Read the full Toshiba Satellite U920t review

The Toshiba Satellite U920t is a well-built and reasonably attractive convertible laptop/tablet with a smooth and assured sliding action, although it’s rather awkward to open compared to other sliders. It offers decent connectivity, an average typing experience, good enough performance, and surprisingly impressive speakers. To keep its price lower than most rivals a few corners have been cut: the screen resolution is not Full HD, it ‘only’ offers five-point touch, and there’s no pressure-sensitive stylus support. However, better battery life than most non-Atom hybrids we’ve tested means it’s still an attractive option.

More Tablet Videos

Chris Beach

February 13, 2013, 12:31 pm

Pity about the piss poor screen...that resolution needs to be eliminated from every non-budget laptop!


February 14, 2013, 9:57 am

While I am definitely a fan of higher resolutions (and the screen isn't sterling in other regards), it's interesting how a few years ago most people were perfectly happy with this kind of resolution even on larger screens...

The fact of the matter is that unless you do imaging work, use massive spreadsheets, or do intensive multi-tasking with multiple windows, it's probably more than adequate. It also makes touch in the Win8 desktop a little easier.

Not that that doesn't mean we'd love to see at least Full HD on every display around :)

Chris Beach

February 14, 2013, 12:41 pm

We were? I can't ever remember seeing a review being happy with 720p on a Windows Laptop, mainly because Windows doesn't fit! Most of the dialogs were designed with 1024x768 in mind, and at 720p the buttons were often hidden behind the taskbar!

I know I specifically went with the 1440x900 on a Dell (when Dell did customisation options) to get the extra height. And at the time there were other resolutions around as well, all bigger than 720p...then they all stopped existing.

Suffering on a work 19" 1280x1024 at the moment, so damn inefficient.


February 19, 2013, 3:29 pm

Where do I mention 720p? There were very few laptops with 720p screens - nor does the Toshiba have one of those. The laptop 'standard' was 1366 x 768 (as per this Tosh), which means your example dialog would fit.

Mind you, my first proper laptop had 1680 x 1050 and I was glad of every pixel. I share your hig-res love, just saying 1366 x 768 isn't that terrible.

Ouch, I can empathise with the suffering there - working on anything less than 1920 x 1200 on a monitor is painful for me these days...

Ahmed Abdo

June 28, 2013, 11:31 am

can i play ( pes 2013 ) on it ???????

smith hammerson

September 12, 2013, 6:42 am

I need a laptop for school and I think that is a great ultra book exactly what I want considering some laptops are $600 and they are not touch screen.

Andreas Kjernald

November 2, 2013, 7:10 pm

Don't forget the simple fact that higher resolution on a small screen makes for tiny, tiny text AND that many third party (in desktop mode) programs don't scale right. Read about the new Lenovo yoga pro 2 or the Surface reviews. They all have to be upscaled, which mediocre results.

I think this is the perfect resolution for this size screen.

Dave P

December 23, 2013, 2:38 pm

mmm, Got 7 weeks out of mine before the screen packed up. It's now gone to Germany for 10 working day repair to err, be repaired. 7 weeks old & Toshiba will not replace it.
I have the feeling this is a common fault.....


January 22, 2014, 1:54 pm

Try upgrading from 4 to 8G. Best part of £150. You cannot do it yourself as there is a specialised screw on the base and you will invalidate your warranty. So it has to be done by Topaz their dealer. Total rip-off. Do not buy this machine.


February 18, 2014, 7:53 am

My third Toshiba and easily the worst laptop I have ever owned. While the design is attractive and i thought just what I wanted. Because I am a professional in the software business and am constantly traveling I thought this was the complete answer. Had the RAM factory upgraded to 8Gb and the SSHD replaced to 480Gb. After that it is all downhill. There is no manual, not even a basic getting started guide and the Toshiba web site would have to be the worst. Type in U920t and you are told reference cant be found. The WiFi as reported by several other users is close to useless unless you are right by the router. This was reported by someone in Singapore on the User Forum but after searching for the last 20 minutes can not find the entry again. In an airport lounge I was surrounded by others typing away while I was watching the wheel go round trying to refresh. The Toshiba web is full of advertising guff but useless if you want hard information. The trackpad is unuseable as after locating the spot as soon as you tap it jumps down to the entry below. Pressing on the arrow at the bottom or top of scroll bar to the right does not work until you hit it two or three times and then it moves off and the scrolling stops. Works perfectly with an external blue tooth mouse so it is not a problem with Windows 8.1 which I also had installed.

I have downloaded all the new drivers and has made no difference. A complete let down, dont touch it, mine is going back.


September 11, 2014, 1:03 am


I'm not a power user, but I have bought a second hand machine on ebay. It suits my needs perfectly, and have very little to complain about.
I use a mac at home and a windows desktop PC at work. My preference was for a windows laptop. I was aware of the glossy screen: reflections/fingerprints etc ...and sure this is the case...have ordered a matt screen protector.
I'll let you know how I get on

comments powered by Disqus