ZTE Open specs

By James Morris

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 3.5-inch 320x480 TFT display
  • Firefox OS 1.0
  • 3.15-megapixel main camera
  • 1GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon Cortex-A5 CPU
  • MicroSD card support up to 32GB
  • Manufacturer: ZTE Corporation
  • Review Price: £59.99
specs
Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 3.5
Touchscreen Yes
General
Height 114
Width 62
Depth 12.5
Available Colours Orange
Display
Touchscreen Yes
Screen Size (inches) 3.5
Screen Resolution 320 x 480
Processor and Internal Specs
CPU Qualcomm Snapdragon 1.0 GHz Cortex-A5
Storage
Internal Storage 0
Expandable memory MicroSD
Camera 3.15
Camera Flash No
Front Facing Camera No
Connectivity
Charging/Computer Connection MicroUSB
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes
3G/4G Yes
WiFi 802.11b/g/n
Bluetooth Yes
Misc
GPS Yes
App Store Yes

MattMe

November 7, 2013, 10:48 am

I have to question whetehr or not the specs are *that* important on this phone. If the device runs suffciently quick, without issue, as your review suggests, then why is the spec of the processor or RAM an issue?
The camera, maybe so, however I can't help but feel the review scores should reflect the price a little more closely. This (by today's standards) is an unbelievably cheap device, and a 5mp camera isn't exactly a concern at the price, is it?

Also, could you explain the cross-over between the Firefox and the Android apps please? You touch on it here, but my understanding is that Firefox OS would support Android apps.

Dr James Morris

November 7, 2013, 11:28 am

There isn't really an issue with the specs - except the screen and camera - other than the fact that you can get an Android device with similar specs for the same money, and for a lot of people that will be the better choice, until Firefox OS is a little more mature - and ZTE lets you update the Open, which currently they don't seem to have working.

MattMe

November 7, 2013, 11:41 am

Thanks for the reply. Which Android phone for the same price are you referring to? The Wildfire you mention in this article is £100+, isn't it? and from what I hear, they're not exactly amazing devices either.
The screen does sound a bit of a disappointment, definitely. and the keyboard issue, but at least that could be resolved with a software update (assuming other touch functionality was accurate).

So is there cross-over into Android with the app side of things?

MattMe

November 7, 2013, 11:44 am

I see the market for these cheaper devices getting huge soon. Really, who uses the capability of modern £600+ devices? Nobody I know. They play around with them a bit, then go back to using them for SMS, email, web browsing and checking the BBC news app. Personally, I think I'd rather buy a cheap phone, a tablet and a laptop for £600, rather than a new iPhone.

Dr James Morris

November 7, 2013, 11:51 am

I was talking about the ZTE Kis that I mention at the end of the review: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Dr James Morris

November 7, 2013, 11:55 am

Also, you can't run Android apps on Firefox OS, but you can run Firefox OS HTML5 apps on Android.

TheConciseStatement

November 8, 2013, 12:54 pm

I'll admit my bias right now - I'm a sucker for orange and that photo just made me go, "Ooh pretty!" A colour constantly rejected by Apple since it never sells well I might add, but if there was an orange iPhone I'd buy one yesterday. As this stands, 60 quid's worth a punt, no? Reminds me of the San Francisco, come to think of it.

ZerocoinZKProofs

November 8, 2013, 8:05 pm

For me orange is a holy color. Only wish they would sell Firefox OS phones for Bitcoin!

Daniel Richards

November 9, 2013, 4:49 pm

The great thing about Firefox OS apps is the range of APIs that Mozilla has opened up for use in web-based apps. On Android or iOS, HTML5 apps are still limited in accessing the core functionality of the phone, even using phonegap. I'd hope to see some very creative web-apps being developed in the future in part due to this interesting new platform.

phuque uguugle

April 28, 2014, 10:49 pm

The most beautiful thing about this phone is "NO EFFING ANDROID" hooray <:o) All android phones should be turned off with a hammer.(o:>

comments powered by Disqus