V-Moda Remix Remote In-Ear Headphones - V-Moda Remix Remote

By Hugo Jobling

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Where the V-Moda Remix Remote earphones will most divide opinion is their tendency towards a bass-biased output, rather than the more neutral reproduction some rival 'phones offer. Obviously it's not an objectively right or wrong decision on V-Moda's part, but it's an important consideration.

Listen to rock or pop tracks and that bassy output can really work, though. Giving AFI's Crash Love a run through there was less clarity than through the similarly priced Etymotic Research hf2 headset, but at the same time there was more kick and presence. Considering how anaemic the iPhone's output is at the best of times that extra oomph doesn't go amiss.

This bassy flavouring isn't entirely successful. If you're listening to more delicate music - say some classic Django Reinhardt - you'll notice the slightly muddied high end accompanying that powerful low response. It is, as ever, a matter of personal preference. Chuck on a bit of Rihanna or Pendulum while forgoing the Mozart and Beethoven and the V-Moda Remix Remote earphones will serve you well.

Really the only stumbling point is the Remix Remote's compatibility list. For some reason, the in-line microphone is only compatible with the iPhone 3GS. As such, while I was able to use Voice Control on my latest-generation iPod touch, I couldn't make or answer phone calls on my iPhone 3G. The controls still work, so it's not a complete disaster, at least, but it is an inexplicable annoyance.

Verdict

The V-Moda Remix Remote earphones do a good job of beefing up the normally lacklustre output of the iPhone and iPod range. The lack of compatibility with older models is a small nuisance, but if your Apple device is new enough these will make a competent upgrade to its god-awful bundled 'phones.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 8
  • Sound Quality 7

Orinj

April 14, 2010, 3:06 pm

These could be just what I need as any outdoor audio listening causes bass levels to be crushed. I sold my hf2's because they lacked bass but it's a shame to hear that the remote on these only works with the 3GS. I only hope it will continue to work with the fourth generation iPhone later this year.





Can you tell me whether these earphones have more, the same, or less bass than the V-Moda Bass Freq Headphones that TR reviewed back in 2007? I tried those and they were too bass heavy even for my penchant for the low end.

Chocoa

April 14, 2010, 5:56 pm

Forgive my stupidity here, but what is the difference between "in ear Headphones" and "Earphones" or the even more esoteric "Canalphones"?





I presume the answer is marketing semantics. I always though there were only two types: Headphones that cover the ear and earbuds that (only) fit in...

Ed

April 14, 2010, 6:11 pm

@Chocoa: Earphones are your traditional old school earphones that sit in the cartilage surrounding your earcanal, Canalphones are the type that partially go into your earcanal, and in-ear headphones go deep into your earcanal.





In-ear headphones offer the best noise isolation and bass reproduction, canalphones aren't quite so good, while earbuds tend to be the worst.





Here are some examples:


Earphones or earbuds: Standard Apple earphones. The ones seen included with this mp3 player: http://www.trustedreviews.com/... Or pretty much any cheap bundled headphones with a phone.





Canalphones: http://www.trustedreviews.com/... or http://www.trustedreviews.com/... See how they are relatively stubby and shallow.





In-ear headphones: http://www.trustedreviews.com/... or http://www.trustedreviews.com/... or http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... See how they're longer so can be pushed deep into the ear.

Ed

April 14, 2010, 6:14 pm

Oh, and earbuds is more specifically your traditional earphone where 'earphone' is an overarching term.

HarryGlass

April 14, 2010, 6:33 pm

I got the original vModa vibes shipped from the States based on reviews. Sounds like these new ones get a similar sound. I just hope they last longer than the 4 months mine did before the cable went and the sound went in one ear.





Why does this always happen with headphones? I see on Amazon reviews people complaining about this ALL THE TIME. And it's happened to me pletny with different brands. It's the main thing that puts me off spending more than £40 on a pair of headphones ever again. Can anyone recommend a decent pair of in-ear phones that will last? I guess I should work out how to use a soldering iron.

Chocoa

April 15, 2010, 4:58 am

@Ed





Mercy buckets Ed, for the comprehensive answer. I appreciate your research and links provided.


- Once again proving that TR hears its readers and responds well to a question!


/end plug :)





Seems the further into your ear they go the more they cost! Hmmm.

Kaurisol

April 15, 2010, 1:29 pm

Would it be possible for you to review bluetooth headphones (with the bluetooth built directly into the headphone)?





I've got a pair of Motorola HT820s that I've been using for the last 2years. No problem with wires breaking or getting twisted, which is why I like them, but I'm looking for a spare/second pair. Full voice dialling etc. and remote control with my N95, but no voice dialling with my N900 (curses!) although the remote control works.

Giordano Bruno

October 19, 2014, 11:45 pm

I get really really (did I specify "really") annoyed at reviews of headphones that make statements about the product being "bass heavy" or whatever. Almost all digital music players have equalization settings in the options menu. Thus it is irrelevant if a particular set of headphones happen to be "bass heavy". Just go into the options menu of your player and set it to compensate for your particular tastes. The bottom line when it comes to the V-Moda Remix is that it has an accurate frequency reproduction range from 5 to 25,000 cycles which is well below and above what the human ear is even capable of discerning. Thus the full range is covered and if you don't like their particular tuning you can adjust it in your EQ menu, which is something that everyone does anyway regardless of the headphones that they are using. Those review points are so meaningless. Why do you reviewers even waste your time writing it?

comments powered by Disqus