Toshiba Satellite P750-115 specs

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 15.4in, 1366 x 768, matt-finish screen
  • Quad-core Core i7-2630QM 'Sandy Bridge' CPU
  • 8GB DDR3 RAM, 640GB HDD, Blu-ray
  • 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT540M graphics card
  • USB 3.0, Bluetooth 3.0
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Review Price: £999.99
specs
Quick Glance
Display 15.6
Processor Core i7-2630QM
Processor Speed Standard 2
Memory (RAM) 8
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 640
Type Other Laptop
Processor, Memory & Storage
Processor Core i7-2630QM
Processor Speed Standard 2
Processor Speed Maximum 2.9
Memory (RAM) 8
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 640
Hard Disk Drive Speed 5400
Blu-ray Optical Drive Yes
Graphics & Sound
Display 15.6
Display Finish matt
Data
USB 2.0 3
USB 3.0 1
Software
Operating System Windows 7
Other
Type Other Laptop

p4rry

June 3, 2011, 11:34 am

How does this get a 6/10 when each of the individual components of the review reach a minimum of 7/10? Surely this cant be solely cos of the screen, as that would be included under features?

Jan Andersen

June 5, 2011, 4:18 pm

Not realy a usefull review - unfortunately.

Why do you not mention the matt screen under positive ? Few notebooks have today matt screen , most with glossy very refelctive screen, almost impossible to use in daylight !

Secondly, review of noise and temperature is absent ( I couldnt find any ), two very important decision points for many buyers. There is a tiny hint when comparing with the Dell before the verdict.

The rest we can read in the specs - no need for a review listing the feature list, or where this and this connector is placed - we can see that on the pictures ! We can also see the color, the speakers etc on the pictures.

TechVegan

June 8, 2011, 3:40 pm

@p4rry:
Yes, it is because of the screen, which is not reflected in the features score.

@Jan Andersen:
Sorry that you find that to be the case.

I do mention it extensively in the review, but will add it to the quick-glance positives.

As to the rest being readable in the specs, plase show me where in the specs it details the keyboard and touchpad feedback, mentions the build quality, what the sound from the speakers is like, how the screen holds up, how its CPU performs, the gaming potential of its video card and the laptop's battery life - you didn't find any of that useful then?

DrDread

July 2, 2011, 12:52 am

good review, but its going a bit far to hype about it being under 1 grand, with an asking price of £999.99. It also has 4 usb ports, not 2 (one of which is USB 3.0).

TechVegan

November 10, 2011, 4:30 pm

@DrDread:
Thanks for your comment and glad you liked the review, but I wish people would acutally READ the review before leaving criticisms. I mention all four USB ports, their type and locations:

"Along the left there are [...] two USB ports, of the 3.0 and 2.0 varieties, with the former supporting Sleep & Charge to power or charge devices while the laptop is turned off [...] while to the right you'll find a further two USB 2.0 ports"

thedude

January 24, 2013, 10:19 am

as a user of this laptop I find myself a little dismayed at this review, i believe that it go up at least one star here. The screen issue you mentioned has never ever bothered , and i have never noticed even your comments about it has not helped me to notice it, and no I am not blind. Other than that I think you did very well on this review, but to nitpick the screen quality is slightly ridiculous no it isn't the best, but to most it is not noticeable. thanks for your time.

berty

March 26, 2013, 2:07 pm

I have had a toshiba satellite -115 15.6" for 13 1/2 mouths hard drive stopped working toshiba did not want to know. Have now being told that mother board has gone as well and it will most likey be a write off. WOULD NOT TOUCH TOSHIBA AGAIN.......

Altaf Patel

July 28, 2015, 2:48 pm

My experience after 4-5 months is disappointing. Hinges are worst on the earth. TouchPad is placed slightly on left instead of center, which always causes mis-touch when typing, also touchpad is ragged, frustrating. Click button became very hard, don't know why ! Function keys stopped working, installed drivers from website, and still no result. WebCam shows blue-green pictures, and hence had to purchase external webcam. The most serious thing is, when using it, sometimes get warning message telling that CPU fan has stopped, immediately shutdown laptop and contact nearest service center. Body of laptop looks very cheap. Earlier I had Acer and was looking gorgeous, and without any such issues. No Toshiba again. My rating 3/10.

comments powered by Disqus