It’s also important to note that the new RTX 4000 Series does not all boast the same specs and performance power, with the RTX 4090 being the flagship at the moment. If you’re interested in seeing how the RTX 4080 does compare to the RTX 4090, make sure to check out our versus article. Despite them not having the same specs, they are built on the same 4nm architecture, which is superior when compared to the RTX 3000 architecture.

Lovelace also supports new features that cannot be found in previous architecture; DLSS 3 has been added, which is the latest variation on Nvidia’s own DLSS technology, as well as 3rd-generation ray tracing cores, among many others.

Why is it called Nvidia Lovelace?

As you may have noticed, many of these codenames are named after real people. Lovelace is named after Ada Lovelace, an English mathematician and writer who is considered the first computer programmer.

While her writings never resulted in a physical computer, she did write about the first computer programme in the world, discovering that computers are capable of following simple instructions and performing complex calculations.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2003, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.

Trusted Reviews Logo

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the best of Trusted Reviews delivered right to your inbox.

This is a test error message with some extra words