Home » Round-ups » Mobile Phones » Best Windows Phone 7 Phones

Best Windows Phone 7 Phones

by | Go to comments

Share:
HTC Pro 7

Windows Phone 7 is Microsoft's first serious attempt at taking on Apple and its iOS platform, used in the iPhone and iPod Touch. It launched in October 2010 and, as many hoped, wiped the slate clean for the Windows mobile series. Previous iterations such as Windows Mobile 6.5 and 6.1 were viewed by many as clunky, over-complicated systems that didn't work well with the small touchscreen displays used in most Windows smartphones. Conversely, Windows Phone 7 is perfectly tailored for today's capacitive touchscreens, and is very fast and easy to use. Unique features it boasts include full integration with the Xbox Live platform - some games on the platform allow you to collect Xbox Live achievement points, as you would with an Xbox 360 game - and the Live Tile-based UI. Windows Phone 7 also placed the strictest hardware guidelines seen in any current-gen smartphone platform. All Windows Phone 7 devices have to have a 1GHz processor, 5-megapixel camera and large capacitive touchscreen - or better. Like the iPhone series, Windows Phones do not support expandable memory, so the internal memory of a phone matters much more here than it would with an Android device. All feature a minimum of 8GB. Top Windows Phone 7 picks available in the UK include the HTC HD7, the LG Optimus 7 and HTC 7 Trophy.

 

Round-up Items

Nokia Lumia 800

26 October 2011

Nokia's first Windows Phone smartphone looks the part but does it play it?

Our rating:
7/10

HTC Titan

21 October 2011

Does the Titan clash with our mobile phone experts? Or is it a Kraken phone? That's enough puns…

Our rating:
8/10
Lumia 900

Nokia Lumia 900

11 January 2012

First look: Is a 4.3in take on the Nokia Lumia 800 worth waiting for?

HTC Radar

02 September 2011

First Look: We take a closer look at the HTC Radar, the little brother to the mammoth Titan.

Nokia Lumia 710

30 January 2012

Can Nokia's budget Windows Phone 7 handset steal the show?

Our rating:
7/10

HTC Mozart

23 February 2011

The HTC Mozart is a slick and stylish smartphone that runs Microsoft's Windows Phone 7 operating system. The handset also packs in a speedy processor and an 8-megapixel camera that can shoot 720p HD video. However, its quite pricey and the Window Phone 7 OS currently lacks support for cut and paste and multitasking.

Our rating:
8/10

HTC 7 Trophy

10 December 2010

Thanks to a neat design and relatively low cost, this is definitely one of the choice Windows Phone 7 handsets out there. However, we're still not entirely convinced that Windows Phone 7 is in fact the best choice of mobile OS, so it's not a phone we'd out and out recommend. We recommend reading our in-depth look at Windows Phone 7 so you can see for yourself whether it's for you.

Our rating:
8/10

LG Optimus 7 - Windows Phone 7 Smartphone

20 November 2010

There is no denying the Optimus 7 is an extremely polished handset and its implementation of DLNA is far and away its killer feature. On the flip side the camera is a disappointment and you'll need to buy in the knowledge that however slick Windows Phone 7 is it remains painfully short of core functionality at present. Vodafone price plans do make this easier to swallow, so if you've decided Microsoft's new OS is for you check the DNLA status of your existing gadgets and dive in. The water's great.

Our rating:
8/10

Samsung Omnia 7 GT-i8700

01 December 2010

The Samsung Omnia 7 is mostly a very nice handset. It’s largely glass and metal construction looks good and feels sturdy, while it packs in plenty of features and has a stunning screen for viewing video and playing games. However, the hardware lacks a certain something in design and is incredibly slippery. Moreover, while Windows Phone 7 is a slick operating system that will feel like a nice upgrade for users used to normal phones, for those used to the full gamut of capabilities available on alternative smartphones, it will feel too limiting.

Our rating:
8/10
HTC 7 Pro - Angle

HTC Pro 7

11 May 2011

With its fast processor, good screen and slick OS, the Pro 7 has a lot going for it. However, it’s the physical keyboard that differentiates it from other handsets and unfortunately it’s just not as good as it should be.

Our rating:
7/10

Dell Venue Pro

16 May 2011

The Dell Venue Pro is a pretty good Windows Phone handset. It’s fast, easy to use and the slide-out keyboard is responsive too. However, we can’t help feeling that it’s just a bit too large to be truly comfortable to use, and the screen and battery life could be better.

Our rating:
7/10

Windows Phone 7 Mango

24 May 2011

http://www.trustedreviews.com/windows-phone-7-mango_Mobile-App_review

HTC HD7

02 June 2011

The HD7 is one of the better looking large screen smartphones and feels speedy to use. We also like the modern looking and straight forward Windows Phone OS. However, the phone feels a bit like a missed opportunity, because what could have been a great entertainment device, is hampered by its disappointing screen and below par battery life.

Our rating:
7/10
 

Related News & Features

comments powered by Disqus