Home » Round-ups » Mobile Phones » Best Windows Phone 7 Phones

Best Windows Phone 7 Phones

by

HTC Pro 7

Windows Phone 7 is Microsoft's first serious attempt at taking on Apple and its iOS platform, used in the iPhone and iPod Touch. It launched in October 2010 and, as many hoped, wiped the slate clean for the Windows mobile series. Previous iterations such as Windows Mobile 6.5 and 6.1 were viewed by many as clunky, over-complicated systems that didn't work well with the small touchscreen displays used in most Windows smartphones. Conversely, Windows Phone 7 is perfectly tailored for today's capacitive touchscreens, and is very fast and easy to use. Unique features it boasts include full integration with the Xbox Live platform - some games on the platform allow you to collect Xbox Live achievement points, as you would with an Xbox 360 game - and the Live Tile-based UI. Windows Phone 7 also placed the strictest hardware guidelines seen in any current-gen smartphone platform. All Windows Phone 7 devices have to have a 1GHz processor, 5-megapixel camera and large capacitive touchscreen - or better. Like the iPhone series, Windows Phones do not support expandable memory, so the internal memory of a phone matters much more here than it would with an Android device. All feature a minimum of 8GB. Top Windows Phone 7 picks available in the UK include the HTC HD7, the LG Optimus 7 and HTC 7 Trophy.

Nokia Lumia 800

Nokia Lumia 800

Originally reviewed by Edward Chester 26 October 2011

Nokia's first Windows Phone smartphone looks the part but does it play it?

Our Score:

7/10
Read full Nokia Lumia 800 review
HTC Titan

HTC Titan

Originally reviewed by Andrew Williams 21 October 2011

Does the Titan clash with our mobile phone experts? Or is it a Kraken phone? That's enough puns…

Our Score:

8/10
Read full HTC Titan review
Lumia 900

Nokia Lumia 900

Originally reviewed by Andrew Williams 11 January 2012

First look: Is a 4.3in take on the Nokia Lumia 800 worth waiting for?

Read full Nokia Lumia 900 preview
HTC Radar

HTC Radar

Originally reviewed by David Gilbert 02 September 2011

First Look: We take a closer look at the HTC Radar, the little brother to the mammoth Titan.

Read full HTC Radar preview
Nokia Lumia 710

Nokia Lumia 710

Originally reviewed by David Gilbert 30 January 2012

Can Nokia's budget Windows Phone 7 handset steal the show?

Our Score:

7/10
Read full Nokia Lumia 710 review
HTC Mozart

HTC Mozart

Originally reviewed by Niall Magennis 23 February 2011

The HTC Mozart is a slick and stylish smartphone that runs Microsoft's Windows Phone 7 operating system. The handset also packs in a speedy processor and an 8-megapixel camera that can shoot 720p HD video. However, its quite pricey and the Window Phone 7 OS currently lacks support for cut and paste and multitasking.

Our Score:

8/10
Read full HTC Mozart review
HTC 7 Trophy

HTC 7 Trophy

Originally reviewed by Edward Chester 10 December 2010

Thanks to a neat design and relatively low cost, this is definitely one of the choice Windows Phone 7 handsets out there. However, we're still not entirely convinced that Windows Phone 7 is in fact the best choice of mobile OS, so it's not a phone we'd out and out recommend. We recommend reading our in-depth look at Windows Phone 7 so you can see for yourself whether it's for you.

Our Score:

8/10
Read full HTC 7 Trophy review
LG Optimus 7 - Windows Phone 7 Smartphone

LG Optimus 7 - Windows Phone 7 Smartphone

Originally reviewed by Gordon Kelly 20 November 2010

There is no denying the Optimus 7 is an extremely polished handset and its implementation of DLNA is far and away its killer feature. On the flip side the camera is a disappointment and you'll need to buy in the knowledge that however slick Windows Phone 7 is it remains painfully short of core functionality at present. Vodafone price plans do make this easier to swallow, so if you've decided Microsoft's new OS is for you check the DNLA status of your existing gadgets and dive in. The water's great.

Our Score:

8/10
Read full LG Optimus 7 - Windows Phone 7 Smartphone review
Samsung Omnia 7 GT-i8700

Samsung Omnia 7 GT-i8700

Originally reviewed by Edward Chester 01 December 2010

The Samsung Omnia 7 is mostly a very nice handset. It’s largely glass and metal construction looks good and feels sturdy, while it packs in plenty of features and has a stunning screen for viewing video and playing games. However, the hardware lacks a certain something in design and is incredibly slippery. Moreover, while Windows Phone 7 is a slick operating system that will feel like a nice upgrade for users used to normal phones, for those used to the full gamut of capabilities available on alternative smartphones, it will feel too limiting.

Our Score:

8/10
Read full Samsung Omnia 7 GT-i8700 review
HTC 7 Pro - Angle

HTC Pro 7

Originally reviewed by Niall Magennis 11 May 2011

With its fast processor, good screen and slick OS, the Pro 7 has a lot going for it. However, it’s the physical keyboard that differentiates it from other handsets and unfortunately it’s just not as good as it should be.

Our Score:

7/10
Read full HTC Pro 7 review
Dell Venue Pro

Dell Venue Pro

Originally reviewed by Niall Magennis 16 May 2011

The Dell Venue Pro is a pretty good Windows Phone handset. It’s fast, easy to use and the slide-out keyboard is responsive too. However, we can’t help feeling that it’s just a bit too large to be truly comfortable to use, and the screen and battery life could be better.

Our Score:

7/10
Read full Dell Venue Pro review
Windows Phone 7 Mango

Windows Phone 7 Mango

Originally reviewed by Edward Chester 24 May 2011

http://www.trustedreviews.com/windows-phone-7-mango_Mobile-App_review

Read full Windows Phone 7 Mango preview
HTC HD7

HTC HD7

Originally reviewed by Niall Magennis 02 June 2011

The HD7 is one of the better looking large screen smartphones and feels speedy to use. We also like the modern looking and straight forward Windows Phone OS. However, the phone feels a bit like a missed opportunity, because what could have been a great entertainment device, is hampered by its disappointing screen and below par battery life.

Our Score:

7/10
Read full HTC HD7 review

Related News & Features

You have exceeded your hourly limit of requests

comments powered by Disqus