Read the full ViewSonic ViewPad 7 review

There's no doubt about it, Apple's iPad (which gained first place in our Readers' Choice: Product of the Year Awards 2010 and received an honourable mention in our own selection) singlehandedly brought the tablet into the consumer spotlight. Now every major manufacturer is throwing its own challengers into the arena, most based on Google's Android OS. We were somewhat disappointed with Samsung's hotly-anticipated Galaxy Tab, so can ViewSonic's ViewPad 7 make a better case for itself?

More Tablet Videos


November 26, 2010, 2:30 am

Great review, thanks. The pricing of this is very interesting. With the Galaxy Tab now available for around £450 online and contract free why on earth would you pay £400 for this? Have Viewsonic missed a great opportunity to pick up some market share by offering this for £220-£250. At this price it would be tempting.


November 26, 2010, 1:56 pm

512MB is a shocking amount. Who cares if it's got an SD slot when the price of entry is £400? So in short : crap screen, slow and unresponsive, and bugger all storage. Bang up job guys. Call it lowering the bar all you want, but every time another wannabe tablet gets released, the iPad just looks better and better - and not that expensive either!


November 26, 2010, 2:25 pm


I agree, at £250 it would be quite attractive, especially considering it offers equivalent features to many smartphones costing £300 and more (though they're not always implemented as well).


Do keep in mind that a 16GB MicroSD card shouldn't set you back more than £20 at most, but yes, at £400 you would definitely expect better.


November 26, 2010, 6:24 pm

I agree with all the comments so far, with the Galaxy Tab dropping in price (and im sure it will keep dropping) and the Archos 101 out for £250 and Archos 70 for £220, Viewsonic really have missed the mark with this.

Hoping the Adam Notion really becomes the game changer that they are pushing, if does look interesting with a 10" screen and apparently a touchpad on the back as well as the touchscreen (quite a clever idea). We shall see on the 4th Dec I guess when something exciting is apparenly going to happen (hopefully release or at least pre-order)


November 26, 2010, 7:27 pm

Must say I actually much prefer the ViewPad to the Galaxy Tab. It is a very similar device for a lot less money. The problem with Android tablets as a whole, however, is they are currently just big smartphones. For now keep your wallets in your pockets people.


November 26, 2010, 9:46 pm

@Gordon, I really can't get my head around your thinking here. I picked up the Galaxy Tab last week after it was reduced to £450 and have to say is an awesome device, fantastically portable and a great complement to a smartphone. Really can't fault it. Yes it may get even better when later Android versions are available but in my opinion its a great portable alternative to the iPad which doesn't leave my coffee table due to its weight and size :-)

Arctic Fox

November 26, 2010, 9:47 pm

I suggest people wait until they get the chance to look at Acer's offerings in the first quarter of next year. Both Android and WP7.


November 27, 2010, 12:26 am

@Ataripower - I'd have suggested you wait until Gingerbread and tablets specifically designed for it, but I'm glad you like the Tab. It has an iPad quality about it in that I know people who are big fans and people who can't stand it.

I suspect you've already read this, but these were my feelings:


October 30, 2011, 2:48 am

You say "However, a more significant disadvantage is the screen's low 800 x 400 resolution". I'm confused by this as Viewsonic claim the Viewpad 7 has a resolution of 800 x 480 (see )

Kevin Sykes

April 22, 2013, 6:54 pm

My screen broke soon after I got my viewsonic & cant get a repair done anywhere

ebibai okumo

November 28, 2013, 9:40 am

please where can i get my veiwsonic 7( 2.2) touch pal/ screen replaced in Lagos Nigeria

amar tiwari

March 31, 2014, 7:52 am

my -viewsonic-viewpad...‎7 is not working what i do...?

comments powered by Disqus